HTPC / NAS / FTP all in one box? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 18 Old 08-16-2012, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've put together a 12-drive hardware RAID box with a p77 mobo and i5 3750k proc and 12gb RAM. I plan on using it as the main media server for a house full of PLEX clients. I also want to be able to set it up as a general NAS and FTP server...AND be able to use it to feed my home theater room. What is the easiest way to do this? Preferably using free software. I already have Win7x64 running on it.

I was thinking just install Win 7 and then VMWare or Virtual Machine and run freeBSD or freeNAS on a VM. Then I can set it up so the regular Win 7 pulls a logical drive from that VM? I dont even know if thats possible. I have no experience with running VMs.

Thanks for any input.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 08-16-2012, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is there a reason why you want it set up as a nas instead of just sharing the drives?

I have a similar setup as you. 10tb server running win 7. I also use it for my torrent client, ftp server, etc. It also feeds media to the other htpc's in the house.

I use software raid. (snapraid). Adding a vm sounds like added complexity for minimal gain. But maybe I'm missing the benefit.
post #3 of 18 Old 08-16-2012, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter

I'm guessing by "sharing the drives" you mean just setting up a windows workgroup? I will have an Apple computer and a Popcorn Hour that I need to be able to access my media with.

Like I said I'm not really sure what the best way to do it is, so if you think I'm making it too complicated and know of an easier solution please let me know

Thanks!
post #4 of 18 Old 08-16-2012, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member

According to Google popcorn hour and apple can both read smb shares. Which is what windows uses. It's not a workgroup the drives are just shared over the network.