Finally built my HTPC/gaming hybrid.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For years, I have kept my HTPC and my gaming computers seperate. I was recently running an Athlon x3 455 and a Radeon 6450 for my HTPC. I decided that I wanted to game a little on the projector setup (Skyrim, Torchlight, Guild Wars), although I will keep the uber gaming rig for FPS and hardcore PC gaming.

HTPC parts arrived yesterday, assembled, constructed, installed, done!


All the boxes, awaiting the unpacking!

htpc2_zpsf2a5524f.jpg

The nMedia 6000B. Its a badass case, no question.


htpc3_zpsfd48604e.jpg


MSI mATX 1155 motherboard (Sandy Bridge). Sooooo tiny. Funny, because it has 4 DIMMS, whereas AMD mATX boards usually have only 2. Still, only using 2 anyways (2x4GB).



htpc4_zpsd4bc6c89.jpg


Why did I bother getting such a huge case? LOL!

htpc5_zpsa172d08d.jpg


CoolerMaster Extreme 475 in place. A SUPER quiet power supply...more than enough for a 7770, a 128GB SSD, and a single spinning 500GB HD (5400rpm).

htpc6_zps569c0818.jpg


Everything in, room to spare, power to spare...just need to finish the cable management.

htpc7_zps41dc1656.jpg

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Step 2 of the process was getting a proper lapboard. I avoid controllers like the plague (for obvious reasons), but I needed a viable KB/M solution. It turned out exactly as I had hoped, and only took about 40 minutes!

All the wood cut, edges bevelled, sanded with 80, then 120, then 220 sandpaper:

lapboard1.jpg

One coat of stain (black walnut):

lapboard2.jpg

3 coats of stain, glued together, and pinned wit screws for extra strength!

lapboard3.jpg


I purposely went with a steeper angle than the traditional lapboards, I just felt more comfortable and it gave me more mouse clearance.

All clear-coasted and smooth as silk:

lapboard_zpsed5c31ad.jpg

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Its a good idea to hold motherboards from the edges, static charge and all that.

What cpu and graphics card?
jeffkro is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Never liked the basic Coolermaster PSU's. Old internals and unreliable. A Corsair CX 430v2 would have been better. Still good choices more or less overall. And yes, what CPU and GPU?
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
..and what HSF?

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

Its a good idea to hold motherboards from the edges, static charge and all that.
What cpu and graphics card?

Radeon 7770 for GPU and Intel G860 for the CPU.

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by galileo2000 View Post

..and what HSF?

Stock for now....no OC'ing, temps are 23C in a 19C room idle and 42C under 100% load. I am a stickler for CPU cooling in my gaming PC, but I am adverse to throwing money away for no reason. Stock......for now.

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
A Celeron 540 would have saved a bit more along with an H61 board. The top spec Penitums are rather redundant, so to speak. I hope you have an SSD in there too.
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-22-2012, 11:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiddles88 View Post

A Celeron 540 would have saved a bit more along with an H61 board. The top spec Penitums are rather redundant, so to speak. I hope you have an SSD in there too.
Na, he's good with what he got for gaming.
jeffkro is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-23-2012, 02:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiddles88 View Post

A Celeron 540 would have saved a bit more along with an H61 board. The top spec Penitums are rather redundant, so to speak. I hope you have an SSD in there too.

Yeah, my previous Athlon x3 was fine as well, but I wanted to git up some gaming with this new build (hence the new build in the first place). A G630 would have been the LOWEST CPU I would have possibly entertained.

SSD is a Crucial M4 128GB. On the only SATA-6 port on the MB. Works like money. Crystal marks right where it should be.

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 09-23-2012, 02:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

Na, he's good with what he got for gaming.

Exactly. My previous HTPC was just fine as it was. I wanted to add gaming without making another gaming rig like my main machine. This is the perfect balance. And when the Radeon 8xxx series comes out and i5's drop to $100, I can make it even more powerful with two simple drop-ins. Easy peasy.

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 09-23-2012, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Skyrim may choke on that dual. You're fine for the rest.
Ruiner is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-23-2012, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Favelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

Skyrim may choke on that dual. You're fine for the rest.

Seems fine so far. I turned off AA and AF, most everything is on the highest settings. I don't really go under 30fps, so its pretty smooth right now:

Skyrim.png

In terms of LFE, size does matter!
Favelle is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off