The power of the Intel G620 CPU - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 09-12-2012, 12:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I just put the finishing touch on my G620, Windows 7 HTPC. I ended up using an HD 6450 video card and two AVerMedia Duet dual tuner cards.

Using WMC7 I recorded 4 HD OTA programs & played back a 5th HD recording all at the same time. The CPU usage was typically 7-17% and I saw one peak at 20%. It does vary quite a bit but the CPU obviously didn't break a sweat. The Kill A Watt meter read between 55-56 watts. It uses 1 watt when off & 2 watts in sleep mode, which it usually is.
nathanddrews likes this.
Mike99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 09-12-2012, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
nathanddrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 64
That's awesome! biggrin.gif
nathanddrews is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 09-12-2012, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
That's good to know. I wonder how my Celeron G530 would do. I haven't put together a rig but will soon. How much ram in your htpc?
audit13 is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 09-12-2012, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I have 4 GB RAM, and a 1.5 TB Seagate Green HDD.
Mike99 is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 09-12-2012, 10:50 PM
Member
 
fventura03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, those CPU's are a huge bang for your buck, smile.gif. I have 4 x HTPC's on G540 CPU's, with either 2-4gb ram and 320gb - 1.5tb of hard drive space.

they all use about 30-35watt at idle, and 45-50watt on full load.

they are very very good and very very cheap smile.gif.
fventura03 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 03:13 AM
Senior Member
 
C17chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have one myself, 100% agree.

They would even be great for most people's general use PC too. This isnt like the old days where a better CPU gives you better faster across the board experience. a G620 can surf the net, check email, youtube, facebook, etc just as well as an i7.
C17chief is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 03:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
I have long been a fan. For $35 the g540 might be the best cpu ever created dollar for dollar.
assassin is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I have long been a fan. For $35 the g540 might be the best cpu ever created dollar for dollar.

Until the next generation cheap CPU.
jeffkro is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
And for $35, or $50 for the G620, you get a heat sink & fan.
Mike99 is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 10:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,652
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I have long been a fan. For $35 the g540 might be the best cpu ever created dollar for dollar.


Yes. Incredible performance for such a low price.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #11 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 10:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,652
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

And for $35, or $50 for the G620, you get a heat sink & fan.

The retail 850/860 is about $61 btw... 2.9ghz,

Not a bad deal either.

Any of these are great.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #12 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
trooper11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Its obvious you can get away with a very low end cpu with a video card, but I wonder how much say a 620 can handle on its own media playback wise.
trooper11 is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 11:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,652
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper11 View Post

Its obvious you can get away with a very low end cpu with a video card, but I wonder how much say a 620 can handle on its own media playback wise.

it is plenty for HTPC.

You can use a 620 and no video card no problem. I use a 630 in my HTPC and it works great.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #14 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 11:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper11 View Post

Its obvious you can get away with a very low end cpu with a video card, but I wonder how much say a 620 can handle on its own media playback wise.

I use the G620T almost everyday in my bedroom HTPC. Works very well. CPU usage at about 10-20% or so.
assassin is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
trooper11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well that's great to hear. I assume that includes all the 1080p local and streaming content. I keep going back and forth on my own build. I think I got to caught up in worry about using things like MadVR.
trooper11 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 09-13-2012, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I have a G620 in my bedroom HTPC for 1080p video and HD live TV. The system runs at 40C, uses 30W and never looks back smile.gif. I'd get a G540 now.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 09-14-2012, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper11 View Post

Its obvious you can get away with a very low end cpu with a video card, but I wonder how much say a 620 can handle on its own media playback wise.

When I had a single dual tuner card & no video card I seem to recall that recording did not put a big load on the CPU. And that recording 2 programs at once was not much different than recording just 1 program. I'll check things again when just recording & what the CPU usage is.

I added the HD 6450 video card because I did have a video problem when watching some SD OTA programs, probably something not many on this forum might do. I would notice a stutter every so often. Researching it a bit it turns out WMC has what is known as the 29/59 bug.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2658140

http://experts.windows.com/w/experts_wiki/71.aspx

I did not notice this when playing the same recordings using MPC-HC. But I want to use WMC so I bought a cheap video card ($15 from Newegg on sale) and used the latest driver & the problem was fixed.

I never noticed a problem with HD OTA content. That being said, when using MPC-HC and the ctrl+j function I noticed there was a frame rate issue with HD content. It would be one frame rate for about 16 seconds & another for about 5 seconds, and the Green video line in the graph would reflect this. After installing the video card the frame rate is a very steady 29.971 fps & the Green graph line is also nice & steady. This was kind of a side bonus.

Again, I never saw a problem with HD OTA, and if that's all I watched then I would have never added a video card.
Mike99 is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 09-14-2012, 06:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,652
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 678
I still laugh that a 15$ video card not only exists but is actually pretty good.

I would go serious gaming but for a solid overall HTPC experience it's plenty.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #19 of 19 Old 09-14-2012, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 288
IMO the $15 HD 6450 can't be beat. I have one too, and it works beautifully for HTPC purposes. Video is fast and smooth, power consumption is low, 5.1 surround and HDCP work great.. The card I had before would really struggle with overlays, like when the guide is up and there's video still playing behind it. It would stutter and skip frames badly. The HD 6450 handles it perfectly, smooth as silk.
mdavej is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off