No sound in WMC - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-22-2012, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jefejt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It seems that every couple of days I'll fire up WMC and it will start without sound. The little volume box in the upper right corner of the start screen doesn't even appear. A quick restart of the computer solves the issue. Anyone else have this problem?
jefejt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-22-2012, 09:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,607
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Yup. It is an EDID/HDCP handshake issue I believe. Scheduling a daily reboot at an appropriate time of day should help.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-22-2012, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
tootal2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: eureka, mo
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have that problem. i just log off and log back in again to fix it. sometimes i just unplung the hdmi cable and plug it back in.



Quote:
Originally Posted by jefejt View Post

It seems that every couple of days I'll fire up WMC and it will start without sound. The little volume box in the upper right corner of the start screen doesn't even appear. A quick restart of the computer solves the issue. Anyone else have this problem?
tootal2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off