Yay or nay to my HTPC (xbmc) Build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-07-2012, 12:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
daninfamous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Almost as cheap as possible is the idea here, the intel route I would go would add 100+ easily to the build and I just can't swing that right now.

My biggest concern is ease of use, is the amd route stable and fairly problem free once set up correctly? (pretty much 99% XBMC)

Here is what I have so far.

I know the case is ugly but it will be mostly out of sight and has room for 5 HD's per assassins hardware guide, It would be nice to store a lot of my media locally on the machine. 3TB HD's down the road.



Thanks in advance guys.

// edit

I already own a few hard drives that I will use for now until I can free up some funds for a SSD primary drive. Other than a hard drive and input devices (those can wait too) Cheapo walmart mouse and keyboard for now will work. Am I missing anything?

110" DIY screen and lossless audio makes me never want to leave the basement.
daninfamous is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-07-2012, 04:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by daninfamous View Post

Almost as cheap as possible is the idea here, the intel route I would go would add 100+ easily to the build and I just can't swing that right now.
My biggest concern is ease of use, is the amd route stable and fairly problem free once set up correctly? (pretty much 99% XBMC)
Here is what I have so far.
I know the case is ugly but it will be mostly out of sight and has room for 5 HD's per assassins hardware guide, It would be nice to store a lot of my media locally on the machine. 3TB HD's down the road.

Thanks in advance guys.
// edit
I already own a few hard drives that I will use for now until I can free up some funds for a SSD primary drive. Other than a hard drive and input devices (those can wait too) Cheapo walmart mouse and keyboard for now will work. Am I missing anything?

If you don't need 3D intel is cheaper than AMD, fwiw.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-07-2012, 06:52 AM
Member
 
bananapeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's not forget that Intel integrated graphics have frame locking issues.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/the-sandy-bridge-review-intel-core-i7-2600k-i5-2500k-core-i3-2100-tested/7

They say its fixed via BIOS but I have yet to see it confirmed via testing and likely only applies to their latest ivy bridge.
bananapeal is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-07-2012, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by bananapeal View Post

Let's not forget that Intel integrated graphics have frame locking issues.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/the-sandy-bridge-review-intel-core-i7-2600k-i5-2500k-core-i3-2100-tested/7
They say its fixed via BIOS but I have yet to see it confirmed via testing and likely only applies to their latest ivy bridge.

That article is fairly out-of-date. While the problem still exists it's to a lesser extent and is not just an Intel issue but also ATI/AMD and NVIDIA, integrated or discrete GPU. There is a very long thread on this subject with a lot of research: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1333324/lets-set-this-straight-no-one-can-do-24p-consistently-well.

The A6-3500 is $69.99 at Amazon.com. If you'd just doing 1080p 2D however the Celeron G530 will perform equally as well and can be found for $44.99. Either one works great for 1080p.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off