HTPC WMC DVR quesion - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 09-09-2012, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lloydct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have built a server using assassin's guide. I am now looking to build 3 htpc's for under $400 each. Reading through his htpc guides, it is not clear to me if the content that is DVR'd on one htpc is available to the other htpc's on the network. When you record on one computer, can you store it on the server and it will show up for other users, or is this content specific to each DVR? I can see how the dvd/bd rips are available to everything on the server.

Thanks.
lloydct is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 09-09-2012, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Is this over the air content? If so, then you're fine. Or is it cable? Some channels from cable companies are encrypted, and the recordings can only be played back on the original computer (or a WMC extender like the Xbox 360).
lockdown571 is online now  
post #3 of 14 Old 09-10-2012, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Using Win 7 you set them all up as Media Libraries and each sees them all. You mentioned using WMC as a DVR but never mentioned any tuners. Will each of these have their own tuners? HDHomeRun (Prime)? With local tuners ONLY that PC can see the tuner, whih a SD you can share the tuners over your LAN. Again, you can use the library concept or move them to your server one by one...
Andrew Hornfeck is online now  
post #4 of 14 Old 09-10-2012, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 57
For the cost of one of the HTPC's you can get 3 XBOXes or if you can find original Media Center Extenders that will play all of your recorded TV content, encrypted and flagged.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is online now  
post #5 of 14 Old 09-10-2012, 12:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
ljo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
For non-copy-once flagged content (OTA, unencrypted cable) you're better off using something like MCE Buddy to convert the wtv files to mkv or something and then use a media streamer to stream to TVs around the house (WD Live for example).

For copy-once content, you need to use an extender - either Xbox 360 today or Ceton Echo (hopefully soon).

In either case, multiple HTPCs is not necessary and is actually more of a hassle than the alternatives. Just have one HTPC that houses your whole library and then use one of the above methods.
ljo000 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 09-10-2012, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljo000 View Post

For non-copy-once flagged content (OTA, unencrypted cable) you're better off using something like MCE Buddy to convert the wtv files to mkv or something and then use a media streamer to stream to TVs around the house (WD Live for example).
.

Just FYI, I believe Plex Media Server can handle WTV files and transcode them on the fly.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #7 of 14 Old 09-10-2012, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
ljo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

Just FYI, I believe Plex Media Server can handle WTV files and transcode them on the fly.

I haven't tried on-the-fly transcoding but its a very cool concept. My HTPC is only a Sandy Bridge G630 though so probably underpowered. What I like about MCE Buddy is the scheduling ability (mine wakes the PC and coverts at 5am) and the commercial removal. It also supports a powerful naming tool if you want to organise the transcoded files.
ljo000 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 09-10-2012, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljo000 View Post

For non-copy-once flagged content (OTA, unencrypted cable) you're better off using something like MCE Buddy to convert the wtv files to mkv or something and then use a media streamer to stream to TVs around the house (WD Live for example).
For copy-once content, you need to use an extender - either Xbox 360 today or Ceton Echo (hopefully soon).
In either case, multiple HTPCs is not necessary and is actually more of a hassle than the alternatives. Just have one HTPC that houses your whole library and then use one of the above methods.

I'm not familiar with Ceton Echo (hopefully it can do everything!) but an extender instead of a HTPC in each room is not always an option. Case in point, BD ISO and BD quality MKVs. I don't know of any extender that supports BD ISO or DTS-HD audio and most cannot handle the high bitrate video (especially XBox 360).
jrwalte is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 09-11-2012, 04:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
We're all hoping that the Ceton Echo will support mkv playback of BD movies. There's been all sorts of speculation about what it will support, but we won't know for sure until it begins beta testing later this month. It doesn't look like Ceton is trying top keep the lid on during the beta testing period so chances are the testers (I'm on the list) can freely discuss their experience with the Echo during the trial.
captain_video is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 09-11-2012, 04:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
first, I cannot comment on encrypted material that was DVRed. I only have limited basic cable (channels 2-33), which is basically OTA through cable.

In my experience, I have been able to share media on multiple computers. In WIndows 7, you just need to setup your homegroup, and media sharing. It's pretty easy. Just get the homegroup code, and enter in the other PCs. The media sharing is just going into media center telling it where the libraries for recorded TV. This is slightly different from telling media center where you store your video files. But the prior will let you delete on the non-recording machine. It may also give you access to that encrypted material as well.

Plex can play WTV files. The scraper doesn't work very well for WTV files because of the default naming function of media center, but they're working on it: linky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plex Blog 
Plex Media Server v0.9.6.5
July 02nd, 2012
FIX: Pass more hints along to agents, useful for WTV work.

You may want to check out this thread on how to get the files to show up in the libraries.

I have tried out WTV files, and they do play. I haven't tried out the WTV files with the new update to see if the scrappers are working correctly for WTV files under television shows.
lovekeiiy is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 09-12-2012, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
By personal experience I can tell you other PCs cannot play copy once cable card content while extenders can.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
jrwalte is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 09-30-2012, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lloydct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using the HD Homerun tuners for OTA only.

Is it best to set WMC to record on each individual HTPC and share each folder, or can I get away with setting up a folder on the main server and each htpc would record to the server?
lloydct is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-30-2012, 02:56 PM
Member
 
gwh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloydct View Post

I am using the HD Homerun tuners for OTA only.
Is it best to set WMC to record on each individual HTPC and share each folder, or can I get away with setting up a folder on the main server and each htpc would record to the server?

I prefer to record from one HTPC to minimize tuner conflicts.
I have one HTPC with an extra HDD for WTV storage. Then I use MCE Buddy to removed commercials and place the file in shared folders for the other devices.
gwh1 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-30-2012, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I think the best thing to do is to record most of the stuff on the HTPC you use the most and share that folder with the network. Since there is no resume on pc clients.
gonzo90017 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off