Win 8 HD audio bitstreaming broken - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 10-27-2012, 11:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Was able to bitstream HD audio without issues in Win 7. Clean install of Win 8 and now it doesn't recognize my denon amp as being able to bitstream hd audio formats.

k4PKH.jpg
ymarker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Attached is complete the moninfo / EDID info

moninfo.txt 8k .txt file

The relevant parts:
Monitor Asset Manager Report, generated 10/28/2012

CE audio data (formats supported)
LPCM 8-channel, 16/20/24 bit depths at 32/44/48/88/96/176/192 kHz
DTS 6-channel, 1536k max. bit rate at 44/48/88/96 kHz
AC-3 6-channel, 640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz
DTS-HD 8-channel, 16-bit at 44/48/88/96/176/192 kHz
DD+ 8-channel at 44/48 kHz
DVD-A 6-channel at 44/48/88/96/176/192 kHz
DVD-A 8-channel at 44/48/88/96 kHz
Attached Files
File Type: txt moninfo.txt (7.7 KB, 9 views)
ymarker is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 11:28 AM
Member
 
johnzm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i also am having the same issue, and it shows the same supported formats

i dont know where to get the EDID info, but i am using a projector


basic setup

nvidia GT520
marantz AV7005 processor
panasonic ae4000 projector.


hope there is an easy solution to this.

23162348.jpg
johnzm is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 12:08 PM
Member
 
jdmag00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Townsend, MA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Works fine for me w/xbmc and 5450 Yamaha reciever.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
jdmag00 is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 12:51 PM
Member
 
johnzm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
can you post a picture of the page withthe avr properties?

i wonder if its a denon/marantz problem?
johnzm is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I wonder if it is the old EDID problem (from the ATI 5000 series) all over again...
ymarker is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

I wonder if it is the old EDID problem (from the ATI 5000 series) all over again...
johnzm is running an NVidia GT520.

You can try an EDID override but I can't see anything in your EDID capture that would indicate you need one (except maybe the missing TrueHD entry). The requisite LPCM 8channel entry is there.

Edit: You don't mention which video card you are using but it looks like both of you are using in box Windows 8 drivers. Try downloading drivers from the manufacturer (NVidia/ATI).
vladd is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 08:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Like vladd says, it looks like you're using W8 drivers. I have no issues with W8 and my DENON AVR but can't test with an AMD card right now.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Actually not using ati/nvidia - just plain old intel hd 3000
ymarker is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 08:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 87
A driver problem then. Are you using Intel (not Microsoft) W8 drivers for SB?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

A driver problem then. Are you using Intel (not Microsoft) W8 drivers for SB?

Just using stock win 8 drivers. Will try intel
ymarker is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Why are people using Win 8 on HTPC's? It just makes no sense.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 08:24 PM
Member
 
johnzm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For the previous poster, dont diss it until you try it for awhile. i am very happy (for numerous reasons) with my descision to upgrade.

as far as EDID i have not bothered to check mine yet. maybe one of you can give me a quick way to do this..

and as far as drivers, windows looks to have installed the real deal nvidia drivers, with the toolbox and everything. i can try to update them tomorrow night.
johnzm is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Tulli - thank you so much. Fixed!!!

nMPSR.jpg

Finally the blue light is on. Bitstreaming works on. Apparently the stock win 8 drivers for intel on board is borked. Just download the latest win 8 drivers from intel (dont' use stock win 8 drivers).> for others that are stuck.
ymarker is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
mo0sic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewOrlnsDukie View Post

Why are people using Win 8 on HTPC's? It just makes no sense.

Why are you whining about win8? Go play in the win7 threads.
mo0sic is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo0sic View Post

Why are you whining about win8? Go play in the win7 threads.

OK. Why are YOU using Win8 in your HTPC?

I'll hang up and listen.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #17 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnzm View Post

and as far as drivers, windows looks to have installed the real deal nvidia drivers, with the toolbox and everything. i can try to update them tomorrow night.
The inbox drivers do not support bitstreaming even though the are signed by NVidia. (At least I have never seen it to date.)

Download the drivers direct from NVidia. If that doesn't solve the issue, we can look into the EDID then.

RE use of Win8 for an HTPC: Not the thread for this discussion. There are at least 2 other threads for it on the first page of the the HTPC forum.
vladd is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

Tulli - thank you so much. Fixed!!!
norespect-full.jpg
vladd is offline  
post #19 of 42 Old 10-28-2012, 10:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Vladd thanks for pointing us in the right direction!
ymarker is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 06:56 AM
Member
 
johnzm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
69764312.jpg

driver update fixed me here as well!

very awesome i cannot wait to try it out tonight!
johnzm is offline  
post #21 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Yeh, so why ARE people running 8 on a dedicated HTPC? There is absolutely NOTHING in Media Center in 8 than warrants it, and many useful 7MC apps no longer work in 8MC.

I have a perfectly working 7MC that runs everything I want. Why would I want to go to all the pain of upgrading to find things are broken. If MS had given 8MC some love and actually added some new features, I could possibly understand it.

Odd. Really, really, odd.
tman247 is online now  
post #22 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tman247 View Post

Odd. Really, really, odd.

even more odd is those that continue to preach 'I am happy with 7 - 8 is useless' but feel the need to post in every thread that is entirely about 8
love the drama though, please continue.
brijenjas likes this.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #23 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 08:15 AM
Member
 
johnzm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

even more odd is those that continue to preach 'I am happy with 7 - 8 is useless' but feel the need to post in every thread that is entirely about 8
love the drama though, please continue.


i am not a fan of the drama :-P these people act like theres only one way to skin a cat, and apparently that is the WMC way, which i havent ever used in all my years of having a htpc
johnzm is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by tman247 View Post

Yeh, so why ARE people running 8 on a dedicated HTPC? There is absolutely NOTHING in Media Center in 8 than warrants it, and many useful 7MC apps no longer work in 8MC.
I have a perfectly working 7MC that runs everything I want. Why would I want to go to all the pain of upgrading to find things are broken. If MS had given 8MC some love and actually added some new features, I could possibly understand it.
Odd. Really, really, odd.

Because a lot of us do not use Media Center? Win8 rocks!
almostinsane is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,222
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 558 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnzm View Post

i am not a fan of the drama :-P these people act like theres only one way to skin a cat, and apparently that is the WMC way, which i havent ever used in all my years of having a htpc
But there is only one way. I'd love to dump MS and WMC altogether, but DVRing protected cable tv content is impossible without it. If you have another solution, I'm all ears. In fact I see no use for HTPC at all if it's not for cable tv.
mdavej is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctviggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post

Because a lot of us do not use Media Center? Win8 rocks!

Why would you want to upgrade to Win8 when Win7 works well? The tile system seems useless to me.

Bob
ctviggen is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctviggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

But there is only one way. I'd love to dump MS and WMC altogether, but DVRing protected cable tv content is impossible without it. If you have another solution, I'm all ears. In fact I see no use for HTPC at all if it's not for cable tv.

I'd also like something other than WMC, but I run TV through HD homerun and WMC.

Bob
ctviggen is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 09:52 AM
Member
 
johnzm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
if you have a cablecard thingie, then maybe you are stuck to one solution. luckily for many of us, that isint the case wink.gif ive run everything from linuxmce to xbmc over xp as my htpc, and wmc lasted about 10 seconds in my configuration before i never opened it again.

please guys be aware that not al of us use our htpc to watch tv. and because of that, we have much more flexibility in our final build.

and to add to that, i have ABSOLUTELY ZERO COMPLAINTS about going to windows 8. in many ways in MY SETUP it has made things much smoother and more user friendly for the wife. she actually flipped the whole system on, and found a movie without even asking me one question.
brijenjas likes this.
johnzm is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 10-29-2012, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

even more odd is those that continue to preach 'I am happy with 7 - 8 is useless' but feel the need to post in every thread that is entirely about 8
Agreed. The Win7/Win8 discussion has absolutely no relevance in this thread. The same problem would (and dows) exist in Win7 and the same fix would be (and is) needed.
vladd is offline  
post #30 of 42 Old 10-30-2012, 12:05 PM
erc
Member
 
erc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same problem with bitstreaming. HD4000 graphics, Denon AVR, Windows 8. If I remember correctly, the latest drivers are quite new; I was hoping they'd solve the problem but no joy.

As for WHY I chose Windows 8?
  1. I wouldn't personally want to use the UI-formerly-known-as-Metro on my desktop work computer, but I think it works well for HTPC use. The large UI elements are optimized for touch, and are also easy to view on a TV from across the room. Right now there aren't a ton of apps that I find useful, but I'm sure that'll change with time. The Netflix app is great, a nice replacement for the WMC Netflix application. Hulu Plus is good too. I'm hoping that Google eventually releases something nice for Gmail and Google Calendar.
  2. Storage Spaces. My HTPC stores all of my content locally, on 9+ TB of storage. You can use Storage Spaces to group together USB drives, SCSI drives, SSDs, multiple HDDs, etc so that the OS sees it all as one large storage pool. It also handles data redundancy so that drive failure won't result in data loss.
  3. Boot times, both cold boot and from hibernation are quite a bit faster than Windows 7.
erc is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off