HTPC won't boot - need plan of attack - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
car421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, so my HTPC started acting up - running slow, programs locking up so I shut it down. When I opened the case up I found all the fins of the CPU heat sink clogged with dust. After carefully vacuuming out all the dust I hooked up the HTPC and when I pressed the power button power started cycling to the motherboard. I once again disconnected and checked all the connectons and reconnected with the same results - power would cycle. I changed out the power supply and that took care of the power cycling but now it won't boot up.

I am lucky enough that I have a second HTPC that has the exact same components with the exception of the power supply. I can hear the HD when I try and boot but nothing happens. So I was thinking that I could start with the HD and put it in the other system and see what happens then do the same with the memory. I have a bad feeling that it could be the CPU or motherboard and really would prefer to not swap the CPU because I am concerned with damaging the CPU's.

Anyone have any other suggestions, am I missing something or is this the best plan?
car421 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 10:56 AM
Member
 
drtdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
first make sure everything is seated properly. ram, expansion cards, and all power cables.
drtdiver is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
car421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Checked to make sure everything was snug and still won't boot. Moved HD to the other system and system boots but now is stuck on the "Welcome" screen and the circle spinning.
car421 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
car421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now it has been stuck on "Start up Repair" for about an hour.
car421 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Boot from an Ubuntu Live CD without the HDD connected and see how it runs.
Ruiner is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Looks like the mobo has given up. If you vacuumed up the the dust you may have blown off a capacitor. That or simple age. If a working PSU won't do it, all signs point to the mobo. Is that an Asrock mobo by any chance, and how old?
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
car421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a ASUS Socket 1156/Intel H55/HDMI/A and V and GbE/MATX Motherboard P7H55-M PRO. It is about 15 months old. What is bothering me now is that I hook up the HD to the other system and it will either get stuck on "start up repair" or the Welcome screen.
car421 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
car421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

Boot from an Ubuntu Live CD without the HDD connected and see how it runs.
Not sure how to go about doing that.
car421 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Download an image of Ubuntu Linux and create a boot CD from the iso image. Set up the BIOS to boot from the CD and see if it boots.
captain_video is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-30-2012, 04:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,021
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 595
Try restarting it again?

Use windows recovery from DVD?

You could always remove the hard drive and add it to the other system and copy off the contents you want then reinstall to that hardrive in the same machine fresh. Then put back on the content.

Hard way to do it- but it's what I would do as it is certain to work 100% perfectly. Fresh installs are nice sometimes.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off