Need assistance with current PC with PowerDVD 11 Bluray playback - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 10-30-2012, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ostieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

This is my first post at AVS and I'm new at all this HTPC stuff. I've been searching the forum for a couple of days now but I can't get my finger on what is going on with my two PCs, regarding Bluray playback. Here's some background:

It all started a year ago when I tried to put to good work my girlfriend's PC based on a G33/Celeron 430 2.2GHz with Vista x32 by adding a Sapphire HD6450, Bluray drive and HDCP-compliant monitor. That should be allowing us to watch Bluray and surf the web in the bedroom, the discrete video card taking care of Flash and video decoding, offloading the CPU. Tried TMT5 at first, but after suffering continuous stuttering, I've settled for Power DVD11.2024 Ultra since the stuttering was less offending.

After playing with multiple software updates/patches (I'm afraid to try patching Power DVD after reading reports that it's worst after), I'm not satisfied. While searching what could be done to get ride of all the stuttering for good, I started to look into AMD's Catalyst GPU usage as well as GPU-Z's GPU load values. Both are at zero when a Bluray is playing, while the poor CPU is running between 25 to 50% usage. Checking or un-checking Hardware Acceleration in Power DVD makes no change into the load values.

One could says that it is specific to that build, but I have the exact same issue (minus the high load value on the CPU) on my own PC which is made of Win 7 x-64, i5-3350P, HD6850 but same Power DVD.

I don't know if it's me that is setting my expectations too high or doesn't understand how it works, but I'm not expecting Bluray stuttering after investing in hardware and software that should work flawlessly at basic playback task.

Any help this community can provide is appreciated.
ostieca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 10-30-2012, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 29
update the drivers?
RonAlam is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 10-30-2012, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Actually that sounds about right. That Celeron is stupid slow, a $50 Celeron G540 (the new rejigged Celeron's) is at least two times faster. Just because the GPU is in use doesn't mean the CPU just twiddles its thumbs.
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 10-30-2012, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiddles88 View Post

Actually that sounds about right. That Celeron is stupid slow, a $50 Celeron G540 (the new rejigged Celeron's) is at least two times faster. Just because the GPU is in use doesn't mean the CPU just twiddles its thumbs.
Did you miss this part?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ostieca View Post

One could says that it is specific to that build, but I have the exact same issue (minus the high load value on the CPU) on my own PC which is made of Win 7 x-64, i5-3350P, HD6850 but same Power DVD.

Drivers are a good place to start.
RonAlam likes this.
vladd is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-09-2012, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ostieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After taking a good fight with Windows to remove all previous drivers on my PC, I was able to install the Catalyst 12.10 version. Looks like it took care of the stuttering. GPU load is still at zero, so I guess that's because the sensor doesn't apply to video playback. When resolution is set at 1920*1080p, the quality is horrible. Any lower resolution is fine tho, so it looks like it's triggering some processing in the TV, degrading the quality. The only setting I could find in the TV is DNR, which is already set at off. Oh well...

I'll do the same in my girlfriend PC and will report.

Thanks for the help so far.
ostieca is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-09-2012, 04:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 27,221
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiddles88 View Post

That Celeron is stupid slow.

Lol

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-09-2012, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ostieca View Post

When resolution is set at 1920*1080p, the quality is horrible. Any lower resolution is fine tho, so it looks like it's triggering some processing in the TV, degrading the quality.
In Catalyst Control Center (or "AMD Vision Engine Control Center" as they call it now), you may need to play around with the pixel format setting. It will be located under "My Digital Flat Panels" and will be the last option in the sub menu.
vladd is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-19-2013, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdunnill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiddles88 View Post

That Celeron is stupid slow....
I have smooth Blu-ray playback on a Dell Dimension 3100 with Windows 8 x64, PowerDVD 8 and a 6450 PCIe-x1 card. Admittedly, the same machine can't handle PowerDVD 12 or TMT 5, but I'm wondering if these products have any features that make their demanding requirements worthwhile?

Blu-ray: 50+
HD-DVD: 23
DVD: 600+ and lost count
rdunnill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off