Lose HDMI audio from PC whenever tv has been turned off - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Problem:
Currently use HTPC running XBMC as main media source. Everything is fine, until we turn the tv off. Then when we turn it back on to use the system, there's no audio. Have to reboot the PC to get it back.

Setup:
PC running Win7 Ultimate
ATI 46xx video card
HDMI from video card to Onkyo TX515 receiver, then HDMI to tv

More details:
We've been using this tv and HTPC for ages. Our old receiver had no hdmi, so we used a dvi-hdmi cable to run straight to tv for video, and then analog audio out to the 6 channel analog input on receiver. Worked flawlessly.
Just replced the old receiver with a new Onkyo 515. Now we use the HDMI output from the video card to the receiver and then another hdmi from receiver to the tv. SYstem works great with perfect video and audio, until we turn the tv off. Nothing appears to change, but when we turn the tv back on , there's no sound from the htpc. Sometimes XBMC gives a "failure to initialize audio device" error, sometimes there's no error message. Exiting xbmc, windows shows the hdmi audio out as being the active device, but there's no sound. Only rebooting fixes it.

I've updated the video drivers to the latest (didn't have any effect on problem). All other audio devices on computer are disabled, so ONLY the ATI HDMI audio shows in the audio device listing.

I've got all CEC disabled on the receiver (tv doesn't have it anyway). Receiver is NOT set to send audio to tv either.

Ideas where it's going bad? Wife is getting annoyed by having to reboot all the time...
dboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a similar issue with a similar card. It's losing it's HDMI handshake. The easiest way to fix it instead of rebooting, is usually just to unplug the plug the HDMI cable back in. The permanent fix was to roll the drivers back to either 12.1 or 12.2. The problem appeared with about 12.3 or 12.4 amd drivers. I'm running 12.8 on everything else with no problems, but with that older card it would lose handshake anytime you switched sources or sometimes when the TV was turned off.
clubwerks is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks - I'll dig up old drivers and try that out.
dboy is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dboy View Post

Thanks - I'll dig up old drivers and try that out.

I found them right on AMD's site. You might need to google instructions for completely removing newer drivers and reinstalling olders drivers because your system won't want to do it normally.
clubwerks is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The latest drivers ATI gives for the 46xx are 12.6, but according to the release notes, 12.8 fixes the audio loss problem. I'll try installing those too, see what fixes it. Doubt that'll work, since the notes don't list the 46xx as a supported card. Have the 12.2 downloading now as well.
dboy is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dboy View Post

The latest drivers ATI gives for the 46xx are 12.6, but according to the release notes, 12.8 fixes the audio loss problem. I'll try installing those too, see what fixes it. Doubt that'll work, since the notes don't list the 46xx as a supported card. Have the 12.2 downloading now as well.

I don't think I actually ever got to try 12.8. I ended up replacing that entire computer because I was starting to get CPU problems. I think I had tried 12.6 and 12.7 beta and everything past 12.2 and it continuously lost handshake. Once I rolled it back, it was fine again. My wife kept seeing the thing about needing an update and she kept downloading the update. biggrin.gif
clubwerks is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Try 11.4

Make sure you uninstall your current drivers first. Installing over the top, won't downgrade them.

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 09:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I've tried 12.8, 12.2, and 12.1. None helped. (yes, I did a full uninstall between each one).

Now installing 11.4, see if that works.

Does a newer vid card that can actually use 12.8 fix this? I've seen some low end 6000 series cards selling for $20-30 - would that make it work right?
dboy is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-16-2012, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dboy View Post

Well, I've tried 12.8, 12.2, and 12.1. None helped. (yes, I did a full uninstall between each one).
Now installing 11.4, see if that works.
Does a newer vid card that can actually use 12.8 fix this? I've seen some low end 6000 series cards selling for $20-30 - would that make it work right?

For me, yes. I have four XBMC machines, all using 6770s or better and all are updated to 12.8 with no issues whatsoever. That old 4850 was the only one that ever had problems.
clubwerks is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-20-2012, 05:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That fixed it. No version that I tried on the 46xx worked, so I picked up a cheap 6450 card, installed it with 12.8, and now audio works fine. Thanks!
dboy is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 09-20-2012, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
It's amazing how a $20 video card (like the HD6450) will get a HTPC running just GREAT!

Thanks for reporting your results!
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 09-20-2012, 09:10 AM
Member
 
rbrinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Has anyone heard if Nvidia is looking at fixing this issue with their cards? I've got an Asus GeForce GT430 on the latest 306.23 WHQL driver, and still I will lose the audio device if I switch the AVR from active to standby mode or vice versa. At the moment, I'm using an HDMI Detective Plus to resolve the issue. However, I really wish that Nvidia and/or Microsoft would straighten out this issue.


HTPC
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 SP1/WMC/MediaBrowser
GD05B-USB3
Core i3-2120/GIGABYTE GA-B75M-D3V
8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1333
ASUS GeForce GT 430
WinTV-HVR-2250
Lite-On 12x BD-ROM ihes112-04
Samsung 830 Series 128GB SATA III SSD
Seasonic 430W S12II (OS/Apps)
AZIO KB338BP BT KB/Trackpad

rbrinson is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off