HTPC Can't get 5.1 sound over HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-08-2012, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
endotherm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm troubleshooting an issue with my HTPC, trying to determine why I can never get signal to my Center or Surround speakers.


When I attempt to configure my HDMI audio drivers, the system never detects 5.1 capability and provides only the option "Stereo". I have installed/reinstalled the Realtek HDA drivers and the Realtek ATI HDMI driver, but no dice.

At this point I'm not sure if the issue is a problem with my Players, Codecs, Sound controller, Video card HDMI audio capability, the TV, or the receiver. Any advice you could provide in narrowing the feild somewhat would be most appreciated.
Any Ideas?
endotherm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-09-2012, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Some TVs can only pass stereo. Try connecting to the avr first, then the tv.

Is the audio stream DD or DTS?

Here's an issue another person has encountered: http://www.avforums.com/forums/10096388-post1.html
audit13 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-09-2012, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
tootal2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: eureka, mo
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you have run the speaker setup in wmc. when i turn my reciver on it goes to lpcm. I have to turn the recever off and back on to get 5.1 to work.
tootal2 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-09-2012, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
NorCalJason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Have you tried:

HTPC -> Reciever -> TV?
NorCalJason is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-09-2012, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Does your receiver have HDMI or S/PDIF input? The best way to go is this^^ if it does.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-09-2012, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
endotherm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies guys,

I agree it would be optimal if I could run the signal through the receiver first. Unfortunately it is an 5+ year old model (Onkyo HT-R330), and does not support any HD video ports.
The reason I have it going through the TV first is so the kids only have to switch one input channel to get all the devices working (Cable, PC, Wii, PS3, etc) of which 3 run at HD.

I've tried a number of source stream types including DTS, DD. The receiver does say it recognizes a DTS stream (indicator changes from pcm to dts) when I play a given file, but the surround and center channels don't get any signal regardless of format. I'll try powercycling it as you suggest @tootal2.

My receiver and my PC support SPDIF, so I could wire them directly, but it does mean that we will have to switch both the TV and the receiver. not optimal but probably reasonable. The receiver treats each digital input differently than it does between AV input devices, but you can switch between them, albeit clumsily.

I know I'm working with some '08 technology here. Could I bypass the issue with an AV switcher? they were prohibitively expensive last I checked. might as well by a new receiver like this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882120194
endotherm is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-09-2012, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Can you go S/PDIF for audio from the HTPC to the AVR and then go VGA or DVI from the HTPC to the HDTV?

I'm not sure if the HTPC will do that in Win7 though.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-09-2012, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
endotherm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for now I wired the spdif out on the pc to the receiver and disabled hdmi audio, so HDMI video and SPDIF audio. it works, and I get full 5.1 with DTS. still need to test DD. unfortunately that means that we need to switch the TVs input channel and the receivers digital input (from coax to Optical). not optimal but passable.

If you have any other ideas, let me know. it would be nice if I could pass sound through via hdmi.

Thanks for your help!
endotherm is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-10-2012, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by endotherm View Post

Thanks for the replies guys,
I agree it would be optimal if I could run the signal through the receiver first. Unfortunately it is an 5+ year old model (Onkyo HT-R330), and does not support any HD video ports.
The reason I have it going through the TV first is so the kids only have to switch one input channel to get all the devices working (Cable, PC, Wii, PS3, etc) of which 3 run at HD.
I've tried a number of source stream types including DTS, DD. The receiver does say it recognizes a DTS stream (indicator changes from pcm to dts) when I play a given file, but the surround and center channels don't get any signal regardless of format. I'll try powercycling it as you suggest @tootal2.
My receiver and my PC support SPDIF, so I could wire them directly, but it does mean that we will have to switch both the TV and the receiver. not optimal but probably reasonable. The receiver treats each digital input differently than it does between AV input devices, but you can switch between them, albeit clumsily.
I know I'm working with some '08 technology here. Could I bypass the issue with an AV switcher? they were prohibitively expensive last I checked. might as well by a new receiver like this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882120194
$299 including FREE S/H is a no-brainer to achieve a fully-integrated solution which would have you ready for multiple HDMI sources... Just do it!
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-10-2012, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by endotherm View Post

Thanks for the replies guys,
I agree it would be optimal if I could run the signal through the receiver first. Unfortunately it is an 5+ year old model (Onkyo HT-R330), and does not support any HD video ports.
The reason I have it going through the TV first is so the kids only have to switch one input channel to get all the devices working (Cable, PC, Wii, PS3, etc) of which 3 run at HD.
I've tried a number of source stream types including DTS, DD. The receiver does say it recognizes a DTS stream (indicator changes from pcm to dts) when I play a given file, but the surround and center channels don't get any signal regardless of format. I'll try powercycling it as you suggest @tootal2.
My receiver and my PC support SPDIF, so I could wire them directly, but it does mean that we will have to switch both the TV and the receiver. not optimal but probably reasonable. The receiver treats each digital input differently than it does between AV input devices, but you can switch between them, albeit clumsily.
I know I'm working with some '08 technology here. Could I bypass the issue with an AV switcher? they were prohibitively expensive last I checked. might as well by a new receiver like this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882120194

That particular receiver doesn't include any room equalization settings. I would rather get a used receiver with some sort of room equalization such as Audyssey or YPAO than a new receiver without any equalization.
audit13 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 09-10-2012, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
ljo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If you don't want to get a new receiver, you should at least get a Harmony remote. It can be programmed to do the input switching for you as part of an activity so will be a lot easier to use. Plus it is useful for controlling all your gadgets including the new receiver that you will probably have to buy at some point.
ljo000 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off