Hook up one PC to multiple displays/rooms - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-05-2012, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hbarsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a nice gaming PC that I use quite a bit. But, it's in the bedroom, and I'd like to play games on my Plasma TV in the living room, and eventually a projector in the basement. My house is fairly old, so pulling wires will be a pain. Obviously, I'll have to pull wires for this to work at any acceptable resolution and latency, but I want to make sure I have a good plan and the right standards before I pull anything.

My PC has HDMI out, but the cable would be greater than 50', so I don't know if that format would work. I've read about HDMI over CAT5 - has anyone here tried that successfully? Also, input is obviously a factor - I was thinking running a USB hub with a bluetooth dongle attached (so bluetooth -> USB hub -> long cable -> computer), what kind of input latency would that introduce?
hbarsquared is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-05-2012, 05:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
You might want to post to the HTPC forum about this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-06-2012, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hbarsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

You might want to post to the HTPC forum about this.

Done, will post the link once the new thread is approved.
hbarsquared is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-11-2012, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
MarkcusD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Was just pricing 40ft hdmi cables today. I hope this will work.
MarkcusD is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-19-2012, 01:25 AM
Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
w1retap is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-19-2012, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hbarsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the links. I've seen wall-mounted faceplates that do the conversion (plug in HDMI, run cat6 off the back) too. Ideally, I want a faceplate that does HDMI->cat6, USB->cat6, and ethernet all in one unit. Wishful thinking?
hbarsquared is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-21-2012, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
PubFiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I cant say if such a device exists.

But what I can say is the wire runs are usually the hardest part so if you are unsure run what ever you think you might want all at once. When ever I pull cat6 cable I pull at least 2, I am running a similar 30 foot run and I am going to pull 3 ethernet, USB, and HDMI all together and I am thinking hard about running display port too. If you do not future proof, then run a string to 2 alongside the cable so that if you ever want to run another item it will be easy to tie up and pull through.
PubFiction is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off