Why doesn't my Total Media Theatre pass HD audio? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 09-25-2012, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
theshadow1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok let me explain my setup. I recently bout a 6770 graphics card to get 3D to work with my 1.4 3D display. The problem i had was that i had a 1.3 receiver that couldn't pass 3D so i went ahead and installed my old ATI 5770 on the second PCI express slot to pass audio to my receiver. I basically got everything to work except that i can't get no DTS-HDMA ot TRUEHD to work through Total Media Theatre and out to my receiver. When i insert a 3D or even 2D blu-ray i get the video to work and i can hear the sound during the menu presentation but no HD audio. If i mess with the settings on my receiver i can get reqular ac3/dolby digital audio but no HD during regular playback. I already set the setting in TMT5 to main primary audio and extended my desktop and enabled the audio in settings to default on the 5770 with no problems. I also verified that all the HD audio formats are supported in the audio properties of the 5770.

Help. What am i missing or doing wrong?

Thanks.
theshadow1234 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 09-25-2012, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Since you have two cards you would have two HDMI Audio Devices in Windows audio properties.
Disable the 6770 and leave only the 5770 enabled and see if it works.
hirent is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 09-25-2012, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
theshadow1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks For the reply. I'll try it when i get home. I thought it could've been a codec issue but i guess we'll rule that out for now.
theshadow1234 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 09-26-2012, 06:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
theshadow1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well i tried doing what you said and it didn't work. I should just go buy me a 1.4 3D ready receiver but i figured i give it one more shot. Last night i ended up staying up late to see if i could get this to work by reinstalling my whole OS and just adding the 6770 first into pci slot #1. I downloaded the ati catalyst drivers 12.8 (latest) and installed the 64 and 32 bit versions of SHark's codecs and configured. Also downloaded ffdshow and all the windows updates. One thing i noticed is that under sound properties for the 6770 there are no supported formats (DTS, DTSHD, TRUEHD, etc) unlike before the reinstall the 5770 had those supported formats in the properties sheet in sound settings but still couldn't get that to pass audio. Should i see those supported formats under the 6770? Also should i enabl crossfiring when i add the 5770?

I guess when i get home tonight i will hook up my HTPC with the 6770 only just to see if i can get HD audio through Total Media Theatre 5. It's a damn shame to be throwing away a perfectly good Onkyo 805 receiver just to upgrade to a 3D ready receiver. Hopefully i can get this to work.

Any ideas or suggestion is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
theshadow1234 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 09-26-2012, 09:15 PM
Senior Member
 
el_kano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It seems strange the HD formats are not listed for the 6770.
I am using a 6670 and had similiar issues playing 3D. Because the AMD 6 series can't output 2 audio streams (although it can do video) you need another output device, either a video card (as you have) or in my case a xonar slim (which I had purchased prior to buying the 6670). This works well for me, I have the DVI from the 6670 going to the input of the xonar and then onto the receiver. The HDMI from the 6670 runs to the TV.

I would try getting the 6770 working on its own before adding the 5770 to the mix. Another option is to go to Nvidia or AMD 7 series, which (depending on the model) support dual audio outputs from one card.
el_kano is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 09-26-2012, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
vladd is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-27-2012, 01:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 75
No expert and just asking the question - is this even possible with a non-compatible receiver, irrespective of the video card used. Thought I read somewhere, might be wrong, that all components in the chain had to be 3D capable.
steelman1991 is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-27-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If your 6770 card has a dvi and hdmi, you could try connecting the dvi output directly to the tv, connecting the hdmi to the receiver, setting the tv as display 1, avr as display 2, and extend the desktop to display 2. Be sure to remove your old card first.
audit13 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-27-2012, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,587
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by theshadow1234 View Post

One thing i noticed is that under sound properties for the 6770 there are no supported formats (DTS, DTSHD, TRUEHD, etc) unlike before the reinstall the 5770 had those supported formats in the properties sheet in sound settings but still couldn't get that to pass audio. Should i see those supported formats under the 6770?
If you tried the 6770 and only had an HDMI cable going to the TV, then the unsupported formats probably wouldn't be displayed
Quote:
Originally Posted by theshadow1234 View Post

Also should i enabl crossfiring when i add the 5770?
No

Also, how are you setting this up? You have a 6670, but there are variations to them. Which one specifically, and does it have both an HDMI and miniDP? If so, go to the display with miniDP -> HDMI adapter and HDMI to receiver

If not, how is your setup connected?
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off