HDMI output - to put it plain - sucks... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 08-16-2012, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Whitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Prov, RI USA
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just put my new, first HTPC into service and lots to like about it, i7 CPU / SSD / nice case... but the HDMI output is bright and washed out

I know its the computer because this is the case with the 55" Vizio and my new 19" HD TV / Monitor. The out put from the DVI looks fine. But the motherboard HDMI looks very poor.

Its also not the cable because the TV and Vizio have their own HDMI cables. I also tried every color adjustment on the PC to no avail.

The Graphics are on the motherboard and driven by the i7 HD4000 intel graphics. Driver is a 2012 driver 8.15.10.2696

Any idea what this problem is?

All ideas appreciated!
Whitey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 08-16-2012, 08:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitey View Post

Just put my new, first HTPC into service and lots to like about it, i7 CPU / SSD / nice case... but the HDMI output is bright and washed out
I know its the computer because this is the case with the 55" Vizio and my new 19" HD TV / Monitor. The out put from the DVI looks fine. But the motherboard HDMI looks very poor.
Its also not the cable because the TV and Vizio have their own HDMI cables. I also tried every color adjustment on the PC to no avail.
The Graphics are on the motherboard and driven by the i7 HD4000 intel graphics. Driver is a 2012 driver 8.15.10.2696
Any idea what this problem is?
All ideas appreciated!

Check your HDTV's manual to see if there is something you need to do to allow it to be connected to a PC.
assassin is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 08-16-2012, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Whitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Prov, RI USA
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Assassin remember the HDMI pic is bad on either one of the monitors...
Whitey is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 08-16-2012, 09:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitey View Post

Assassin remember the HDMI pic is bad on either one of the monitors...

Right. So maybe they both need to be set to receive a PC feed. Some HDTVs have this requirement.
assassin is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 08-16-2012, 09:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
assassin is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 08-16-2012, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Whitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Prov, RI USA
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply,

I just looked at the manual page on connecting to a PC and also HDMI, nothing is said to that effect...

Interestingly, the Vizio 55" is connected to the DVI through a DVI-VGA adapter, VGA cable to the VGA input on the 55" and it looks perfect. Connect trhat same 55" to the Intel's HDMI and it has the same harsh washed out look. Like its 32 colors not 32k colors!
Whitey is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 08-16-2012, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Whitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Prov, RI USA
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found this, might be a clue:
ARe you sure all the video components are HDCP compliant? I have read that if any of your video path does not support HDCP, then the quality is reduced by 70%.


http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/267972-33-1080-hdmi-hdmi-connected-quality
Whitey is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 08-17-2012, 12:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitey View Post

Thanks for the reply,
I just looked at the manual page on connecting to a PC and also HDMI, nothing is said to that effect...
Interestingly, the Vizio 55" is connected to the DVI through a DVI-VGA adapter, VGA cable to the VGA input on the 55" and it looks perfect. Connect trhat same 55" to the Intel's HDMI and it has the same harsh washed out look. Like its 32 colors not 32k colors!
Definitely sounds like a setting then. If the same internal graphics can produce a great picture from the dvi. I saw your post referring to HDCP. Is there anything besides the pc and tv in your chain?

What resolution is the tv? 1080p? There may be some sort of scaling going on. Sounds to me like you don't have 1:1 pixel mapping.
Try opening this on your htpc to check.

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b303/fodo_gsr/1920x1080overscantl7.gif
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 08-17-2012, 06:38 AM
Member
 
billdacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just for $hits and giggles....This HDMI stuff is a two-way street. I am wondering if the computer is recognizing the Vizio TV? I have had issues with some HDMI cables not fully engaging the video card connector. These HDMI cables have "back-shell''s" that are so fricken large they hang up on the edge of the case. It just a thought... biggrin.gif
billdacat is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 08-17-2012, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Check the pixel format settings in your graphics card settings.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #11 of 23 Old 08-17-2012, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Whitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Prov, RI USA
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is definitely an HDMI issue I think because I just tried to do a screen print and when I view the bad monitors screen save on the good monitor, and it looked good. Not sure where to go now but I am waiting for my Displayport-HDMI adapter. If you all look up at the tomshardware link I posted, it mentions that HDMI downgrades to 30% quality when the HDCP(?) is not active/compliant. I have a feeling something like that is at hand here...
Whitey is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 08-17-2012, 01:05 PM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
If you all look up at the tomshardware link I posted, it mentions that HDMI downgrades to 30% quality when the HDCP(?) is not active/compliant. I have a feeling something like that is at hand here...

Did you read the rest of that thread? Notice how everyone ignored that comment? because it's BS.
SAM64 is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 08-17-2012, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Wouldn't you get an hdcp error anyways? Have you tried all the things people have mentioned? Theres a lot of settings like color space that could cause this.

Also tv's may handle dvi differently than hdmi. You might have more settings for hdmi that aren't jiving with the htpc input. I had the black level setting wrong on my plasma and everything looked like crap.

I ran across this from a Vizio manual. Not sure if yours even has it. Something else to try.



whiteboy714 is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 08-17-2012, 10:10 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Whitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Prov, RI USA
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Vizio 55" is fine (on DVI-VGA)

Its the little monitor on HDMI that has what looks like min colors resolution.

see attached (taken with camera phone, the better one is the vizio on DVI)


Whitey is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 08-17-2012, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well two different monitors doesn't help much. How about the vizio dvi vs hdmi?
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 08-17-2012, 11:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomandbeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hello Whitey,

Did you install the >latest< Video Driver from the MOBO manufacturer? If you mentioned this over on the other website..sorry.
tomandbeth is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 08-18-2012, 05:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitey View Post

The Vizio 55" is fine (on DVI-VGA)
Its the little monitor on HDMI that has what looks like min colors resolution.
see attached (taken with camera phone, the better one is the vizio on DVI)


Which one do you think is the better one?
assassin is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 08-18-2012, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Really??

Sammy2 is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 08-18-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Yes really. You would be amazed at what some people think looks "better".
assassin is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 08-18-2012, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Okay. I'll clarify. For me, the top image is clearly superior.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 08-18-2012, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Whitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Prov, RI USA
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK guys I did the latest video driver update. Thought it was latest but there was a newer. No better. Then today my DisplayPort-HDMI adapter arrived. PICTURE IS NEAR PERFECT. I wont say this is the best monitor because its 720p but the image is 85-90% as good as the vizio now rather than harsh and unwatchable. I still think there is something to the HDMI standard downgrading itself but thats just a hunch. Pic below is of the little monitor, taken with my camera phone.


Whitey is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 08-20-2012, 07:10 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
I still think there is something to the HDMI standard downgrading itself but thats just a hunch.

Despite the fact that your hunch is not based in reality?
SAM64 is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 01-04-2014, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
UrbanSmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitey View Post

HDMI output - to put it plain - sucks...

Agreed. I recently purchased a capture device that passes through via HDMI and the colors will become washed out. This has caused me to lose my trust in HDMI, as I've never really used HDMI before, but, have always used DVI with no problems. Until the HDMI standard gets figured out, I will be using DVI.

This is another situation in which newer technology is supposed to be better, yet is inferior to older technology. (See 16:9 monitors vs 16:10 monitors, Windows 8 vs Windows 7, "smart" phones and tablets vs. desktops, and HTML5 vs good ole fashioned HTML and Flash.)

WANTED: 16:10 120Hz monitors for triple surround gaming/Google Earth browsing.

UrbanSmooth is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off