Media Center Stopped Working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-27-2012, 01:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Media Center Stopped Working

That’s the message I got while watching an OTA recording. I checked for an online solution and wrote down the names of 3 filepaths. They were all in a temp folder but when I went to look for them they were not there, & I do have things set to view hidden files.

Here’s a screen print I was able to grab. I tried to capture the lower portion but the rest of the TV screen was black & there was no access to any other app so I could grab only one screen print.

Anyone ever see anything like this?

Mike99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-27-2012, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Once in a great while this happens to me. Usually scheduling or doing a manual re-boot helps with this sort of stuff. Win7 is the most stable version of Windows yet but re-booting helps keep things running smoothly.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-27-2012, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I think I just re-booted the day before. WMC restarted & I played the recording without a problem.

I've had problems with Comcast DVRs, Dish DVRs & Panasonic DVDRs. I guess why should HTPC be any different.frown.gif
Mike99 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-27-2012, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vlad Theimpaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Once in a great while this happens to me. Usually scheduling or doing a manual re-boot helps with this sort of stuff. Win7 is the most stable version of Windows yet but re-booting helps keep things running smoothly.


@Sammy2...

If you don't mind, could you please divulge the versions of Media Browser, MPC-HC, and MadVR that you currently use? And also the nVidia driver revision you have for your 430GT card? I hope you don't mind this query, but I am building a HTPC with similar specs as yours, and am planning to install the same software you use (7MC + MB + MPC-HC + MadVR) for media browsing and playback.

Infrequent crashing of 7MC is something I hope to avoid, but I can live with it if in return I get great browsing and playback features + performance from this setup. I am cautiously optimistic on this one smile.gif

TIA

Vlad Theimpaler is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off