possible to set custom resolution for Intel video driver on Sandy Bridge CPU? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nebrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: omaha,NE,USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I built my htpc about a year ago using the paid Assassin guide and it's worked pretty well for me. I recently got set up fro CIH with a 2.4:1 screen instead of 16:9, I'd like to set the desktop resolution to 1920x800. Now obviously that res is not a default setting, but I figured under the video control panel in win7 or under the advanced settings on the Intel video driver that it would let me select some custom resolution and configure my own, but that is not the case.

Anybody know if there is a built in way to set that or do I have to resort to some sort of third party program like Powerstrip?

My perpetual home theater build - Omaha Theater #5
nebrunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 09:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebrunner View Post

I built my htpc about a year ago using the paid Assassin guide and it's worked pretty well for me. I recently got set up fro CIH with a 2.4:1 screen instead of 16:9, I'd like to set the desktop resolution to 1920x800. Now obviously that res is not a default setting, but I figured under the video control panel in win7 or under the advanced settings on the Intel video driver that it would let me select some custom resolution and configure my own, but that is not the case.
Anybody know if there is a built in way to set that or do I have to resort to some sort of third party program like Powerstrip?

Intel has overscan sliders that you can use to stretch your screen to make it fit.
assassin is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nebrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: omaha,NE,USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 28
not sure what you are saying here, do you mean set it at a lower resolution then use these sliders to drag the screen out? Or set it at the higher res and use them to squeeze?

My perpetual home theater build - Omaha Theater #5
nebrunner is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nebrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: omaha,NE,USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Found it, I had an outdated driver, after updating to the new Intel HD graphics driver there is a setting under advanced to display custom resolution, worked perfectly with media browser.

My perpetual home theater build - Omaha Theater #5
nebrunner is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 12:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebrunner View Post

Found it, I had an outdated driver, after updating to the new Intel HD graphics driver there is a setting under advanced to display custom resolution, worked perfectly with media browser.

Yep. Glad you found it.
assassin is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Just to add one more info... For Intel SB/IB Intel users, the overscan/underscan option is only available for Progressive and not for Interlace setting. ie. it is only available for 23P, 60P... but not available for 60i or 23i.

hlkc is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off