Sharing USB tuner over network - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-01-2012, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Can't seem to find the answer to this.

I have a WinTV-HVR-850 usb tuner stick that I'd like to connect to my media server (Win 7) and be able to access from other computers on my network. No DVR function needed, don't really even care about channel guides.

Is this a WMC/extender task or is there another way to accomplish this?
DanPackMan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-01-2012, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can't share that USB tuner to other computers. If you want to do that, you have to buy a networked TV tuner.
kegobeer is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-01-2012, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanPackMan View Post

Is this a WMC/extender task or is there another way to accomplish this?

Yes, you will need WMC extenders which does not work on any PCs.

As for whether or not you can share the USB tuner on the network is dependent on the design of the tuner as well as the additional driver/software to make it happen. Ceton tuners, for example, make be configured to share on the network because the tuner itself is using USB as network transportation.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-01-2012, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thanks for the replies, confirmed what I was suspecting.
DanPackMan is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-01-2012, 01:36 PM
Member
 
puzzledshrug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Trying to wrap my head around OTA Tuner network sharing.
If I purchase a something like

HDHomeRun DUAL - High Definition Digital TV Tuner (Network Attached) HDHR3-US (Black) by SiliconDust
and connect it to GB port on my router will this allow Ethernet attached HTPCs to stream television to attached HD Televisions?

Or does this only allow HTPC with its own monitor (Not HD TV) accept the TV channels?

Not interested in any cable tv streaming only OTA.

thanks for any input!
puzzledshrug is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-01-2012, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Networked tuners require a computer connected to a TV in order to function. Connect the tuner to your network, install the required software on each computer that will use the tuner, connect the computer to any television, and watch TV.
kegobeer is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-01-2012, 03:15 PM
Member
 
puzzledshrug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks that is what I wanted to know (hear)!smile.gif
puzzledshrug is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-01-2012, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Boke01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You can share it using either MediaPortal or NextPVR.
Boke01 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-01-2012, 05:49 PM
Member
 
TheTinkerer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use media portal. 5 tuners on the server all shared across 4 HTPC's. If 3 TV's want to watch the same channel it uses only 1 tuner.
TheTinkerer is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-02-2012, 04:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thanks, I'll give Media Portal a try.
DanPackMan is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-12-2012, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
Macromir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can try to solve this problem with software solution - USB network gate, it shares USB devices via internet an lan - http://www.net-usb.com/ I use it to sahre my scanner between 2 PCs for a year now
Macromir is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off