Why does MB hate the Transformers? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 44 Old 07-12-2012, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
mcnauge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't Speak for dropkick (but he may be as well) using Lav Filters 0.51.1.

I have never used Graphstudio, if someone wants to give me a quick rundown on what to do i will run it.

Thanks
mcnauge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 44 Old 07-13-2012, 07:49 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Things like this are one of the reasons why I just stick to ISOs.
cybrsage is offline  
post #33 of 44 Old 07-13-2012, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I dunno what to tell you, it works just fine for me.

I installed MakeMKV, and ripped my copy of Transformers 3 to disc, with only the Video and the TrueHD audio track.
I don't have MB, so i tried in WMC directly, and it plays just fine. I'm not bitstreaming though, i would suggest to turn that off as the first thing when you notice some kind of trouble.

This setup is of course LAV Splitter with LAV Audio (and Microsofts H264 decoder, because i was too lazy to override that)

I got some playback failure when i accidentally had Haali setup as the MKV splitter from some earlier testing, though, but thats to be expected, it doesnt do too well with TrueHD. I'm not sure what big benefits Haali has in the peoples minds producing those codec packs, the only feature not present in LAV is the "Ordered Chapters" in MKVs, but the only people that ever use that are Anime people, which i would claim are not in a majority (of course i could be wrong tongue.gif)
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #34 of 44 Old 07-13-2012, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
What does playing a file from iso vs mkv have to do with getting TrueHD 7.1 to decode? You either have your HTPC set up right to do it or you don't. The file container doesn't change that.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #35 of 44 Old 07-13-2012, 08:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

What does playing a file from iso vs mkv have to do with getting TrueHD 7.1 to decode? You either have your HTPC set up right to do it or you don't. The file container doesn't change that.

+1


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #36 of 44 Old 07-13-2012, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I'm not sure what big benefits Haali has in the peoples minds producing those codec packs, the only feature not present in LAV is the "Ordered Chapters" in MKVs

The Haali tray icon which allows selection of a certain audio track from rips containg more than 1 track is the main reason I still default to the Haali splitter for MKV's. Media Center and WMP do not have a provision to do this like other, more popular players allow.

Use
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #37 of 44 Old 07-13-2012, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnauge View Post

Can't Speak for dropkick (but he may be as well) using Lav Filters 0.51.1.
I have never used Graphstudio, if someone wants to give me a quick rundown on what to do i will run it.
Thanks

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GraphStudio
http://blog.monogram.sk/janos/tools/monogram-graphstudio/

Also the set up an use is in assassin's $25 guide which is worth far more than $25.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #38 of 44 Old 07-13-2012, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

The Haali tray icon which allows selection of a certain audio track from rips containg more than 1 track is the main reason I still default to the Haali splitter for MKV's. Media Center and WMP do not have a provision to do this like other, more popular players allow.

I see, i forgot about that. tongue.gif
Well its on the list of things to do, we'll see when i get around to it.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #39 of 44 Old 07-13-2012, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
With MPC-HC, I can toggle audio tracks with my remote. I've never used the WMC player so IDK how that works. I don't use Haali either.

LAV does everything I need. Thanks Nev!

Sammy2 is offline  
post #40 of 44 Old 07-13-2012, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I'm watching Ghost Protocol right now. I didn't realize it was True HD 7.1 until someone here mentioned it. This movie works fine so there goes that theory.

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #41 of 44 Old 07-14-2012, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
mcnauge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK....

I will try using LAV Audio and Lav Splitter only...

I assumed that the Lav video was required for the MKV playback. (and since its in the lav filters install). If it works without Lav video...when would i need to use lav video then??


I have tried removing all the bitstreaming, but that didn't change a thing.

Thanks
mcnauge is offline  
post #42 of 44 Old 07-14-2012, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
mcnauge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok,

So a long troubleshooting story short...

I tried what Nevcairiel said his setup was (thanks nev) and tried lav splitter and lav audio in windows media center only and relized that wmc cannot see .mkv files in its library. So, i found, downloaded and installed the registry edit from hack7mc.com....and it now it plays in wmc and mediabrowser now...so installed all the x64 Lav filters and setup for bitstreaming and CUDA accelleration (everything i had before) and EVERYTHING WORKS!!

Thanks everyone for the help.
mcnauge is offline  
post #43 of 44 Old 07-15-2012, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,547
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I see, i forgot about that. tongue.gif
Well its on the list of things to do, we'll see when i get around to it.
biggrin.gif
I've tried to stop myself from fiddling with my setup now that everything is working. This would be a reason to fiddle
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #44 of 44 Old 07-16-2012, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nebrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: omaha,NE,USA
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I have this same problem with Transformers and also with 'The Other Guys', I figured it was some kind of copy protection on those two movies.

My perpetual home theater build -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nebrunner is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off