Bluray (mkv) playback on WMC 7 the easy way - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 19 Old 07-29-2012, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems easier than it describes in various guides and tutorials online. I read many of them, dug around different forums including this one, as well as those of the various software products out there. Though I built my first HTPC only a month ago, I've been building systems for many years, so I'm not unaccustomed to doing extensive research and experimentation in order to figure out how to do exactly what I want.

When I see recommendations to install various splitters and codec packages in order to playback mkv files of bluray rips, I'm somewhat baffled. I'm running Win7 Ultimate 64 bit on an i3 2105. 128G Samsung SSD, 2TB Samsung (Seagate) F4 storage hdd. Using onboard intel gpu. 8gb of memory. WMC with Media Browser. Silicondust homerun prime for live TV. Verizion Fios.

Here's how I did it....is it just this easy or am I missing something?

1) Used Makemkv to rip bluray to hdd.

2) Installed VLC player 2.0.3 on htpc.

3) Configured VLC player as external player for mkv files in Media Browser.

That's it. When browsing to the ripped bluray movie in MB, it launches VLC in fullscreen mode. Playback is perfect. When I hit 'stop', it quits VLC and kicks me back to MB.

Is my setup somehow deficient? I never came across this setup in my searches, instead I saw numerous recommendations to install codec packs, go through page after page of config screens, do registry hacks, install multiple splitters and programs to tweak Windows.

Curious to hear folks' responses. Oh and thanks for all the wisdom on the forum, I benefitted immensely from your experience.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 07-29-2012, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16