HVR-2250 Media Center remote no longer controls sound properly - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-10-2012, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
IWantMyHDTV!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello!

I have a Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit computer next to my TV, and it has two 2250 cards in it. I use the Hauppage USB IR remote to control WMC. Everything worked perfectly with my old Toshiba 30HF85 TV. With my new Vizio M370SL connected via HDMI as was the old TV, I lost volume control via the remote when watching recorded shows. If I play music (MP3) from WMC, I **can** control the volume with the remote, but not with recorded TV shows.

I have tried all three HDMI ports on the M370SL using three different HDMI cables (my two original ones, one new HDMI 1.4 cable).


Computer specs:
Gigabyte H55M-UD2H motherboard
Intel Core i5 650 CPU
4GB memory
OS drive is 250GB SATA II 3Gbps
Data drive is 1TB SATA II 3Gbps

I cannot figure out what I am missing. Any ideas?
IWantMyHDTV! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-10-2012, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,805
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 187
What are you using for audio playback?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-11-2012, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
IWantMyHDTV!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At first, sound was from the TV itself via the HDMI cable from the computer's motherboard connector and the TV's built-in speakers, and then to the TV and out to a Yamaha AST-1010 sound bar via optical connector.

An interesting thing is if I drop the volume all the way down to zero, it DOES mute the volume. If I go up from 1 to 50, it makes no difference in sound level. It worked with my 7-yr-old TV, but not this one. I guess I will have to use a separate remote than the Media Center remote.
IWantMyHDTV! is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 07-12-2012, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Puwaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
If you bitstream audio over hdmi then you will not be able to control the volume from the computer. If you use the the windows mixer to send audio then the computer can control the volume.
Puwaha is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-12-2012, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
IWantMyHDTV!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Puwaha,

I have the same physical setup that I had with my old Toshiba 30HF85 TV, i.e., an HDMI connection from the computer to the TV. That setup worked perfectly.

One thing that I think I remember is that the old tv was shown as a "TSB-85something" in Device Mangler, and I had to choose the playback as High Definition Audio separately. I cannot do that now, as that choice is grayed out. It shows the M370SL connected, but HiDef Audio cannot be chosen as a playback device.

I am playing with different drivers now.

Gregg
IWantMyHDTV! is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-12-2012, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
IWantMyHDTV!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somewhere in all my Google searches I saw a recommendation to set default audio to 24 bits and 44100 Hz audio. I did that and at the same time went to Realtek's site to download the absolute latest "Realtek High Definition Audio" drivers, rather than grab them from Gigabyte's site.

One or the other, or both combined, fixed the problem! I now how my volume control back using the Hauppage WMC remote control. Thank you to those who tried to help!

Giggity!

Gregg Hill
IWantMyHDTV! is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off