OpenELEC: Why did I ever use XBMC on Windows? - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 235 Old 07-12-2013, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Thanks, I have been turning them off each time... I will look for the default part.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 235 Old 08-24-2013, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

Thanks, I have been turning them off each time... I will look for the default part.

unless they are the hard coded ones mad.gif
NODES is offline  
post #213 of 235 Old 08-25-2013, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,548
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post

unless they are the hard coded ones mad.gif
I've not seen any mastered disc include hard subs for anything other than forced subs. I like when they hard code the forced subs actually, but if it's some "other" source where the video was obtained from and it includes hard subs I'd suggest a different source
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #214 of 235 Old 08-26-2013, 10:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post

unless they are the hard coded ones mad.gif

Give an example title. The only ones i have seen hard coded are for sections in non english language.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #215 of 235 Old 09-17-2013, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 186

Anyone else not able to access openelec.tv? I tried two computers and both state Forbidden. One browser states you must log in.


| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #216 of 235 Old 09-17-2013, 03:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Yeah, appears to be offline at the moment.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #217 of 235 Old 09-17-2013, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,548
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Anyone else not able to access openelec.tv? I tried two computers and both state Forbidden. One browser states you must log in.
Yep, 403 forbidden right now. Only the wiki is working
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #218 of 235 Old 09-17-2013, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

Yeah, appears to be offline at the moment.

 

Not the best time to (attempt to) configure your new NUC! :) 


| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #219 of 235 Old 09-17-2013, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Lots of forums are getting hacked recently. No fun for the admins.
DanPackMan is online now  
post #220 of 235 Old 09-20-2013, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 186

Anyone know of an easy sway to restore your XBMC backup to another USB drive? I don't want to duplicate the flash drive since they are different sizes however I'd love to duplicate the XBMC installation/configuration. Using OpenELEC's menu I can backup/restore but it seems so user-friendly I can't control where the files are located...

 

I'd like to install OpenELEC on another flash drive and then restore XBMC's OpenELEC backup to it. Leaving the original flash drive as it. Either keeping it as a backup itself or re-purposing the flash drive. Easy is the key work as I'm not going to break out my Linux geek and start taring :) 


| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #221 of 235 Old 09-20-2013, 09:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 142
I think, you can probably just install it on the new drive like normal, and then just copy the old one over the top.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stanger89 is online now  
post #222 of 235 Old 09-20-2013, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Charles R,

My workflow would be...
1. Update to latest version on existing drive.
2. Copy userdata directory from existing drive to a network share
3. Remove old drive
4. Install new drive/OE
5. Copy userdata from network to the new userdata directory.
DanPackMan is online now  
post #223 of 235 Old 09-20-2013, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 186

The only thing of value (time required to setup) is the Add-on Tvheadend server configuration. Everything else is a couple of minutes top. I'm guessing I could boot off the new installation and insert the original flash drive and copy the OpendELEC backup to the new flash drive (in the correct directory) and restore. I'll poke around via ssh and see what I can figure out. I'm just not sure what data is backed up and where TVheadend server's data is stored.

 

Overall I think a reference of duplicating an installation would be a good thing. In this case I'm changing flash drive sizes so I can't do a mirror image copy.

 

Update: that was easy... the backups are stored in /storage/backup. If it contains Tvheadend server data I should be ready to roll.


| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #224 of 235 Old 09-20-2013, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 186

Regarding the backup issue. It worked like a champ. I did the following...

 

  • Created a backup on the original flash drive (8GB).
  • Inserted only the install flash drive (256MB flash drive I use for installation) and booted.
  • Told OpenELEC I wanted to do a install.
  • Inserted the new flash drive (64GB).
  • Ran the quick install and powered off the NUC.
  • Booted off the new flash drive.
  • Inserted my original flash drive.
  • cp(ed) the backup via ssh from the original flash to the new /storage/backup (you need to do a backup first to have the directory created).
  • Did a restore from inside of XBMC/OpenELEC.
  • Removed the original flash.
  • It rebooted and restored everything.

 

Done! Even my Tvheadend configuration was carried over. Including stations, etc. I haven't played around yet but it appears the backup backs up virtually everything. Although the Filesystem (sizes) aren't overridden.


| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #225 of 235 Old 09-20-2013, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
tmservo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This would be interesting for me if I could get it to support HDHR Prime, but looking through their forum, it appears that's pretty sketchy
tmservo is offline  
post #226 of 235 Old 09-20-2013, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,548
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmservo View Post

This would be interesting for me if I could get it to support HDHR Prime, but looking through their forum, it appears that's pretty sketchy
I've kicked around their forum and several others for this setup info, but I refuse to dig into this just yet. I'd probably need to replace my USB boot drive (8GB) with a 64 GB USB or SSD since it would need live tv buffer space.

Ned Scott from the XBMC forums (wiki editor) has mentioned it working, and so has an OpenELEC forum user. Haven't seen any instructions out there, and I'm not willing to plow through any of it right now
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=123420

Something that might be just as good if you have a WHS or Windows based server would be http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=171216. I believe the 64 bit build works in OpenELEC, but it has the same kind of channel change delay as other PVR addons right now.

Fernetmenta had put some changes together that really improved channel change times, but they were a part of a pull request that never rolled into 12.2 (and hence aren't available in OpenELEC). A mediaportal dev (margro) put those changes into custom builds of 12 and 12.2, but even with these channel changes aren't any faster on OE anyway
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #227 of 235 Old 09-23-2013, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 186

Is anyone using dual (HDMI) displays with their NUC? I'm wondering if I can run one directly to my projector and the other to my receiver. That way I don't have to worry about the video getting messed with... I presume I can't direct the XBMC video/audio out to both HDMI outputs?


| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #228 of 235 Old 09-25-2013, 02:23 PM
Member
 
WylieKylie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dumb OpenELEC/XBMC question of the day: How do I get Netflix on my little box?
WylieKylie is offline  
post #229 of 235 Old 09-25-2013, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,548
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by WylieKylie View Post

Dumb OpenELEC/XBMC question of the day: How do I get Netflix on my little box?
No realistic Netflix in linux. You'll need a Windows build for that
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #230 of 235 Old 09-25-2013, 02:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 142
You could take a look at Bluecop's repository, I haven't looked to see if it supports Netflix but I know it supports Hulu and Amazon, and I know Hulu works on OE via Bluecop's plugins.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stanger89 is online now  
post #231 of 235 Old 09-25-2013, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jawilljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southaven, MS
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

No realistic Netflix in linux. You'll need a Windows build for that

Realistic way to watch Netflix in Linux.

Hardware acceleration even works, at least on my NVidia GPU's

No need for Windows at all.
jawilljr is offline  
post #232 of 235 Old 09-26-2013, 08:02 AM
Member
 
WylieKylie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am absolutely not a Linux guy. OpenELEC is my first foray into this world, so follow-up dumb question: Does OpenELEC have a built in browser, or do I need to install a browser, and then Pipelight?

Assuming I get this to work, how would you browse to this using a standard WMC remote through the XBMC interface?
WylieKylie is offline  
post #233 of 235 Old 09-27-2013, 04:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
If you look at the OpenELEC forum, you can find some threads regarding attempts to add web browser functionality, but it seems like its not ready for prime time. As for adding Pipelight to OE, I haven't seen any attempts yet.

Best option, IMO, for getting Netflix on linux is probably Ubuntu or XBMCbuntu. Piipelight would be easy to install and there are already browsers ready to go. You could launch from XBMC, but remote control will likely still be an issue, or at least require some key-mapping.
DanPackMan is online now  
post #234 of 235 Old 12-11-2013, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,548
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 301
For a nifty and cheap usb for open elec check out the Patriot tab

Just got mine today

Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #235 of 235 Old 12-13-2013, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

For a nifty and cheap usb for open elec check out the Patriot tab

 

I have been using one for quite a while. Compared to a couple of others I tried it's pretty fast. A noticeable difference. Being metal it will match the new NUCs rather nicely.


| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off