New to HTPC, Couple questions about TV Tuners and Media Centers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 09-14-2012, 09:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just decided to cut the cord and kick Comcast to the curb.

I converted the desktop to be a media server, serving up OTA channels, Netflix, Hulu, and the like. I'm trying to figure out the best place to put my antenna, so I wanted to see if anyone knows of any real-time antenna signal strength tracking software that I can use to get everything worked out.

I also wanted to know of any alternatives to Windows Media Center for TV recording. I'm currently running Windows 8, and WMC won't be available for download till the end of October at the earliest. I installed MediaPortal and it seems to be working fine, except I can't figure out how to get EPG working. I'm pretty new to this, so I don't know if there are any other services that I can leverage to get the program guide working.

Any help would be awesome!
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-15-2012, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
You can use antennaweb.org and tvfool.com to locate your TV transmission towers on a map that will also show your address. This will get you started on pointing your antenna and if you are not satisfied with your antenna it will help you select an new one, (I have had good luck with Channel Master 4220, 4221 and 4228).

You did not mention which tuner you are using. I recently replace my original HDhomerun with a newer version, HDHR3 dual tuner US and it is the best tuner I have had. The HDHomerun software will give you a signal strength meter that is more descriptive than media center's. Medial Center has a signal strength meter and perhaps Win 8 will get media center.

I tried media portal years ago and did not like it and thus have never used it. Someone else will need to advise you on media portal.
Old 09-15-2012, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member