Windows 8 and mediacenter questions - no whining - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 35 Old 01-30-2013, 06:56 PM
Member
 
victor M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

I watch live TV (in fact that's going to be pretty much its only purpose) on an Acer Revo 3610 running Win8. It works fine in either WMC or QuickTV (the HDHomeRun app program). I recently dropped ShoTime so I don't need the 'protected path' to watch copy once programs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo0sic View Post

We do watch live TV/recorded tv in mediacenter and that is fine. Most live tv/recorded tv is watched on xbox extenders in other rooms. When we're watching movies, we're watching them on the Win8 box.

Thanks for the information. You guys are making it easier for me to dump my Tivo HD for a nice built HTPC.
victor M is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 35 Old 01-30-2013, 07:53 PM
Member
 
rsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The latest update to Media Browser does offer Windows 8 compatibility. That was the deal breaker for me and I ended up reverting back to Windows 7. Now that it's compatible I'm trying to decide if/why to upgrade again. So far I haven't, but may some day if given a compelling reason.

I DO plan on getting a Microsoft Surface Pro and using it to access my media library wirelessly in a bedroom, but it obviously wouldn't be my primary HTPC.

-R

rsinclair is offline  
post #33 of 35 Old 06-24-2013, 10:03 AM
Member
 
WaltN46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I gave up on Hauppauge fixing the Windows 8 Media center issue with Colossus. If you are having this issue, you can look into NextPVR, which is available free or for a donation. It's a bit quirky to get setup, but so far it's worked very well for me using Colossus. It has a guide similar to WMC, and recording is just as easy. It stores its recorded files as .TS files (same as WinTV 7), not the Microsoft specific ones recorded by WMC. If anyone is interested, I have a "guide" on setting it up for Colossus. I will post that here on request.
WaltN46 is offline  
post #34 of 35 Old 06-25-2013, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Or better yet, just use Windows 7 for MC. Pretty much the stock, correct answer for almost any MC issue caused by Win8 (and there's a lot of them).
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #35 of 35 Old 06-25-2013, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsinclair View Post

The latest update to Media Browser does offer Windows 8 compatibility. That was the deal breaker for me and I ended up reverting back to Windows 7. Now that it's compatible I'm trying to decide if/why to upgrade again. So far I haven't, but may some day if given a compelling reason.

I DO plan on getting a Microsoft Surface Pro and using it to access my media library wirelessly in a bedroom, but it obviously wouldn't be my primary HTPC.

-R

I have found no compelling reason right now to upgrade either. All my PC's work great on Win7. I know that there's improvements in drive pooling and the like in Win8 but everything I need to do works very well in Win7 so why bother?

Sammy2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off