Win7 (64) software RAID 1 VERSES Intel ICHxR RAID 1 resource consumption - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-14-2012, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15

I'm hoping someone will respond who has had a lot of direct experience with Windows software RAID 1.

 

For the last 6 years, I've been a happy RAID 1 camper using my Intel motherboard's builtin ICH RAID controller; which worked quite well.  I didn't even notice when the disks were synching back.

 

However, recently I switched to two 4TB HDD's.  Unfortunately,  my current embedded controller can only RAID disks which have a a maximum capacity of 2TBs; luckily, that size limit doesnt apply to non-RAID disks.

 

My question is if there's actually a noticeable CPU/memory hit when using software RAID during heavy reading/writing; such as when recording multiple TV channels at the same time AND/OR when the disks are synching.  I never noticed any significant resource utilization hit when using my ICH controller under any circumstance.

 

My next question... is there are  dual HDD enclosure under $200 that offers a great builtin RAID 1 capable controller that's compatible with 4TB HDDs?  Using a RAID controller PCI card is out of the question since I'm all out of PCI slots.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-17-2012, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Aluminum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Switch to windows raid, it will be fine. Just mirroring or striping is very easy to do, no overhead worth mentioning these days.

One big benefit to pure soft raid is you can take that raidset to any other computer to read from or recover it. Intel ICH is fairly common but not universal and there could be blocking differences between versions.

ICH raid is already software/fake raid via drivers, there is no real controller. (meaning anything with parity/xor will suck, though even that is not hard with modern cpus)
It can do some things that window's non-server raid cannot (10, matrix, etc) but nothing that a full fledged unix engine or hardware card doesn't do better.

Nearly dead silent HTPC ver 2.0: i3-4340 w/ Noctua NH-L9i on Z87E-itx inside CM130 elite, fanless PSU, SSD OS drive
SAN shares via 40GbE tunneled over 56Gb infiniband links
microcenter & ebay = severe risks to my wallet
Aluminum is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-17-2012, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Well... it looks like I may have to.  My ICH8R controller can RAID disks up to 2TBs; so, my 4TB disks are out of the question.  At least it can still use them as single disks.  It looks like it would be ideal to RAID1 the two 4TB HDDs via software.  I'm just not thrilled about there being no notifications on RAID status in the Windows system tray.

 

I am hoping that Windows RAID 1 synching wont be resource intensive; or take longer than ICHxR to complete.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off