hdmi flicker problem (geforce 9200 -> sharp aquos) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-09-2012, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theblockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an older acer machine that has an onboard video card (geforce 9200) w/ hdmi. When I connect it to my sharp aquos and set resolution to 1080p native (1920x1080), it comes up on the tv, however there is a flicker problem. The flicker is like what you get when you change inputs on the tv. It goes black for a second while it looks for the signal, and comes back. While it's in one of these flickers, you lose audio.

When not much is going on and I'm just working on the desktop, it happens maybe once every minute or two. When I'm playing a video and have the system muted, it happens a couple times a minute. When I'm playing a video and have the audio going as well, it happens every few seconds.

I've tried changing hdmi cables, trying different inputs, both plugging directly into the receiver as well as plugging directly into the tv, all drivers are up-to-date.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to correct this? Ideally down the road I'd like to build a custom htpc system from scratch, but don't want to spend the money if I'm going to have hdmi flickering. I don't know if it's the computer or the tv.

thanks
theblockster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-09-2012, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Have you tried a different hdmi cable or different input on your tv? Drivers are all up to date?

This flickering should not be happening. From an AMD 4350 to my current 5450, I have never had a flickering problem.
audit13 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-09-2012, 05:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What resoslution at what frame rate are you sending to the TV?
What is the respolution of your souce video and what software are you playing it with?
You may be better off if you let the TV do any upscaling required to it's native 1080p resolution.
I don't suspect your cables are the cause of your flicker.
Are you sure your audion driver is the latest from your system or audio card manufacxturer?
Are you possibly getting dropped frames instead of flicker?
walford is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off