Intel HD Graphics Audio Dropouts over HDMI? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > Intel HD Graphics Audio Dropouts over HDMI?

Home Theater Computers

mogulman1's Avatar mogulman1
10:28 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 19
10-17-2012 | Posts: 107
Joined: Jan 2007
I have an i3-3225 with Intel HD 4000 Graphics. Using HDMI to an Onkyo Receiver, then to a Sharp LCD TV.

I noticed that when in Windows, there is a delay when I start playing audio, and when the receiver actually recognizes the audio coming from the PC.

The test sounds in windows won't play, because they are too short, and the audio on the receiver switches before they can actually play. Most built-in windows sounds don't play either.

If I play an MP3 or Wav file, it plays fine. There is just a delay while the receiver recognizes the audio stream and switches mode.

If I use WMC, it plays fine also.

Is there any way of keeping the audio up, or changing a setting so we don't miss some audio like this?

I seem to remember something like this happening with my old ATI HD 5570, but I believe it got better with later ATI drivers.
assassin's Avatar assassin
10:34 PM Liked: 241
post #2 of 19
10-17-2012 | Posts: 12,961
Joined: Jul 2004
Handshake issue. No way to perdict when it will happen and completely related to how your av gear interacts.

Hdmi detective is one pricey solution. Most just deal with it.
mogulman1's Avatar mogulman1
11:50 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 19
10-17-2012 | Posts: 107
Joined: Jan 2007
I actually have an hdmi detective hooked up too.

Maybe I should reconfigure it since I am using a new video card? I had initially set it up with my old ATI card.
tgrinch's Avatar tgrinch
02:49 AM Liked: 17
post #4 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 412
Joined: Mar 2006
I have this same issue with my Rotel pre-pro and my HTPC - as you descibe, it's mainly just windows related sounds. WMC and other playback is fine... I have just lived with it.
mogulman1's Avatar mogulman1
07:01 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 107
Joined: Jan 2007
Got a new MB today. I don't think reconfiguring the Gefen hdmi detective will do anything. The main point of the HDMI detective is to keep the HTPC video card thinking that there is a device hooked up. Which I think it is doing well.

This isn't the problem. The problem is that Windows and specifically the hdmi audio on the Intel hdmi doesn't send the signal quick enough, or my Onkyo takes too long to switch modes when the audio changes.

Is there some way of turning bitstreaming off? Maybe having the PC decode everything would be better?
assassin's Avatar assassin
07:07 PM Liked: 241
post #6 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 12,961
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogulman1 View Post

Which I think it is doing well.

Why do you think it is doing it well?

It should be sending a constant signal to your AV equipment that it is connected even when your HTPC is not. So when you switch back to your HTPC the handshake should already be there and your display should pop up almost instantly.
Toys7505's Avatar Toys7505
07:40 PM Liked: 22
post #7 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 431
Joined: Nov 2007
Have you tried swapping HDMI cables to a "high speed" cable to see if the problem goes away?

Toys
mogulman1's Avatar mogulman1
08:47 PM Liked: 10
post #8 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 107
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Why do you think it is doing it well?
It should be sending a constant signal to your AV equipment that it is connected even when your HTPC is not. So when you switch back to your HTPC the handshake should already be there and your display should pop up almost instantly.

I think it is the other way around. It provides a constant signal to my HTPC, so that when my receiver/tv are off, the HTPC thinks there is always something hooked up. I leave the HTPC on 24/7.
mogulman1's Avatar mogulman1
08:48 PM Liked: 10
post #9 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 107
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys7505 View Post

Have you tried swapping HDMI cables to a "high speed" cable to see if the problem goes away?
Toys

Already using a high speed cable.
assassin's Avatar assassin
08:54 PM Liked: 241
post #10 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 12,961
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogulman1 View Post

I think it is the other way around. It provides a constant signal to my HTPC, so that when my receiver/tv are off, the HTPC thinks there is always something hooked up. I leave the HTPC on 24/7.

I think it provides a constant "HTPC handshake signal" to your AV Receiver and/or HDTV whether your HTPC is connected or not.. So that when your HTPC is sleeping or the input on your AV receiver is changed when you wake it up or turn it back to the HTPC input the receiver doesn't need to "re-handshake" with it because the handshake was never broken.

This is at least how some people have used them that have had issue waking from sleep and have had to restart their HTPCs to get a signal again.

Full Disclosure: I don't use a HDMI detective so I could be off here but this is my belief in how they work from what I have read here and other places.
mogulman1's Avatar mogulman1
09:01 PM Liked: 10
post #11 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 107
Joined: Jan 2007
Yeah. Maybe it can be used that way, but that isn't the normal usage. Normally it is to keep the EDID date going to the pc, when the avr and tv are off or switched to another input.

I'll talk to geffen tomorrow and see if it can be used the other way.
StardogChampion's Avatar StardogChampion
09:08 PM Liked: 148
post #12 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 3,090
Joined: Dec 2007
What is your speaker configuration in Windows and in WMC? I have an Onkyo as well and I vaguely remember having these issues when I had the audio driver and/or WMC set to 5.1. Mine are all set to stereo (2 speakers) and I don't have that issue because it's always in the same mode - PCM - unless the audio is actually DD5.1/DTS/etc. in which case it then switches to Dolby Digital, etc.
tgrinch's Avatar tgrinch
10:11 PM Liked: 17
post #13 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 412
Joined: Mar 2006
Mine is stereo 2.0 for bitstreaming purposes.
Andy_Steb's Avatar Andy_Steb
10:53 PM Liked: 156
post #14 of 19
10-18-2012 | Posts: 1,032
Joined: Jan 2005
I would check if your receiver has a firmware update.

Some receivers are just faster than others at identifying the digital signal.
mogulman1's Avatar mogulman1
09:30 AM Liked: 10
post #15 of 19
10-19-2012 | Posts: 107
Joined: Jan 2007
I double checked with Gefen. I have the HDMI Detective hooked up correctly. Also, tried reprogramming it also. Didn't make a difference in the Audio.

I think this is just the intel HDMI driver, being a little slow. It works fine for regular WAV, WMC, MP3, etc...

Just for really short sounds like Windows Sounds..it doesn't send the signal quick enough...

My receiver is up to the latest firmware, also.
StardogChampion's Avatar StardogChampion
08:30 PM Liked: 148
post #16 of 19
10-19-2012 | Posts: 3,090
Joined: Dec 2007
I've always just figured it's my Onkyo being slow. It did the same thing when I had a cable box and a local commercial would come on switching it from DD5.1 to PCM. The first second of it would be dropped. Same thing when the signal switched back.
mogulman1's Avatar mogulman1
10:00 PM Liked: 10
post #17 of 19
10-19-2012 | Posts: 107
Joined: Jan 2007
Maybe it is just Onkyo. I've had a couple,of different Onkyo receivers. My current one is an NR-809
StardogChampion's Avatar StardogChampion
10:32 PM Liked: 148
post #18 of 19
10-19-2012 | Posts: 3,090
Joined: Dec 2007
Mine's the TX-SR605. It can heat our house in the winter biggrin.gif.
mogulman1's Avatar mogulman1
04:05 PM Liked: 10
post #19 of 19
10-22-2012 | Posts: 107
Joined: Jan 2007
Found this app in another link... Fixed the issue for me...

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1317491/silent-stream-bug
Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3