Can this become a media server? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2012, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sparty30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found an old PC in my basement minus a PSU and I was wondering if I could use it to become a media server for my HTPC. My plan would be to use it as a place to store and push the media files. All ripping/ coding would be done on one of the other PC's and the file then moved to this. Here is what it has:

MOBO: DFI Lanparty UT nF3 Ultra-D
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Ram: 4 Gb Partriot (didn't look at timing)

So what do you think. Is it worth using any of these old parts? I'd move 2 HDD from HTPC plus add one additional blank drive I have, add WMS 2011 home, and a PSU.
sparty30 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2012, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,649
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 250
How many SATA ports om the MoBo?

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 09-06-2012, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sparty30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are 8.

Also wondering if WMS 2011 is best option. Someone said freeNas might make more sense. Main goal for server is to have central location with file backup in case drive goes bad that I can do at low cost.
sparty30 is offline  
 
Old 09-06-2012, 08:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's perfectly fine for a file server. Since windows 7 homegroups makes it easy to share, a server
os isn't essential.

I use flex raid to create parity backup and it can virtually combine all your harddrives into one.
Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
jrwalte is offline  
Old 09-06-2012, 09:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,649
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 250
With 8 SATA ports you can definitely use that as a server.

Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off