Windows 8 Pro, full retail version - $39.99 at Staples with coupon - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 66 Old 11-11-2012, 08:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 852
I'm only interested in a liscensed full retail version.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 66 Old 11-11-2012, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I'm only interested in a liscensed full retail version.
You only have two options currently available. You can get the upgrade version or the OEM system builder version. The upgrade can be installed on a bare drive so it's by far the cheaper of the two options.
captain_video is offline  
post #63 of 66 Old 11-11-2012, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
tehowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

The upgrade can be installed on a bare drive...

Is anything required for authentication during installation of Windows 8 Upgrade on a bare drive? Like a Windows 7 DVD?
tehowell is offline  
post #64 of 66 Old 11-11-2012, 08:57 PM
Member
 
fullhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, but I had to change some registry settings to get it to activate on line once it was installed.
fullhorn is offline  
post #65 of 66 Old 11-11-2012, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullhorn View Post

No, but I had to change some registry settings to get it to activate on line once it was installed.
Which ones?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Just as big an idea thief as)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
olyteddy is online now  
post #66 of 66 Old 11-12-2012, 03:03 PM
Member
 
fullhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Which ones?

Oops just one I guess.

1. Run the registry editor (regedit)
2. Find the following key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SOFTWARE \ Microsoft \ windows \ Currentversion \ Setup \ OOBE
3. Change the value for ' MediaBootInstall ' from 1 to 0
4. Open an elevated command prompt (run as admin)
5. Run the following command: slmgr -rearm
6. Reboot
fullhorn is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off