So. complete newb ready to rip his first BluRay, audio has me wondering (handbrake questions included) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 26 Old 07-25-2012, 12:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just want to make sure I'm doing this right before I get going. I "think" I know what I'm doing, but I don't want to waste a buttload of time if I'm wrong.

Got my new laptop (i7-3610QM) with a BluRay player, and I have the Inception disk. The goals:

1. makeMKV the main movie into a lossless format for backup, keeping all English subtitles and English audio tracks for playback on my home theater system using the highest quality settings and the full HD lossless audio
2. handbrake the mkv, into a version that will play on a laptop using the non-HD audio
3. handbrake the mkv into a version that will play on an iPod

However, the Inception disk has a pile of titles. Most of them are fairly obvious, but there are a pair of 14-chapter titles, one that is 37 GB, the other that is 32 GB. The audio has the following choices:

- DTS-HD Lossless English
- DTS 3/2+1 English

my primary points of confusion are
1. What, exactly, is the difference between DTS 3/2+1 and the DTS-HD? Is the 3/2+1 simply a compressed version of the lossless audio track? I know the 3/2+1 stands for the speaker setup, but what is the difference?

2. If the DTS-HD lossless is selected ONLY, will I lose the ability to later on convert into whatever format is necessary for my daughter's iPod?