Issue with Logitech K400 keyboard/trackpad not getting into BIOS menu of HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-30-2012, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My HTPC is using GIGABYTE GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 Intel Z68 Motherboard. I have the Logitech K400 keyboard/trackpad which works fine in Windows but for some reason, I'm unable to get into the BIOS selection menu (Press DEL to enter BIOS setup just does not work). At first, I thought it might be some setting with the motherboard where only a PS2 connector keyboard will work but then I used my Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 7000 keyboard/mouse and it works fine. Not sure why it doesn't work with the K400. I did try the K400 on a couple of other computers and I had no problems getting into the BIOS menu.

Do you think this is a bug with the BIOS? I guess I should contact Gigabyte to see what they think.
gtmtnbiker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-30-2012, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you tried different USB ports for the dongle?
kegobeer is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-30-2012, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 40
The K400 gets into BIOS on my ECS H61 mobo.
Mike99 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-30-2012, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kegobeer View Post

Have you tried different USB ports for the dongle?

I had tried the one in the back but same effect. I guess I will go and try all of them. The Microsoft one works just fine in the front port that I normally use.

I have another Z68 Chipset board (ASUS P8Z68-V LX LGA 1155 Z68 ATX) where the K400 keyboard works just fine (Can get into the BIOS). Since the Microsoft wireless keyboard works just fine with the HTPC, I have to think it's a BIOS issue.
gtmtnbiker is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-30-2012, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Try doing it on a restart rather than a cold start. Sometimes that makes a difference.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-30-2012, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cold start, warm start, usb 2.0 port, usb 3.0 port, front, back, left, right. Did not make a difference.
gtmtnbiker is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-01-2012, 12:58 AM
Member
 
ben7337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some mobo's have a feature I believe, in the bios, to keep from initializing or using anything plugged in via usb on boot. I could be wrong but I think some have that. So wireless keyboards don't work for getting into bios unless you turn that feature off or enable usb devices on boot. Did you look all over your bios for a feature like that?
ben7337 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-01-2012, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben7337 View Post

Some mobo's have a feature I believe, in the bios, to keep from initializing or using anything plugged in via usb on boot. I could be wrong but I think some have that. So wireless keyboards don't work for getting into bios unless you turn that feature off or enable usb devices on boot. Did you look all over your bios for a feature like that?

There's nothing like that in my BIOS other than something that says "Enable Legacy USB Support". Toggling it doesn't do anything.

What's really puzzling is that my Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 7000 keyboard/mouse works fine (It's also wireless). That keyboard & the Logitech K400 work fine (get into the BIOS) for my desktop PC. Bizarre.
gtmtnbiker is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off