PCH-A210 - Any reason I shouldn't convert this to a boat anchor? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-19-2012, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shuasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought this about a year ago to stream BD-ISO's from my media server to my upstairs. When connected via wired 100 Mbit and 1Gbit/sec, it's stutters constantly.

I don't rip DVD's, so this thing is pretty much useless to me. Any recommendations on a replacement with a working network interface and buffering system?
shuasha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-20-2012, 05:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
bimmerfreak0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Have you checked your router settings. First, place the unit on a stable mac-address that doesn't constantly switch. You could also look to see if jumbo frames are supported. Have you tried using a wireless to wired adapter for the popcorn box???
bimmerfreak0 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-20-2012, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Davecraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I have three a210s connected via wired 100 Mbit connections and have never had any stutter issue, even with BD-ISOs. This really does sound like a network/router issue to me.
Davecraze is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-20-2012, 12:24 PM
Member
 
juaniquillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the A-200. For 2 years I had no issues at all, until one day started to stutter. I troubleshooted my server and network for hours and nothing. Then I checked the popcorn, nothing.

At one point I changed the video output option from 1080p24 to 1080p60... problem fixed. Finally I changed back to 1080p24, not a single issue.

Who knows, it may be an unknown bug. You may try this fix.

EDIT: Try using the 100Mb connection, save changes, this is more than enough to stream blu-ray isos
juaniquillo is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-20-2012, 01:57 PM
Member
 
bomberjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I still use an old Popcorn A110 without problems, I agree it sounds like a network problem. Try loading a movie on an external hard drive and play it. It's not definitive, but if it plays fine, it pretty much confirms network problems.
bomberjim is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-30-2012, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shuasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somehow I missed the replies.

I have no network issues, I'm using a good gigabit core switches all hard wired with CAT6. I can stream with zero problems on the same hardware to my HTPC and copy files at 300+ Mbits/sec across the network.

And bimmerfreak, lay off the crack. smile.gif
shuasha is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-19-2014, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yep same network issues as you, 20 years IT experience. I tried expensive switches etc. its a POS. my a300 is flawless

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-20-2014, 02:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,013
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Could this be a heat related issue? How's the heat sink on the cpu? Correctly seated and there's a proper
amount of thermal paste? Might be worth a look before boat anchor time...
Tedd is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-20-2014, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fredrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Don't use a PCH (had an A100) anymore but in the past I had similar issues but the problem was with my old NAS-box.
The NAS-box just couldn't cope with playing BD movies while at the same time other computers accessed it.

I guess the best way to test it (as already suggested) is to connect a USB-drive directly to the PCH and see if it still stutters.
Then at least you've ruled out the network and NAS-box if it still stutters.

21:st century Karate Kid......Logon, Logoff, Logon, Logoff..
Fredrik is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-21-2014, 12:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Do you even own a boat?

Sent from my Nexus 7
leebo is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off