Ivy Bridge i3 CPUs seen in the wild.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 08-29-2012, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
In china. Coming next week to the USA...


Quote:
Intel launched its third generation Core i7 and Core i5 processors back in April however the Entry level Core i3 were pushed back to Q3 2012. Today, Chinese retail outlets have listed various Core i3 processors which include the following:

Core i3-3240
Core i3-3225
Core i3-3220
Core i3-3220T

The new Core i3 processors are built on the Ivy Bridge 22nm architecture using the latest Tri-gate technology for better power efficiency and improved performance. All of these models are dual core variants with frequencies ranging from 2.8GHz to 3.4GHz on the faster i3-3240. TDP of each i3 CPU is rated at 55W except the i3-3220T which has a TDP of 35W.

IGP consists of HD2500 on the i3-3240, i3-3225, i3-3220T and HD4000 on i3-3225. Prices range from $125 for i3-3220, $135 for i3-3220T, $145 for i3-3225 and $155 for i3-3240. Although these aren’t official but prices would be near to these values. Launch is expected in September.

Intel also has planned two more Core i5 variants which include the i5-3550P and i5-3330 along with a Pentium G2120 Dual core CPU for LGA1155 systems.

assassin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 08-30-2012, 07:05 AM
Member
 
jrfendrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to watch the i3-3225 over the next couple of months. My HTPC is currently powered by the guts of a Core 2 Q6600 purchased exactly five years and three days ago (new hard drives, video card, and CableCard tuner last year), and a $200-225 rebuild with the 3225, 8 GB RAM, and a decent Micro ATX motherboard will be feasible during the holidays.
jrfendrick is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 08-30-2012, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Anyone know if Ivy Bridge has the same characteristic as SB where for most use the "T" 35W processors don't really save on power consumption?
jeffkro is offline  
post #4 of 25 Old 08-30-2012, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrfendrick View Post

I'm going to watch the i3-3225 over the next couple of months. My HTPC is currently powered by the guts of a Core 2 Q6600 purchased exactly five years and three days ago (new hard drives, video card, and CableCard tuner last year), and a $200-225 rebuild with the 3225, 8 GB RAM, and a decent Micro ATX motherboard will be feasible during the holidays.

This is my plan too - I just reinstalled Windows 7 and lost my HBO recordings. Since I don't subscribe to HBO anymore and nothing else is copy once I see a new PC in my future too.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #5 of 25 Old 08-30-2012, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post

This is my plan too - I just reinstalled Windows 7 and lost my HBO recordings. Since I don't subscribe to HBO anymore and nothing else is copy once I see a new PC in my future too.

Its a good idea to have a SSD or HD partition that you use just for the OS and installed programs and then keep your data(recorded TV) on another partition.
jeffkro is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 08-30-2012, 02:08 PM
Member
 
jrfendrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

Its a good idea to have a SSD or HD partition that you use just for the OS and installed programs and then keep your data(recorded TV) on another partition.

I'm going to guess that the HBO recordings were lost due to the PlayReady DRM.

Anyway, after reading a little about the Intel HD 4000 graphics, I may just save the $20 and get the i3-3220 , since I already have a discrete Asus GT 430 fanless card and it doesn't look like HD 4000 will beat that.
jrfendrick is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 08-30-2012, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrfendrick View Post

I'm going to guess that the HBO recordings were lost due to the PlayReady DRM.
Anyway, after reading a little about the Intel HD 4000 graphics, I may just save the $20 and get the i3-3220 , since I already have a discrete Asus GT 430 fanless card and it doesn't look like HD 4000 will beat that.

Nope, your system would just have lower power consumption without the discrete card.
jeffkro is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 08-30-2012, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrfendrick View Post

I'm going to guess that the HBO recordings were lost due to the PlayReady DRM.
Anyway, after reading a little about the Intel HD 4000 graphics, I may just save the $20 and get the i3-3220 , since I already have a discrete Asus GT 430 fanless card and it doesn't look like HD 4000 will beat that.

Isn't copy protection a giant pain, it again bites a person who is doing everything by the rules. Pirates and illegal downloaders are not affected.
jeffkro is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 08-31-2012, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Yea - I began subscribing to digital cable w/ an ATI tuner in January 2011. We had HBO free for a year then - I think I had about 15 or so movies that I had been delaying reinstalling Windows for fear of losing. So that was the last time I installed Windows.

My computer was just starting to get so sluggish that it was beyond time for a reinstall. I finished setting everything up last night (Media Browser, my custom TMT5 interface, My Channel Logos, Shark007, etc) and made an image of it. Now that I don't subscribe to any Copy Once channels reinstalling should be pretty simple in the future.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #10 of 25 Old 09-03-2012, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Now on US soil...

http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=75429&vpn=BX80637I33220&manufacture=Intel
assassin is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 09-03-2012, 02:14 PM
Newbie
 
SinceCCF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SinceCCF is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 09-03-2012, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrfendrick View Post

I'm going to guess that the HBO recordings were lost due to the PlayReady DRM.
Anyway, after reading a little about the Intel HD 4000 graphics, I may just save the $20 and get the i3-3220 , since I already have a discrete Asus GT 430 fanless card and it doesn't look like HD 4000 will beat that.

What about the Pentium G2120 with a discrete GPU. In the UK the G2120 is £72, the i3-3220 is £97 and the i3-3225 is £110.

David
DavidT99 is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 09-03-2012, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
StardogChampion is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 09-04-2012, 12:12 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Will there be an Ivy bridge CPU to replace the Sandy bridge G6xx CPU's?

David
DavidT99 is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 09-04-2012, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any guesses as to gaming performance between the A6-3500 and the i3-3225 (HD6530 vs HD4000)? It looks like the same iGPUs in the A6 quad and i5 trade blows in benches. Pricewise it looks the i3-3225 will surpass the A8 Llanos by around a third. I haven't seen any Trinity prices yet.
Ruiner is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 09-04-2012, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Review here: http://www.iopanel.net/iintel-core-i3-3225-ivy-bridge-with-hd-4000-graphics-review/
but unfortunately only against i5 and i7.
Ruiner is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 09-04-2012, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidT99 View Post

Will there be an Ivy bridge CPU to replace the Sandy bridge G6xx CPU's?
David
Socket 1155? Almost any of them...
olyteddy is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 09-15-2012, 07:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,459
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 656
I just grabbed a 3570 too... perhaps I should have waited and could have saved a couple bucks.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #19 of 25 Old 09-15-2012, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Got my 3225 and a Gigabyte Z77 board. So far, so good. Streams that blasted 'Silverlight' crap in HD (NetFlix and Xfinity).
olyteddy is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 09-26-2012, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ruiner is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 09-26-2012, 12:22 PM
Member
 
jyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NewEngland
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core-i3-ivy-bridge.html
More in depth review. No surprises.

I wish xbitlabs had done more work on the 3225. Most of us here would like to see actual thermals and max-power consumption on the i3 with HD4000 strapped-on.
Hopefully we get another review that would include the G2120 and 3225 together soon.
jyzz is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 09-26-2012, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Certainly not scientific, but I've metered my i3 3225 build (http://www.avsforum.com/t/1428437/new-3225-build-need-to-order-by-midnight-tomorrow/0_40) doing AVC encodes and watching full screen HDTV using QuickTV the total power consumption was under 70 Watts.
olyteddy is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 09-27-2012, 07:10 PM
Member
 
tawd1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Got my 3225 and a Gigabyte Z77 board. So far, so good. Streams that blasted 'Silverlight' crap in HD (NetFlix and Xfinity).

You're getting 100% smooth playback in Netflix? That alone would make the i3-3225 worth getting for me.
tawd1992 is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 09-27-2012, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by tawd1992 View Post

You're getting 100% smooth playback in Netflix? That alone would make the i3-3225 worth getting for me.
Yeah, just watched a bit of The Big Lebowski to verify. Not a noticable frame drop or other hic-cup. Then I streamed a bit of Dexter from Xfinity on demand and while it wasn't nearly as smooth it was still quite watchable. Maybe over the weekend I'll do some screen recordings and post them on Youtube.
olyteddy is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 09-29-2012, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Here's the video clip:

No tearing or stuttering on NetFlix and (nearly) perfect 24p playback. Xfinity's Showtime on Demand is less than stellar, however. smile.gif


PS: The recording software is: http://mirillis.com/en/products/action.html It records 1080p using less than 5% of the 3225, less than 1% on my i7-2600. It records a pretty big file (about 20GB an hour) in their propriatary encoder but includes a Quick Sync enababled AVC encoder that transcodes a 2 hour show in about 20 minutes. Pretty good for a $25 program...tongue.gif
olyteddy is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off