Should i upgrade from Athlon II to G840? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-21-2012, 12:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I had a bit of luck yesterday, a friend has upgraded his desktop to an i5 CPU and has given me his G840 so this has given me the idea of upgrading my main HTPC from an Athlon II 250. I plan on using a lot of my existing components and just buying an H77 motherboard, what do you think, is it worth doing?

This is what I will have;

Silverstone GD05 case
Silverstone 400 watt PSU
ASRock H77 Pro4-M................. My only new purchase.
Intel G840
Scythe Shuriken Rev B cooler
2*2GB DDR3 1600 RAM
Sapphire HD6570 1GB GPU
Samsung BDROM
Western Digital 320GB HDD 2.5"

I am running Windows7 and XBMC, my media streams from a 2*2TB NAS.

Thanks

David
DavidT99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-21-2012, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The funny thing is that we are at a point in CPU performance that you really don't need the latest CPU anymore. The main improvement you will notice is with the integrated graphics. If you are using descrete graphics you won't see any improvement in media playback.

Unless you know somebody who could benefit from your athlon system I would say its a waist to upgrade. Your graphics card is superior to Intel integrated graphics by the way.
jeffkro is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-21-2012, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My thinking is that the CPU will help with CPU intensive tasks and the GPU will improve on the Intel HD graphics creating the best of both worlds.

David
DavidT99 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 07-21-2012, 06:59 PM
Member
 
wraslor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What CPU intensive task? If all you are doing is streaming movies your gpu is doing all the heavy lifting. The radeon you currently use is much more powerful than the intel hd graphics so why would you downgrade that?
wraslor is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-21-2012, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by wraslor View Post

What CPU intensive task? If all you are doing is streaming movies your gpu is doing all the heavy lifting. The radeon you currently use is much more powerful than the intel hd graphics so why would you downgrade that?

OP is not planning on downgrading. I believe he only plans on replacing motherboard+CPU. That's it. Personally, I'd be too lazy to do it unless my motherboard doesn't already have USB3.
ilovejedd is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-21-2012, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidT99 View Post

My thinking is that the CPU will help with CPU intensive tasks and the GPU will improve on the Intel HD graphics creating the best of both worlds.
David

The Intel is faster it just doesn't matter much for video playback once you reach a certain level.
jeffkro is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-22-2012, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
winterescape's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovejedd View Post

OP is not planning on downgrading. I believe he only plans on replacing motherboard+CPU. That's it. Personally, I'd be too lazy to do it unless my motherboard doesn't already have USB3.

+1 ( My HTPC is still AMD 7750)
winterescape is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-22-2012, 04:39 PM
Member
 
wraslor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovejedd View Post

OP is not planning on downgrading. I believe he only plans on replacing motherboard+CPU. That's it. Personally, I'd be too lazy to do it unless my motherboard doesn't already have USB3.

My mistake I read it as he wanted to use the intel hd graphics thinking it would be an improvement instead of use the cpu with the radeon.
wraslor is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-22-2012, 07:17 PM
Member
 
Mallet21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Personally I think you'd be better off the selling the G840 and using the $$$ for an SSD to use with your existing setup......
Mallet21 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 02:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallet21 View Post

Personally I think you'd be better off the selling the G840 and using the $$$ for an SSD to use with your existing setup......

I already have an SSD in my 2nd HTPC and to be honest have noticed only a very small increase in boot time and no difference in day to day use after upgrading from a 2.5" HDD.

David
DavidT99 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 02:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like the general consensus is that upgrading is not worth the hassle so maybe I will just buy a cheaper motherboard and upgrade my desktop which is running on an older Intel C2D E4500.

David
DavidT99 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
By the way I updated my athlon II 250 to a quad core llano and really didn't notice any difference. Since I was using integrated graphics I should have noticed a much bigger difference then you will notice, but nope not really. The main improvement is that I can now send 5.1 audio over HDMI instead of using a separate toslink cable, the fact is I would have been just as happy dropping in a HD6450 discrete card. Oh well, I say don't upgrade any HTPC until it wont do something you want/need.
jeffkro is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidT99 View Post

Looks like the general consensus is that upgrading is not worth the hassle so maybe I will just buy a cheaper motherboard and upgrade my desktop which is running on an older Intel C2D E4500.
David

With the right graphics card that e4500 also has plenty of horse power for HTPC.
jeffkro is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

With the right graphics card that e4500 also has plenty of horse power for HTPC.

I have XBMC loaded on the desktop PC so that I can test plugins before I add them to either of my other HTPC's, the desktop has an Nvidia GT520 gpu installed, I also have a spare AMD HD5450 doing nothing at present.

I also have a Silverstone ML03 HTPC case with a Be Quiet 300watt psu installed, a spare 2.5" HDD and 4GB of DDR3 memory. Almost another HTPC in spare parts.

David
DavidT99 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off