HELP! HTPC without receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-02-2012, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MANiaC3173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi! ive been trying to piece together a home theatre for over two weeks now and im getting ever so frustrated and desperate! i need to experience what you people experience! but i dont have the cash mad.gif

ive looked at systems that will cost me near enough £250-£390; when a thought came to my head, and i need to know whether it will work so im hoping someone can help me.


if i was to buy this: Asus 3d Bluray drive

http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/4-/31967955/Asus-Blu-Ray-Rewriter-Black-Retail-Drive/Product.html?_%24ja=tsid:11518%7Ccat:31967955%7Cprd:31967955

for my PC which is connected to my existing 5.1 pc surround sound and i get a player PowerDVD 12 or similar will i be able to experience 5.1 sound even DTS-HD? or will their be some restriction preventing me?


otherwise this is my other solution that will hurt my wallet

Sony STR DH-520 Receiver
http://www.richersounds.com/product/av-receivers/sony/strdh520/sony-strdh520-blk

Speakers
http://www.richersounds.com/product/speaker-packages/pioneer/s-hs100/pion-shs100

Thanks guys
MANiaC3173 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-02-2012, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
^If you can play 5.1 audio to your surround sound system now then you will be able to with your Bluray drive. You need to make sure your existing PC has the CPU/GPU capabilities for 1080p Bluray.

You should be able to find & download some test files and play them. Use XBMC or other free player software. It won't cost you anything. If all is good, then you could go with a BR drive & player software. If you want to save money, buy a read only BR drive.
MANiaC3173 likes this.
DanPackMan is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-02-2012, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MANiaC3173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thanks a lot! helped a lot. is it depending on the software or the hardware for DTS-HD decoding?

Also my CPU is Core2duo E8200 2.66ghz and GPU is a GTX560ti connected to a Samsung es6300 via HDMI
MANiaC3173 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-02-2012, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Most blurays have two audio streams: the HD audio stream and the "core", e.g. DTS-Master Audio and a DTS 5.1 "core". Whatever software player you use should be configured to use the audio stream that is compatible with what you're outputting to, though this usually happens automatically by it reading the EDID and knowing what is supported. Some will even downmix it to stereo if need be.

It should just work.
MANiaC3173 likes this.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-03-2012, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by MANiaC3173 View Post

thanks a lot! helped a lot. is it depending on the software or the hardware for DTS-HD decoding?
Also my CPU is Core2duo E8200 2.66ghz and GPU is a GTX560ti connected to a Samsung es6300 via HDMI

That hardware is plenty good enough.

Don't forget that if playing BR is all you want, then a BR player may be the best value, simplest, and most certain to work satisfactorily solution. If Ripping is in your future, then the HTPC approach makes sense.
MANiaC3173 likes this.
DanPackMan is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-04-2012, 05:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MANiaC3173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thanks! really appreciate all the input
MANiaC3173 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off