Video card for htpc - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 10-26-2012, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jefejt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm looking to get a video card to update my htpc. What should I look for? How much RAM? Number of video processors? I'm not playing game but will be watching hd video.
jefejt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jefejt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any thoughts on these?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500237

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500237

They are both under $20 after rebate and have HDMI connections. I know nothing about RAM needed, video stream processors or what I'm looking for. Any help? I don't do gaming, just watch TV and Bluray via the HTPC.
jefejt is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Multimediashtick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anything listed as VP4 or VP5 with featureset C or D ought to work.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nvidia_PureVideo#Table_of_PureVideo_.28HD.29_GPUs
Multimediashtick is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jefejt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, I guess they'd be good. Can anyone educate me on video processor streams? RAM needed/used? CUDA cores? So I can compare...
jefejt is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Multimediashtick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The one GB cards work just fine. On board Ram should be 4GB IMO at a min for 3 or 4 tuner use with a dual core cpu [though the unit with the GT430 is a single core 2.8 with 2 GB ram and runs 3 tuners {two record one view} without any issue at all]. I have run the GT430 [asus] and GT520 [zotac] [GT610 is the same as a GT520]. Have looked at the 2GB versions but not seeing a need to do that and they can need a power supply level I do not have at this time. Fanless versions need additional ventalation it seems and the fins can prohibit easy install. Even the GT430 had too wide a fins and would block my only other port hence the zotac in one of my HTPC's [needed to add a giga speed nic].
Multimediashtick is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 125
I've had very good luck with these for 1080p MKVs, live HD TV and other sources (streaming, DVD rips, etc.)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102933

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131338

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got the silent Saphire 6450 with the rebate pretty happy with it so far. I noticed my mpeg2 video looked better with it, but I am a novice and don't really know what I am doing.tongue.gif

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Don't bother with the G210's. They are decrepit and old. HD 4000 graphics are enough in the i3 3225, its as fast as a 6450. Unless you want MadVR - do you OP?
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jefejt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just want hdmi output to my tv and I need a card to do so. If G210 are no good then what?
jefejt is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefejt View Post

I just want hdmi output to my tv and I need a card to do so. If G210 are no good then what?

The two cards that Stardog Champion recommended are pretty good.

Here is an older article about small low end HTPC cards
http://www.anandtech.com/show/3973/nvidias-geforce-gt-430

I have the GT430 mentioned in the article it is about $50
Tong Chia is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sapphire 5450 is all you'll need if there is Micro Center near you you can get one there I got mine on sale and with the mail in rebate paid 20 bucks for it. I got the low profile and silent model it runs hot so directed a small internal fan at it and it runs cool now. I like AMD cards over Nvidia they're easier to install straight forward control and not so buggy.
Dave84 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think my 6450 was like $25 after rebate, surely a better deal than the 5450?

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jefejt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So people recommend a 6450. What makes it better than a gt 210? I don't doubt it is I want to know why
jefejt is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
ser_renely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefejt View Post

So people recommend a 6450. What makes it better than a gt 210? I don't doubt it is I want to know why

I don't really know why, even though I am fairly technical, I just don't know hardware well. I read a bunch of reviews and the 6450 had the best picture in htpc shootouts. I think that is the general consensus? for cards around this price range(and better cards don't really do much better if at all)

A lot of things are driver related and usually a mild war between nvidia and ATI. I bought ATI bc from what I read at the time it was better at true 24p and overall picture quality. There are benefits and drawbacks to each company. I don't know anything about the gt210, sorry. I googled 6450 htpc reviews and that got me mildly educated.

If you have decent A/V equipment and are a bit of an 'phile you definitely need a card.

I am an nvidia shareholder, but own two ATI cards....go figure.

B&W cm5
Pioneer Elite SC-27
Panasonic 50" GT50
HTPC - i5, ATI 7790
Crappy Klipsch sub
ser_renely is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 10-27-2012, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 61
The 210 is much weaker than the 5450/6450, and it will not bitstream HD audio, if that is important to you.
jdcrox is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 10-28-2012, 03:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I bought this one a couple months ago for $14.99 on sale & after a $25 rebate.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127584

I was experiencing the 29/59 bug in WMC7 when watching some older SD OTA programs and an HD 6450 was supposed to fix this & it did. I just waited for one to go on sale & so far it works for me & no complaints. It does have a fan but my HTPC is hidden in the corner so I don't hear it, and I think the PSU fan is louder anyway but it's difficult to determine at this point in time.
Mike99 is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 10-28-2012, 08:48 PM
Member
 
grumbledook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiddles88 View Post

Don't bother with the G210's. They are decrepit and old. HD 4000 graphics are enough in the i3 3225, its as fast as a 6450. Unless you want MadVR - do you OP?

I had a G210 that I used again while waiting for a lp 7750 to be released. It died so I tried used the integrated graphics on my intel sandy bridge g850 cpu. The HD1000(Think it is that, less than 2000 atleast) was faster to my surprise.
grumbledook is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off