My HTPC's at Home - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 03:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fventura03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


This HTPC works very good with 720-1080p streamed over the network on 100mbps wired connection and Plex. Also works very good for Windows Media Center and Live TV Streams from the HDHomerun Primes. They pull 30watts at idle and 35-40watts while streaming video. Very quiet, the loudest part of these are the stock Heat sink and Fan...



Motherboard: ASRock H61M-HVS ($49.99 @ Micro Center)
CPU: Intel Celeron G540 ($34.99 @ Micro Center)
HD: 320gb 2.5" HDD ($54.99 @ Micro Center)
RAM: 1x 4gb Micro Center branded memory ($19.99)
Case: Diablotek Diamond ATX Mid Tower Case with 400W Power Supply ($28.99 @ Micro Center)
Keyboard: Logitech K400 $29.99 @ Walmart
Remote: Rosewill RRC-126 $19.99 @ Newegg
Total: $238.93 + Tax
fventura03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 10-05-2012, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fventura03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aw, no love from anyone rating my setup frown.gif
fventura03 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 10-05-2012, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by fventura03 View Post

aw, no love from anyone rating my setup frown.gif

I give it an A+ ... flat out !!

Nice work on sourcing cheap parts that still maintain a rep for being reliable cool.gif

Now , let's see the pics
flocko is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 10-05-2012, 11:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
HA ! Reliable? That PSU won't last very long, and that mobo has no USB 3 or Gigabit Ethernet. For the price, sure, but I'd spend extra for these features.
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-06-2012, 01:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fventura03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiddles88 View Post

HA ! Reliable? That PSU won't last very long, and that mobo has no USB 3 or Gigabit Ethernet. For the price, sure, but I'd spend extra for these features.

so far so good. I also have one with all these parts, and 2x 1.5tb HD's which does all my recordings (that gets shared to all the other HTPC's in the house), that one has been up 24/7 for over 3 months now. so I'd say it's VERY reliable with the cheap PSU.

the one listed in this thread is used every day and it goes into standby once it's not in use. no issues at all.

I don't need USB3.0 for any reason on this machine. nor do they need gigabit. so it's not worth the added expense to me. I have tested 3 recordings at the same time all on 100mbps recording on Windows Media Center from my HDHomerun Prime and all recorded fine with no issues.

all my other machines have Gigabit in the house, including my 40tb server and other desktops around the house.
fventura03 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-06-2012, 01:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fventura03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pics:

this shows CPU and Network Usages on 3 streams, also shows temperatures. This machine is the same specs as above except it has 3tb of total disc space for recordings. it gets shared to all the other HTPC's and desktops in the network. as you can see, about half of the 100mbps built in Ethernet Adapter is being used (again, no reason to go Gigabit on this and spend the extra cash)

2012_09_17_19_43_07.jpg
online photo sharing
2012_09_17_19_43_12.jpg
online photo storage

this is one with a 320gb HD, you can see how much recording space they have, in the event someone wanted to record something that I dont have already scheduled

2012_07_29_06_46_05.jpg
photo sharing websites

I still have three more motherboards I can use, none of these have HDMI so they are sitting around until I figure out what to build...

2012_09_27_08_31_33.jpg
images

I'll try and get more pics up shortly, everything is pretty much in it's final place and working 100%. I've been at this since July building all these machines and configuring them so they work flawlessly (on a budget). Now I have to work on the wire management since most of these HTPC's are in a closet, or an enclosed space so they arent in direct view.
fventura03 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-06-2012, 05:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
ljo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
It looks good although I would echo the comment about a lack of gigabit ethernet and USB 3.0. Both these can be added in though later if you need to. The only real mistake I think you made was in getting an HDD instead of a SSD for your OS drive. A 60GB agility 3 can be found for $50 or less and $80 would get you a 128GB vertex 4. This would give huge performance gains in startup times, and program snappiness.
ljo000 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-06-2012, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My opinion was based on the fact that the op did a great job with a VERY small amount of money spent .

Ok , true ... an ssd would be nice but again $$$ spent were well used . USB 3.0 , really ? Everyone has tons of 3.0 devices that take advantage of it ?

Giga speed on the net work . How many folks are saturating there gig connection ? I know I'm not
flocko is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-07-2012, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
ljo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The SSD wouldn't have cost any more than what he spent on the HDD - that was my point. Sure he has more storage on the OS drive but with 2x 1.5TB drives it's not really necessary. I agree that this build is very good considering the low cost but it could be better. I spent $301 (inc tax + delivery) recently for a much more capable system
ljo000 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-07-2012, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fventura03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree about the SSD's. I had one of them with an Agility 3 120gb SSD that I got off newegg for $59.99 (no rebates), I wanted to compare between SSD and HDD and it was amazing, the only reason I put the HDD back is because I literally had zero space for any recordings. The wife made it clear she wants to record on any machine she's at and she's the boss, so I had no choice but to go HDD and sacrifice performance.

the 3tb handles 95% of the recordings though and for Black Friday I'll be looking for SSD's for all the HTPC's in addition to the 320gb HD's.

I only wish that I could schedule a recording on one HTPC and have that recording scheduled on the one that handles most of the recordings.
fventura03 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 10-08-2012, 05:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
ljo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I would be that we'll see sub $70 prices for 128GB good quality SSDs on Black Friday (Crucial, Samsung etc) and maybe even around $100 for a 256GB. The latter are already only $175 on a shell shocker.
ljo000 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 10-08-2012, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fventura03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yup smile.gif almost black friday !!!
fventura03 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 12-10-2013, 04:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fventura03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiddles88 View Post

HA ! Reliable? That PSU won't last very long, and that mobo has no USB 3 or Gigabit Ethernet. For the price, sure, but I'd spend extra for these features.

a year later and all are going strong even with my "unreliable" PSU's. i did end up upgrading each of them to 128gb SSD's a couple weeks after i posted this. it made everything a LOT smoother.
fventura03 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off