My New Budget HTPC Build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 07-04-2012, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This build is a wee bit on the budget side. Namely, wired keyboard/mouse, used HDD and non-HTPC case. The rest seems to be suitable. The parts arrive on Friday (would have been Thursday but you know, a certain nation's birthday today.)

Rosewill Micro ATX Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147112

Intel Pentium G620 CPU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116399

Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128555

G.SKILL 4GB RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231396

Cooler Master PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817171046

Logitech M/K
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16823126220

Rosewill Card Reader
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820223103

Windows 7 HP OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116986

Rosewill Media Center Remote
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16880101007

I'm going to use the HDD in my old netbook until the price of hard drives comes down a little. Also, I'm planning to upgrade to an Ivy i3 in the near future. Proper case, Blu-ray drive and Wifi card are also planned expansions for the future.

I'll post some pics when the build is done. wink.gif
joe531 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 07-07-2012, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are a couple of pics (sorry for the quality, I only have a 3.2mp phone cam):

pic2rog.jpg
By joey5312012 at 2012-07-07

pic1ax.jpg
By joey5312012 at 2012-07-07

I have to admit, the case doesn't look that bad on it's side. It's sitting next to my Wii and the keyboard is hidden away on top of the case. I decided to use a faster HDD from my main PC and give it the netbook drive.

On the software end of things, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit and XBMC Aeon MQ3 skin.
joe531 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 07-07-2012, 01:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
assassin is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 07-07-2012, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you! biggrin.gif
joe531 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 07-07-2012, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
joe531,

Let me know how you like the Rosewill RHRC-11001 remote.

I bought the Rosewill RRC-126 on sale, however I find it too narrow with small buttons. According to Newegg’s website these both have the same dimensions, 1.57" x 7.28" x 0.94". However if I look at the Rosewill RHRC-11002, which looks similar to the 11001, it is 2.13" x 7.09"x 0.79".

It makes me wonder if the 11001 is really 1.57” or 2.13” wide. If you get a chance please let me know if yours is closer to 1.5” or 2”. FWIW the 126 does measure about 1.5”

Thanks in advance.
Mike99 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 07-07-2012, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, I don't have a ruler on hand but by eyeballing it, I'd say it's closer to 2. And the remote's not bad. You do have to press hard though to make the buttons send the signal to the receiver.
joe531 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 12:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
joe531,

Thanks for checking. My RRC-126 button presses seem normal, however I'd like to get a remote that better conforms to my hand. Something similar to my Dish remote.
Mike99 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure, no problem. This remote does have a nice feel in my hand. I used to have one of the longer, glossier remotes awhile back. This one here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000W5GK5C/ref=oh_details_o06_s00_i00. I can't say that one was very ergonomic.
joe531 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Why not keep the IR dongle and get a universal remote? The Xsight 12G has a great feel, is very inexpensive and has much better macro capabilities than harmony. That way you can integrate and control all your home theater devices, not just your PC.
mdavej is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll probably do that eventually.
joe531 is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 11:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Guys look into Flirc. If you have a remote that you love then its a great option to be able to use that remote. Its not mentioned enough on AVS.
assassin is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That looks pretty cool!
joe531 is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Sorry, that reply was meant for Mike99 who doesn't like his remote. On second thought, the Xsight 18G is more similar in size to a Dish remote but more expensive than the 12G. I personally find a universal remote indispensable in a home theater. I much prefer to press one button to watch tv rather than a dozen or more.

Anyway, getting back on topic, nice build, Joe.
mdavej is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Sorry, that reply was meant for Mike99 who doesn't like his remote. On second thought, the Xsight 18G is more similar in size to a Dish remote but more expensive than the 12G. I personally find a universal remote indispensable in a home theater. I much prefer to press one button to watch tv rather than a dozen or more.
Anyway, getting back on topic, nice build, Joe.

Thanks for the suggestions & I'll look into those.

I do use my Harmony one button function to turn on everything & it works great for that. I usually watch the Dish DVR and I find it's remote more comfortable & better laid out than the Harmony's. Once everything is fired up I use the Dish remote which also seamlessly controls the A/V receiver's volume & mute.
Mike99 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Didn't realize you already had a harmony. In that case, Xsight won't be much different. Sounds like all you need to do is some button customization to match the layout and functionality of your other remotes and set up your activities properly. Harmony should seamlessly control your AVR volume as well. But Harmony's default button assignments usually stink. You really need to change them for best results.
mdavej is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joe531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lol No problem.
joe531 is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 07-08-2012, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Didn't realize you already had a harmony. In that case, Xsight won't be much different. Sounds like all you need to do is some button customization to match the layout and functionality of your other remotes and set up your activities properly. Harmony should seamlessly control your AVR volume as well. But Harmony's default button assignments usually stink. You really need to change them for best results.

The Harmony 550 is a few years old & does work quite well. But the volume +/- buttons really blend in to each other & the surface of the remote. These, & the channel +/-, are the only buttons like this. It's as if there was one plastic volume button & Harmony sliced it in half. You almost need a fingernail in order to find the split where one ends & the other begins. I'll have to see what can be re-assigned.
Mike99 is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 07-09-2012, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
C17chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

The Harmony 550 is a few years old & does work quite well. But the volume +/- buttons really blend in to each other & the surface of the remote. These, & the channel +/-, are the only buttons like this. It's as if there was one plastic volume button & Harmony sliced it in half. You almost need a fingernail in order to find the split where one ends & the other begins. I'll have to see what can be re-assigned.

I had one of those as well. I think that style was just built extremely cheap. Besides that issue with some of the buttons, some stop responding well. I found this out after my down arrow would no longer respond without significant effort mashing down on it...read on the internet I am not alone and different people have different keys giving them same sort of problems. Also just felt cheap with creaky plastic and all. Other then that it was just fine. I think they just cheaped out with build quality on that style. Luckily I lucked out when bestbuy had the harmony one's for $49 awhile back. Picked up 2, sold one for $120, so end result was I got a free upgrade to the one, which is a night and day difference in feel. biggrin.gif
C17chief is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off