WMC7 How can I back up my "Season Pass" list and settings? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-16-2012, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since I moved from a Tivo to WMC7 I transfered all my "season passes" and shows over manually but obviously I had to wait for all my shows to be available on the guide which only is available 2 weeks in advance. Is there some way to save or backup the list and settings in case I need to reformat the OS drive or something goes wrong?
jeff lam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-16-2012, 10:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This would be helpful to know just in case I need to do a fresh install. Hopefully someone out there has a solution.
utee05 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-17-2012, 01:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteelWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
SteelWill is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-17-2012, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The backup utility never worked for me. However the loadxmf method worked perfectly. The only issue is that it seems to forget what it's recorded. So you might find it records an episode it had previously recorded before the reinstall.
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-17-2012, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
SteelWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have always had problems with WMC re-recording episodes they were added singularly (as opposed to adding the series) if they re-aired. WMC doesn't seem to purge them from the schedule after the initial recording. I've had to open the db with an xml editor (using Vista) and remove the entries manually.
SteelWill is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-18-2012, 12:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelWill View Post

The info is saved in the C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome folder.
http://www.hack7mc.com/2009/03/backup-and-restore-recording-schedule.html
There are some backup utilities here:
http://thedigitallifestyle.com/w/index.php/2011/01/31/windows-media-center-tv-recording-schedule-backup/
For anyone still using Vista it's a little different:
http://offbeatmammal.hubpages.com/hub/Save_Media_Center_recording_schedules

Thanks for the info. This will save me a ton of time and effort.
jeff lam is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-29-2013, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am revisiting this thread as i am having trouble restoring the backup files from my HTPC.

So I am finally doing a clean install and I'm having trouble loading the files during a test run on my other PC. I copied the files from my HTPC but I'm not clear on how to go about restoring them to the new PC. the instructions regarding the loadmxf.exe are not clear to me.
Quote:
Put ‘Em Back!

Once you’ve completed your reinstall of Windows 7, open Media Center and run through the setup as usual. Assuming no hardware changes or driver changes between reinstalls we should be set to continue. Retrieve your backup recordings file and copy it to your hard disk.

The file doesn’t need to be anywhere specific but placing it in the backups folder in your new “C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\mcepgx-x-x” directory is probably a best practice. Now we will need to tell Media Center we’d like to load the information from the file. This is done through a program included in Windows 7 called “loadmxf” located in the “Windowsehome” directory.

You can either open a command prompt by typing “cmd” into the start menu box or create a shortcut with the following text: “C:\Windows\ehome\loadmxf.exe –i FILELOCATION”. Replace the FILELOCATION with the location of the file to be loaded.



If using a shortcut, double-click to execute the command before continuing. Otherwise the recording schedule should be loaded into Media Center now. Loading lineup and subscription data from previous installs breaks things currently, so don’t do it!

These instructions do not say what to type in the cmd prompt or what file to create a shortcut or reallt how to go about doing it. Maybe i'm overlooking something. Can anyone help clear this up for me?
jeff lam is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-30-2013, 12:32 AM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
To backup your Season Pass:
Code:
Go to C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\mcepg2-0\backup\recordings
Inside you will find a backup folder containing backup files for
recordings. Copy only the latest file.
The timestamp format is as follows:” “year month day – hour minutes seconds”. This makes it very simple to locate your most recent files.

To restore Season Pass:
Code:
Once you’ve completed your reinstall of Windows 7, open Media Center and run through the setup as usual. Assuming no hardware changes or driver changes between reinstalls we should be set to continue. 
Retrieve your backup recordings file and copy it to:
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\mcepg2-0\backup\recordings
Then make a batch files  called Load MXF.bat and place it inside C:\Windows\ehome:
Contents:
loadmxf.exe -v -i C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\mcepg2-0\backup\recordings\20110211_055533
Then launch it.

Launch media center> Tasks> Setttings> TV> Guide> Get Latest Guide LIstings 

In case you get duplicate listings delete the .db file inside C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome and do a TV Signal rescan

In the batch file contents. Replace 20110211_055533 with the name of your file.
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-01-2013, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jeff lam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I want to load it to a different PC with all different hardware, can I still follow this method?
jeff lam is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-01-2013, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm not sure but you can go ahead and try.
gonzo90017 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off