MKV and MP4 Files Won't Play Anymore - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-06-2012, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
deo252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Within the last week I've noticed that my MKV and MP4 files will either not play at all or play with no sound. Any file over 3gb is where this problem is happening. The frustrating part is I've had these files for awhile and they used to play but now I'm having problems. I experience this problem playing via WMP and streaming to TV which again use to not be a problem. Any help to get things back on track would be appreciated!
deo252 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-06-2012, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
What codecs are you using? WMP doesn't natively support mkv.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-06-2012, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
deo252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
honestly it's been so long I can't remember the codecs I originally downloaded to get it working. Is there anyway I can look that up? I can't understand why they all of sudden stopped working when they used to work.
deo252 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-06-2012, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
ljo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Try VLC player instead.
ljo000 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-06-2012, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Could also try mpc-hc. It is self contained, so if it works you know it is a codec issue within your media foundation. Best thing in that case is try a restore point or uninstall every codec you have and start over. Worse case, a reinstall.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
jrwalte is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off