Antec ISK 300-150 case and Intel DH67CF Motherboard - case fan cable too short - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 07-17-2012, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just finished collecting the parts to build a new HTPC and media server and have run into a little issue already. The case fan that comes with the Antec ISK 300-150 case has a short power cable and the Intel DH67CF case fan header is too far away. The cable is less than an inch too short, but unfortunately it definitely will not reach. I've never worked in a mini itx case before but I assume that it would not be wise to run the system for long without the case fan. I was hoping to avoid having to find an adapter cable online as it will delay my build, however, it seems like I don't have a choice. If anyone has a suggestion on what else I could do, or if it would be reasonable to operate the HTPC without the case fan for a short period of time I would appreciate it. Also, if there is a computer parts store in Pittsburgh, PA that anyone knows of please let me know.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 07-17-2012, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 28
That fan is a three speed with an external switch as I recall. It was my understanding that it's actually intended that you connect it directly to a 12v PSU output, if I'm not mistaken, rather than to the motherboard header. That way it gets a full 12v source, and the three way switch is used to reduce the voltage and speed if desired.
post #3 of 4 Old 07-17-2012, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter

Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zon2020 View Post

That fan is a three speed with an external switch as I recall. It was my understanding that it's actually intended that you connect it directly to a 12v PSU output, if I'm not mistaken, rather than to the motherboard header. That way it gets a full 12v source, and the three way switch is used to reduce the voltage and speed if desired.