MadVR, Intel IGP, and RAM Speed - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 206 Old 07-01-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Thoughts on this card if the other one doesn't fit?
Noise? Performance?
81U%2BGVsax9L._AA1500_.jpg

Anyone?

Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 206 Old 07-01-2012, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ben7337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to know where the la traviata video came from in the first place. according to wikipedia there is no such thing as 1080p60, just 1080i29.97 or 720p60 if you are on blu ray, and I don't think there are any cable companies doing 1080p video except maybe some in Japan for certain shows. Now if the blu ray standard gets an upgrade at some point which would screw over a ton of blu ray players from new features again, then I could see it being a problem. Otherwise I'm not sure where this video even came from.

Looking further blu ray may support 1080i60, so you could have 60 interlaced frames and deinterlace in encoding to 1080p I guess to get 1080p60, but that seems very odd to me because almost everything is progressive now be it film or video iirc. Does anyone know why any content on a blu ray would even be interlaced unless the original media was recorded digitally and was interlaced and the people who put it onto blu ray didn't want to mess with it any more than was necessary? I'm just having real trouble wrapping my head around what sort of cameras result in this sort of video. Every tv show I have is 24 or 30fps, even if it is broadcast at 720p60 or 1080i60, that would just be because they broadcast at 60fps, it's not that the source is 60fps, just when it is sent out for broadcast I imagine frames are doubled up to make 60fps.
ben7337 is offline  
post #93 of 206 Old 07-01-2012, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
kesawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Anyone?
Have been looking at this card myself as the fanless version isn't available here in Australia. Most reviews I've found tend to indicate it's quiet enough for HTPC use but I haven't been able to find any reviews or feedback focused on its acoustic performance.

It would be overkill for a non-gaming HTPC, but I have a Gigabyte GTX 670 OC in my gaming rig and it's super quiet with excellent power consumption smile.gif

kesawi is online now  
post #94 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 02:38 AM
Member
 
Sandy B Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben7337 View Post

Does anyone know why any content on a blu ray would even be interlaced unless the original media was recorded digitally and was interlaced ...

Good question!

My bluray of 'The Kings Speech' UK version is 50i -- international version is 24p... Why oh why??? It's a mystery. I assume the original film print is 24fps so why mess with it?

SBR
Sandy B Ridge is offline  
post #95 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 02:59 AM
Newbie
 
nicklemarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by koopman View Post

Does AMD offer a better AIO solution? Does the E-450 with the Radeon HD 6320 graphics have the oomph to support full madvr processing? I would think the graphics side would be plenty, but the cpu itself is pretty weak.

The AMD GPU is much better in terms of power. The processor will be slower, but you will have an infinitely better experience watching HD video, because of the GPU.
nicklemarr is offline  
post #96 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 03:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicklemarr View Post

The AMD GPU is much better in terms of power. The processor will be slower, but you will have an infinitely better experience watching HD video, because of the GPU.

Thats not true at all.
assassin is offline  
post #97 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 03:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben7337 View Post

I'd like to know where the la traviata video came from in the first place.
Most likely a FullHD cam corder which can record it like that. Blu-ray isn't everything, you know wink.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben7337 View Post

Looking further blu ray may support 1080i60, so you could have 60 interlaced frames and deinterlace in encoding to 1080p I guess to get 1080p60, but that seems very odd to me because almost everything is progressive now be it film or video iirc. Does anyone know why any content on a blu ray would even be interlaced unless the original media was recorded digitally and was interlaced and the people who put it onto blu ray didn't want to mess with it any more than was necessary?
Concerts and Documentaries are usually put onto Blu-ray as 1080i60, for the simple reason that 1080p60 is not supported on Blu-ray and 1080i60 gives the smoothest motion and with a good deinterlacer still a relatively good picture.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicklemarr View Post

The AMD GPU is much better in terms of power. The processor will be slower, but you will have an infinitely better experience watching HD video, because of the GPU.
There really is only "works" or "does not work". Either the GPU is fast enough, or it isn't. And at least the Intel Ivy Bridge HD4000 is fast enough for all mainline needs, alot of people are even happy with their HD2000 because they don't need/want madVR.
The extra CPU power will also prepare you for future 10-bit content or new codecs that might surface, something a weak CPU might have problems with down the line.

If i had a choice in a HTPC between a GPU that provides the performance i need, but not much of a headroom, but alot of CPU power, and a GPU with plenty headroom but a weak CPU, i would always go with the powerful CPU.
I'm using a dedicated GPU because of other issues with the Intel GPU (mostly drivers, unrelated to performance), so i can have both wink.gif
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #98 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 03:56 AM
Newbie
 
nicklemarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicklemarr View Post

The AMD GPU is much better in terms of power. The processor will be slower, but you will have an infinitely better experience watching HD video, because of the GPU.

Thats not true at all.

It's my personal experience. The GPU utilization of the very same AMD GPU, in my case, blew the HD 4000 out of the water.
nicklemarr is offline  
post #99 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 04:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicklemarr View Post

It's my personal experience. The GPU utilization of the very same AMD GPU, in my case, blew the HD 4000 out of the water.

Please expand on this with screenshots if possible. This has been the opposite of my, and many others, experience (for example see Nev's comments above. He's the developer of LAV).
assassin is offline  
post #100 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Who cares if the Intel GPU is running at 90% usage if everything plays properly and the way you want it?
Yes, the Intel GPU is slower then the AMD GPUs. Yes, that means its utilization will be higher. Is that bad? No, not at all.

It would only ever matter if its at 100% and you get jerky playback or other symptoms that actually diminish your viewing experience.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #101 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
I have discovered that the file that I am having issues with is MPEG4 720p29 and there's hardly any dropped frames when playing in a window but when playing full screen the dropped frames increase exponentially.

Here's a screen shot about 8 minutes into playback which shows about two dropped frames a second. I can see it.

338
Note that the rendering time looks better than it is because I had paused the playback to take the screenshot. It was running about 45ms. It also says "windowed" but that is because I windowed the playback to launch gadwin printscreen to get the screen shot.

Here's the MediaInfo for the mkv:

253

Sammy2 is offline  
post #102 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
I also have some 480i content that MadVR says it fails to deinterlace but the file continues to playback fine?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #103 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 09:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 314

Every NTSC DVD is 480i60. If it is a film, it neither has to be nor should be deinterlaced in video mode.

renethx is offline  
post #104 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 09:03 AM
Member
 
anleva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sammy -

I'm guessing that your display is doing the deinterlacing instead of madVR. If you ended up setting up madVR with the settings Rene posted several posts ago you may have a setting that says your display supports 480i/60 content and if so madVR should just pass deinterlacing responsibilities through to the display. But I'm just guessing as I still trying to get up the steep learning curve on this stuff.
anleva is offline  
post #105 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
No Comments?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I have discovered that the file that I am having issues with is MPEG4 720p29 and there's hardly any dropped frames when playing in a window but when playing full screen the dropped frames increase exponentially.
Here's a screen shot about 8 minutes into playback which shows about two dropped frames a second. I can see it.
338
Note that the rendering time looks better than it is because I had paused the playback to take the screenshot. It was running about 45ms. It also says "windowed" but that is because I windowed the playback to launch gadwin printscreen to get the screen shot.
Here's the MediaInfo for the mkv:
253

Sammy2 is offline  
post #106 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Well my GT 430 just got here. Going to see if it fits in my case. The LP one with the fan just shipped and will be here tomorrow if it doesn't. I may end up using that one anyhow because it costs a little less and will be a better fit in my case I think.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #107 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
kesawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Well my GT 430 just got here. Going to see if it fits in my case. The LP one with the fan just shipped and will be here tomorrow if it doesn't. I may end up using that one anyhow because it costs a little less and will be a better fit in my case I think.

I'm interested to know how the GT430 with the fan performs as it's the only one I can get.

kesawi is online now  
post #108 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 03:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben7337 View Post

I'd like to know where the la traviata video came from in the first place. according to wikipedia there is no such thing as 1080p60, just 1080i29.97 or 720p60 if you are on blu ray, and I don't think there are any cable companies doing 1080p video except maybe some in Japan for certain shows. Now if the blu ray standard gets an upgrade at some point which would screw over a ton of blu ray players from new features again, then I could see it being a problem. Otherwise I'm not sure where this video even came from.
Looking further blu ray may support 1080i60, so you could have 60 interlaced frames and deinterlace in encoding to 1080p I guess to get 1080p60, but that seems very odd to me because almost everything is progressive now be it film or video iirc. Does anyone know why any content on a blu ray would even be interlaced unless the original media was recorded digitally and was interlaced and the people who put it onto blu ray didn't want to mess with it any more than was necessary? I'm just having real trouble wrapping my head around what sort of cameras result in this sort of video. Every tv show I have is 24 or 30fps, even if it is broadcast at 720p60 or 1080i60, that would just be because they broadcast at 60fps, it's not that the source is 60fps, just when it is sent out for broadcast I imagine frames are doubled up to make 60fps.

Was this question ever answered?
assassin is offline  
post #109 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Just installed the fanless GT 430.. That's a tight fit in my case; Pretty close to one of the HDD's and some of the cabling is touching the heat sync. Temps around 60C. I'll probably try the fanned card tomorrow when it gets here. Can return either one.

The 720p29 is playing back without dropped frames and there are less dropped frames in 24p. It is a 23.9757fps +/- right now with the custom resolution set up as on page three of this thread.

I'd think that the fanned card will run the same as it is the same card with different cooling on it.

This was a worthwhile investment even if it is just for a limited percentage of content that we watch. We watch this regularly and having smooth playback will be nice.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #110 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
JackDiesel14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Sammy2, what's your case?
JackDiesel14 is offline  
post #111 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Antec NSK 1380. Only fits on the inner PCIe slot and just bearly.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #112 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Was this question ever answered?

I can't say with any certainty where the file came from, but i gave it my best guess just a few posts above.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1417683/madvr-intel-igp-and-ram-speed/90#post_22183865
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #113 of 206 Old 07-02-2012, 11:19 PM
Member
 
inflatablemouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From this post I read about the Intel HD4000 "Shader units OK". I've read the entire thread and honestly I'm not sure what to think of it.

What does it mean exactly? Is it the cause for the framedrops talked about elsewhere in this thread or are there other 'issues'?

If I were to upgrade to that 430 suggested in this thread, what exactly would I gain?

Thanks.
inflatablemouse is offline  
post #114 of 206 Old 07-03-2012, 03:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by inflatablemouse View Post

From this post I read about the Intel HD4000 "Shader units OK". I've read the entire thread and honestly I'm not sure what to think of it.
What does it mean exactly? Is it the cause for the framedrops talked about elsewhere in this thread or are there other 'issues'?
If I were to upgrade to that 430 suggested in this thread, what exactly would I gain?
Thanks.

Absolutely nothing if you are not using madvr.

My opinion of course.
assassin is offline  
post #115 of 206 Old 07-03-2012, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
The GT 430 has improved my playback using MadVR immensely but now on LiveTV I'm getting EDID/HDMI resets every few minutes.

First I'm going to power down the HTPC, AVR and HDTV then unplug all power cords and HDMI cables and wait a few minutes and plug them all back in to see if this clears it up.

If that doesn't work I'm going to reset PlayReady.

Is this a know issue that others have had when adding a video card into the mix?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #116 of 206 Old 07-03-2012, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
For those of you who may be adding this card and are using LiveTV you may want to look here and here.

I'm working through this now. Hopefully I won't need to reset PlayReady.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #117 of 206 Old 07-03-2012, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Well I did the HDMI reset and also changed the settings in NVidia Control Panel as follows:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie 
NVIDIA video card owners: Try the following: Bring up the NVIDIA control panel. Select the TV (not the computer display). TV Display->Adjust deskop color settings->Apply the following enhancements->Content type reported to the display->Full-screen video (vice the default of AUTO).

It seems to be going okay now. I think it is the change of settings in the NVidia Contro Panel that was the trick not the HDMI reset, but who cares really as long as it works!

I know this is off the topic but am posting it in case others that get a GT 430 and are using LiveTV that might come across issues can see possible solutions to them.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #118 of 206 Old 07-03-2012, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
One thing I am noticing with MadVR is deeper blacks and better contrast on mkv playback. Although I appreciate deeper blacks on my LCD display they are slightly too black.

How do I adjust this as they are almost too black? In the NVidia Control Panel or within MadVR itself?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #119 of 206 Old 07-03-2012, 11:35 AM
Member
 
rbrinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Hey, All.

 

I came across this Discrete HTPC GPU Shootout article over at AnandTech. It covers much more than this post has been discussing. However, it does have a section with benchmarks on the LAV filters and madVR, and the GT 430 GPU is one of the contenders in the match up. The article also discusses how to create custom 23/59 MHz refresh rates with the NVIDIA Control Panel.

 

I was wondering if renethx would mind commenting on the Sapphire Radeon 6570 card used in the round up, or any card in that chipset. HIS makes a fanless version. One ding against the Radeon cards would be the inability to create custom refresh rates through the Catalyst Control Center. Thanks!


HTPC
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 SP1/WMC/MediaBrowser
GD05B-USB3
Core i3-2120/GIGABYTE GA-B75M-D3V
8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1333
ASUS GeForce GT 430
WinTV-HVR-2250
Lite-On 12x BD-ROM ihes112-04
Samsung 830 Series 128GB SATA III SSD
Seasonic 430W S12II (OS/Apps)
AZIO KB338BP BT KB/Trackpad

rbrinson is offline  
post #120 of 206 Old 07-03-2012, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 164
The second card with the fan was DOA.. It looked like it was a prior return too. I've spent the better part 3 hours messing with it. I even broke a capacitor off my MoBo that was right next to the PCIe retainer clip. Fortunatelly I was able to get put back on.

I put the passive cooled card back in. All is good now. It is running about 70C which shouldn't be too bad.

Time to RMA this bad card. I think I'll just stick with the passive card at this point as I'm concerned if I mess with it again, that capacitor will get broken off again and I won't be able to fix it next time..

Sammy2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off