Intel 520 Series (Cherryville) 240GB - $211 shipped - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Pretty good deal for those of you who have been waiting on a premium larger capacity drive.
assassin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Pretty good deal for those of you who have been waiting on a premium larger capacity drive.


Actually very good deal considering you rarely see Intel ssd under a $1 per gig . NICE find !
flocko is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
assassin is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 02:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
$211 still too much when I can grab a Samsung 830 256GB for $179.

Or- I can RAID0 two VERTEX3 120GB's for $160 for a blazing fast 240GB.

Option 1 intended for reliability crowd.

Option 2 intended for performance/value crowd.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

$211 still too much when I can grab a Samsung 830 256GB for $179.
Or- I can RAID0 two VERTEX3 120GB's for $160 for a blazing fast 240GB.
Option 1 intended for reliability crowd.
Option 2 intended for performance/value crowd.

Where? Samsung 830 hasn't been that price for a long time.

You can't just post the sale price from 1 month ago as the easy to "grab" price. And "blazing fast" is a non-issue for HTPC.
assassin is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Who said this was gonna be a boring Sunday evening ? NOT ME tongue.gif
flocko is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Cheapest Samsung 830 256GB I could find from a reputable vendor is $230.
assassin is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 04:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Cheapest Samsung 830 256GB I could find from a reputable vendor is $230.

I have not been looking that often. I know I had seen them for that price.

I did see the 128GB for $99 @ newegg.

You buying one ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I have not been looking that often. I know I had seen them for that price.
I did see the 128GB for $99 @ newegg.
You buying one ?

Maybe. Don't want Raid0 though as I don't want to risk data loss and I have read mixed things about losing Trim support if you Raid SSDs.

And I don't need the extra performance anyway.
assassin is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
http://slickdeals.net/f/4996356-SAMSUNG-830-Series-MZ-7PC128D-AM-2-5-128GB-SATA-III-MLC-SSD-Desktop-Upgrade-Kit-99-99


Thought I would instigate a bit biggrin.gif
flocko is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 04:42 PM
Member
 
DeanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Maybe. Don't want Raid0 though as I don't want to risk data loss and I have read mixed things about losing Trim support if you Raid SSDs.
And I don't need the extra performance anyway.
I recently purchased a second Mushkin Deluxe 240GB on sale. That's the one with the better NAND. I had already purchased one earlier this spring, so now I have two identical. My thought was to play with RAID0 with the idea that the latest Intel RST (11.5.0.1207) should be pass TRIM to members of a RAID0 array. I never quite figured out if TRIM was being passed, but RST ended up being way too unstable. In particular, there was pretty consistent BSOD on wake up from sleep.

That said, it benchmarked extremely fast... about twice the speed of single Mushkin Deluxe 240. But still, I couldn't tell the difference in actual use, and just enabling RAID in BIOS slows the boot down because of OROM initialize. I can barely tell the difference in performance between my SATAII based SSDs and the newer faster SATAIII SSDs, and it seems any more performance beyond that is equally unnoticeable.

It was only a couple of days after trying it, that I took the system out of RAID0 and am back to my system booting from just the single Mushkin Deluxe 240GB. BTW, I'm using the standard MSAHCI driver, and don't even have the Intel RST software loaded. There is just no advantage to running the Intel stuff unless you're attempting to do RAID...
DeanM is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
assassin is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 05:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Is this a drive for yourself?

I assume your looking in 240GB/256GB class size?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 05:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Is this a drive for yourself?
I assume your looking in 240GB/256GB class size?

Yes. Desktop rebuild. Don't need gaming or crazy performance. Likely will make it htpcish for testing purposes. Likely ivy i5.
assassin is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

That's the 128gb.

Ya , I know . Was just throwin it out there for bait so to speak .

I am sure your confident about what u want but I have to ask . If you have server access then do you really need that much ssd ( 256) for just the os and core software ? Yes, I realize that win updates will consume some space as well as the fact that you do not get 128 gig usable on a 128 gig drive.

Just askin
flocko is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

Ya , I know . Was just throwin it out there for bait so to speak .
I am sure your confident about what u want but I have to ask . If you have server access then do you really need that much ssd ( 256) for just the os and core software ? Yes, I realize that win updates will consume some space as well as the fact that you do not get 128 gig usable on a 128 gig drive.
Just askin

No, I don't need it at all. Don't really need a new desktop either.

More of a want. wink.gif
assassin is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 07:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

No, I don't need it at all. Don't really need a new desktop either.
More of a want. wink.gif

At least your honest about it ! Nothing wrong with the "want"

If you do move forward with the new build it would be nice if you did a little "piece" on it . I for one would be interested in your complete choice of parts and how you feel about them in the end .
flocko is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 42
All the deals on the 128 and 256 drives, and rarely a deal on the 512GB drives.. Hopefully there will be a deal on one on Black Friday. I'd really like to move my desktop to fully solid-state rather than SSD/HDD combo.
mcturkey is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 08-05-2012, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcturkey View Post

All the deals on the 128 and 256 drives, and rarely a deal on the 512GB drives.. Hopefully there will be a deal on one on Black Friday. I'd really like to move my desktop to fully solid-state rather than SSD/HDD combo.

So true. Got a Crucial m4 512GB for $350 from Amazon but it's very rare to see sales on the higher capacity models. Then again, I only need 500GB SSDs for the laptops. I've come to the conclusion that for a strictly OS+programs desktop drive, 100GiB is more than enough space for me.
ilovejedd is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off