Time to upgrade? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2012, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Asus P5B-Deluxe - based HTPC from 2007 started to behave badly not too long ago. BSOD every two hours, having nothing but screensaver on.
I was unable to find a reason for this.
It is 5-years old build, served me well.

It was my first HTPC, capable of playing HD DVDs (remember HD DVDs?biggrin.gif)

It lives inside sub-$600 Zalman HD160XT case, I don't want to be embarassed by BSOD if I am watching a movie with my wife or have some visitors.


Time to upgrade to Ivy Bridge system?
What do you think, kamrades?

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2012, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ha, for ~$270 total I might as well do it.

i3 3220 $121 shipped (I am going to use Radeon anyway, so don't need 3225).
AsRock H77 M4-pro $86 shipped
Geil Black Dragon 1333 16 GB (2x8) $60 shipped

That's it folks.biggrin.gif

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 72
If you don't want another board to fail in 5 years, look for boards that have solid tantalum capacitors instead of aluminum electrolytic. Most common board failure is due to aluminum electrolytic capacitors developing leaks over time.

I have boards from the early 90's with solid caps that are still running strong as NAS (24/7 operation)

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueiedgod View Post

If you don't want another board to fail in 5 years, look for boards that have solid tantalum capacitors instead of aluminum electrolytic. Most common board failure is due to aluminum electrolytic capacitors developing leaks over time.
I have boards from the early 90's with solid caps that are still running strong as NAS (24/7 operation)

Thanks for the advice, duly taken, but who knows what will happen in 5 years?

My build of P5B Deluxe was close to $2000 if I remember correctly.
This upgrade is just $270, and if I ebay some spare parts from that build such as Montego DDL sound card and Core 2 Duo CPU, it will be around $150 or so.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Could use this time as excuse to also get a SSD for the OS. You only require one in the 40GB range. My i3 boots into 7MC from a cold boot under 20 seconds (the Windows7 logo never even shows) and instantly reacts to command requests, such as guide, media browser, recorded.
jrwalte is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

Could use this time as excuse to also get a SSD for the OS. You only require one in the 40GB range. My i3 boots into 7MC from a cold boot under 20 seconds (the Windows7 logo never even shows) and instantly reacts to command requests, such as guide, media browser, recorded.

Great idea, thanks! Will get a nice SSD as well.
/meanwhile, the cost is raising, LOL, I wanna Radeon 6670 now to replace my Radeon 4670/
Oh well. It is always like this biggrin.gif

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
One question, if anybody knows: will my Asus Triton 77 http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=2249 be compatible w/LGA 1155 socket or do I need a new HSF as well?

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Unless you are gaming on it, the built-in GPU of the i3 with H77 is enough to handle HTPC duties. You don't need a video card.

On the HSF, the review states it is for 775, so I doubt it will work on 1155. For HTPC duties, the stock HSF is fine, unless you are trying to go fanless...but I can't hear the fan in my quiet bedroom environment even if the TV is off.
jrwalte is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

Unless you are gaming on it, the built-in GPU of the i3 with H77 is enough to handle HTPC duties. You don't need a video card.
On the HSF, the review states it is for 775, so I doubt it will work on 1155. For HTPC duties, the stock HSF is fine, unless you are trying to go fanless...but I can't hear the fan in my quiet bedroom environment even if the TV is off.

OK, thank you, that's what I thought.

For me, unfortunately, built-in GPU is not good enough. I need to have component output, because this HTPC will be connected to my Slingbox Pro. Asus 3450 will take care of this, as well as driving buit-in monitor.

I am quite anal about the noise from my HTPCs.. Never used stock HSFs from Intel.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try the stock first. On the i3s, it is much quieter than you would think. It's the first time I've used a stock HSF myself.
jrwalte is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

Try the stock first. On the i3s, it is much quieter than you would think. It's the first time I've used a stock HSF myself.

Thank you sir, I do trust you and you just saved me about $40. smile.gif

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
But I also cost you about $100 on a SSD smile.gif
jrwalte is offline  
Old 09-21-2012, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

But I also cost you about $100 on a SSD smile.gif

LOL, $80 to be exact. smile.gif

I've got M4 128GB from TigerDirect.

It is a legit expense though biggrin.gif

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-22-2012, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have decided to go with this card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125404 Gigabyte silent Radeon HD 6450, it is now only $21.99 after $25 rebate.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-24-2012, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, boys and girls, Ivy Bridge it is as of today biggrin.gif

Piece of cake.

New 80" monitor and new HTPC on the same day.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-25-2012, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

Try the stock first. On the i3s, it is much quieter than you would think. It's the first time I've used a stock HSF myself.

You were right. I cannot hear the stock fan at all. Zalman case fans are running at 25%, so I cannot hear them too. It is very silent HTPC biggrin.gif

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Glad to hear.
jrwalte is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by galileo2000 View Post

OK, thank you, that's what I thought.
For me, unfortunately, built-in GPU is not good enough. I need to have component output, because this HTPC will be connected to my Slingbox Pro. Asus 3450 will take care of this, as well as driving buit-in monitor.
I am quite anal about the noise from my HTPCs.. Never used stock HSFs from Intel.
Quote:
Originally Posted by galileo2000 View Post

I have decided to go with this card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125404 Gigabyte silent Radeon HD 6450, it is now only $21.99 after $25 rebate.

I was also a "never-use-stock-cooler" convert after sandy-bridge

Question, you mentioned needing component output, but I haven't seen component video from a video card in a while. The one you chose only provides vga, dvi, and hdmi

How do you use the slingbox with the HTPC, I've never researched them too much but I've been somewhat intrigued by the concept
Dark_Slayer is online now  
Old 09-26-2012, 12:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
assassin is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

I was also a "never-use-stock-cooler" convert after sandy-bridge
Question, you mentioned needing component output, but I haven't seen component video from a video card in a while. The one you chose only provides vga, dvi, and hdmi
How do you use the slingbox with the HTPC, I've never researched them too much but I've been somewhat intrigued by the concept

I use Asus HD 3450 http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/AMD_Series/EAH3450HTP256M/, which has component output. Slingbox hd has a dongle with component ins and outs. I can access my HTPC over the net and watch whatever is stored there from anywhere in the world.

I intend to use both : Asus for the component output + internal VGA and 6450 for the connection to the monitor.

It worked fine in my P5B machine, except I used Radeon HD4670, and I certainly hope it will work in my new Ivy Bridge machine.

PS Asus cards w/component are discontinued, but there is one on flebay right now for $17.50 http://www.ebay.com/itm/ASUSTeK-COMPUTER-ATI-Radeon-HDCP-EAH3450-HTP-512M-A-/380461589576?pt=PCC_Video_TV_Cards&hash=item5895472448

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

You need a video capture card --- not the 6450.

No, I do not. smile.gif

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you don't care for live TV (willing to wait until after the show completes recording) then you can use a free software called Remote Potato. It interacts with 7MC and you can fully control 7MC from it. You can even watch bluray-quality MKVs. The video quality is excellent and only limited by your upstream. Every popular portable device has an app for it, too.
jrwalte is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

If you don't care for live TV (willing to wait until after the show completes recording) then you can use a free software called Remote Potato. It interacts with 7MC and you can fully control 7MC from it. You can even watch bluray-quality MKVs. The video quality is excellent and only limited by your upstream. Every popular portable device has an app for it, too.

That's good to know, thanks. I don't use 7MC - yet. smile.gif

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Technically, it works with all versions of media center. I don't know if there is any difference in available features.
jrwalte is offline  
Old 09-28-2012, 06:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am getting 47C CPU temp idle w/stock HSF. Is this normal? Seems high to me.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-28-2012, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe the i3s are fine into the high 60s.
jrwalte is offline  
Old 09-28-2012, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by galileo2000 View Post

I am getting 47C CPU temp idle w/stock HSF. Is this normal? Seems high to me.

With Ivy shouldn't be that high, but you don't give a lot of details.

How long was it idle? Was this just after cold start?

Load temp is a lot more important, give it a 5 min run in one of the bench apps and report load temp

It's safe up to 70 or so, but it doesn't usually idle that hot. Where is your Radeon exhaust going? PSU exhaust?

There are lots of factors for idle temp tongue.gif
Dark_Slayer is online now  
Old 09-28-2012, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

With Ivy shouldn't be that high, but you don't give a lot of details.
How long was it idle? Was this just after cold start?
Load temp is a lot more important, give it a 5 min run in one of the bench apps and report load temp
It's safe up to 70 or so, but it doesn't usually idle that hot. Where is your Radeon exhaust going? PSU exhaust?
There are lots of factors for idle temp tongue.gif

Actually 47C was in BIOS, in Windows it was 42-43C.

Radeon exhaust is not going anywhere, it is a passive-cooled card.

Will run stress test today.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-28-2012, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

I believe the i3s are fine into the high 60s.

Yeah, but it is idle.

Will run a stress test w/monitoring - soon smile.gif

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
Old 09-28-2012, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone can recommend a good benchmark program?
I wanna compare my new Ivy Bridge machine to my Sandy Bridge machine i5 650 overclocked to 4GHZ.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off