HTPC from Laptop i7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-10-2012, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theknub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I sent my computer in for service and "magically" there is some water damage on the inside. HP won't fix a design problem in their laptop. Luckily, I had a personal item policy with my ins co. and I will get a laptop replacement.

However, that leaves me with a laptop that has an i7 2720qm in it, fully functioning ram, etc. So, I'm looking to do a HTPC build with it.

So, I understand the chip uses a slightly different socket than a regular chip.

Here's what I'm looking at.

MB:
Jetway JNC9B http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813153214

Ram:
Current 8 gigs

HD:
Current SSD

Graphics:
Onboard

Case:
iwill S197-H80 http://www.ecosmartpc.com/s197h80.html

PSU:
Not sure. Ideas? This type of build is new to me. Given that it is already a mobile processor, it's power draw should be less than a regular chip. I'm thinking some type of pico but I'm sure you all may have more experience in this arena.



Am I missing anything?
theknub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-10-2012, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 181
So I take it the water damage didn't harm the CPU or RAM?

That looks like a decent build for re-using parts from a laptop otherwise the processor is probably over-kill.

You are missing a HDD or SDD.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-10-2012, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theknub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aside from a design flaw in the video switching, it works great. I actually just sent it in for other work less than a month ago (and they didn't fix this). So I'm thinking they made something up to keep from repairing it (read that they didn't actually break anything). Since I have the insurance policy, I just used it.

It does have a SSD which I noted in the original post. I do agree that the processor is overkill, but why not given the circumstance. Would have been nice to have had happen before I built my i5.


So, any thoughts on PSU?
theknub is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-12-2012, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
C17chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Arent most all mobile CPU's soldered to the board and not socketed these days? Might want to check that out before digging to deep into repurposing your laptop processor. Could put a huge dampner on your plans.
C17chief is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-12-2012, 09:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theknub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not at all, mine is fully replaecable. you might be thinking of atom processors
theknub is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-12-2012, 11:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://ark.intel.com/products/50067/Intel-Core-i7-2720QM-Processor-(6M-Cache-up-to-3_30-GHz) 
Sockets Supported FCBGA1224, FCPGA988
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813153214 
Socket G2 (rPGA 988B)
I'm not sure they are the same socket...
olyteddy is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-13-2012, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theknub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://ark.intel.com/products/50067/Intel-Core-i7-2720QM-Processor-(6M-Cache-up-to-3_30-GHz) 
Sockets Supported FCBGA1224, FCPGA988

two lines above:

37.5 x 37.5mm (rPGA988B); 31.0 x 24.0mm (BGA1224)

there are a lot of names and what not thrown around, especially for the mobile chips
theknub is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-13-2012, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Good eye. wink.gif
olyteddy is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 10-15-2012, 10:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theknub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
quick update, build went great and system works great. i think my SSD is having a few issues from time to time, but otherwise it's a great build.
theknub is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off