What is the least intrusive method to find Windows 7 product key? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 09-03-2012, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have 2 installations of Windows 7 using 2 copies of Windows 7 upgrade. I need to reinstall one of them with SSD but I am not sure which one is used on which. I have the product key labels on both of my install disks' package. Is there a way to tell which product key is used on which PC without installing any software?
pixelation is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 09-03-2012, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
http://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 09-03-2012, 12:50 PM
Member
 
billdacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
BeLarc Advisor will also do the trick. I will also give you a nice listing of installed software and patches.

http://www.belarc.com/
billdacat is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 09-03-2012, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks. But as mentioned earlier, I need a way to find out the product key without installing software. Any takers?
pixelation is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 09-03-2012, 07:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelation View Post

I need a way to find out the product key without installing software.

Why?
jim2100 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 09-03-2012, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Because I don't trust keyfinders.
pixelation is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 09-03-2012, 10:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Well, erickotz already gave you your answer.
jim2100 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 09-03-2012, 11:12 PM
Member
 
DeanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelation View Post

Because I don't trust keyfinders.

You could just try one. If it doesn't activate, try the other.
But I've used Magic Jelly Bean before and it seemed to work fine.
DeanM is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-04-2012, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Why not just do install an image of your current HDD to your SSD?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-04-2012, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
signcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've used belarc for a decade or so... I'd check them out... I would be a little more mistrusting of the "magicjellybean" one ... not to say its bad but from your response of mistrusting keyfinders, you seem to have had issues in the past with game key finders that are full of malware. Finding the windows/office keys are generally not the same thing.
signcarver is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 09-04-2012, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 51
if you dont trust it, finish up backing everything you need and settings etc, then disconnect internet, install, run and get the key info you want. rebuild after formatting. simple!

even it wanted to, it couldnt transmit any data back.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 09-04-2012, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I've used the magical jelly bean one, and it was without issue, but it's probably been ~5 years, so I can't speak to the current version.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-04-2012, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
rcrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Nirsoft ProduKey is good. it pulls the OS key and any other keys, like Office that are on your machine. if you've got time to run an uninstalled key extractor, you've got time to run this and then uninstall it.

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/product_cd_key_viewer.html
rcrach is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off