Computers not turning on - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2012, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
sound dropouts's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About a week ago we had a power outage. My server would not restart after the outage (it acted completely if it werent getting power), and I figured it was the motherboard. I put the PSU in my wife's computer to test it and it worked, and my motherboard is 6 years old. So I ordered a new one. However the server still would not turn on. I wondered if it was my power switch, so I disconnected my wife's computer's power switch and tested the server's switch in my wife's computer. Still nothing. I then tried my wife's computer's power switch on the server, and again nothing happened. About ready to give up, I put everything back in my wife's computer.

But now my wife's computer won't turn on. I know that the computer is getting some sort of power because the USB wireless device has a light on.

Any suggestions on how to proceed from here?
sound dropouts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-2012, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
tomandbeth's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The only logical answers (to me anyways) why all this would happen is if you had the PSU plugged in and on while you reconnected it to your wife's computer OR
you didn't get a solid connection with the two PSU to MOBO connectors. TURN THE PSU OFF, then re-connect them. Let's hope you didn't fry SWMBO's MOBO.
tomandbeth is offline  
Old 09-24-2012, 01:23 AM
Advanced Member
lovekeiiy's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I would tried switching the power switches back and make sure their properly seated/connected. It's possible the one got damaged.

Beyond that, stick your nosed next to or in that server and sniff for smoke. You probably got a power surge and something "popped." It'll more than likely have a distinct smoke smell. I've had it happen to me a couple times. Lost two PSUs and a motherboard form power surges.
lovekeiiy is offline  
Old 09-24-2012, 05:06 AM
drtdiver's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
can you post some good clear pictures of the motherboard you may have over looked plugging something in.
drtdiver is online now  
Thread Tools

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off