Mfusick's How to build an affordable 30TB Flexraid media server: Information Requested.! - Page 123 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3661 of 3667 Old 07-10-2014, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UUronl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
You are talking about unraid ? Or something more advanced?
Nope. Just Linux software raid on Ubuntu. Using mdadm via command line or disk utility.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
UUronl is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3662 of 3667 Old Yesterday, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,976
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I'm Linux noob myself, more a windows guy. It just seems most compatible with all the things I do. I install stuff to my server and use it for more than just feeding movies.
Mfusick is online now  
post #3663 of 3667 Old Yesterday, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Get two hardware cards, one as a backup, and be done with it [emoji4]


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
DotJun is offline  
post #3664 of 3667 Old Yesterday, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
techmattr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 167
techmattr is offline  
post #3665 of 3667 Old Yesterday, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by UUronl View Post
Nope. Just Linux software raid on Ubuntu. Using mdadm via command line or disk utility.
Which type of raid do you run? Flexraid is probably the most popular choice amongst this forum which is quite similar to raid 4 but with the option for multiple parity drives and it runs atop windows

The only thing about a linux server that keeps it from the unwashed masses is that it always seems you have to know *everything* before you can do *anything*

-fstab, don't use /dev/sda, etc remember to use the uuid of each drive, alright now where do I find that, alright now how do I edit the fstab again? Right, vim, wait vim isn't there, ok maybe nano then. That works, how do I save again?
-Ok now I'm going to use mdadm and create a software raid. Which type of raid? Ok I have raid 4 with a parity disk created and my array is online. Let me just add my content. Why can't I share my array? Right, need to go install samba. Ok, now I've shared it, why can't anyone read/write?
-Ok, permissions setup . . . It just keeps on keeping on
-Then come to find out Windows to Windows SMB sharing is lickety split, easily top 80MB/s on lan. Something's fishy with my windows to linux write speeds. What should I do? . . .
-Oh right, nobody updates the open source samba stack anymore so just use nfs. Wait I can't mount and explore nfs or begin to set it up, and there are more permissions which I barely understood the first time around. Ok, then CIFS. . .

Even for someone who knows their way around linux, it's kind of a pain to deal with. Especially for a file server. I like it for an HTPC, a laptop, even a repurposed old desktop, but a server is not easy to manage unless you are truly motivated
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #3666 of 3667 Old Yesterday, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UUronl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post
Which type of raid do you run? Flexraid is probably the most popular choice amongst this forum which is quite similar to raid 4 but with the option for multiple parity drives and it runs atop windows

The only thing about a linux server that keeps it from the unwashed masses is that it always seems you have to know *everything* before you can do *anything*

-fstab, don't use /dev/sda, etc remember to use the uuid of each drive, alright now where do I find that, alright now how do I edit the fstab again? Right, vim, wait vim isn't there, ok maybe nano then. That works, how do I save again?
-Ok now I'm going to use mdadm and create a software raid. Which type of raid? Ok I have raid 4 with a parity disk created and my array is online. Let me just add my content. Why can't I share my array? Right, need to go install samba. Ok, now I've shared it, why can't anyone read/write?
-Ok, permissions setup . . . It just keeps on keeping on
-Then come to find out Windows to Windows SMB sharing is lickety split, easily top 80MB/s on lan. Something's fishy with my windows to linux write speeds. What should I do? . . .
-Oh right, nobody updates the open source samba stack anymore so just use nfs. Wait I can't mount and explore nfs or begin to set it up, and there are more permissions which I barely understood the first time around. Ok, then CIFS. . .

Even for someone who knows their way around linux, it's kind of a pain to deal with. Especially for a file server. I like it for an HTPC, a laptop, even a repurposed old desktop, but a server is not easy to manage unless you are truly motivated
I have a RAID 5 array, 5x2TB drives. It's dead simple imo, there are many easy tutorials on the Internet.

I can write to it over the network at speeds approaching 900Mbps so it's more than adequate.

Again, I think the ease with which you can recover from any kind of failure is the key benefit. That and cost. You can repurpose old hardware for your NAS that would otherwise collect dust.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
UUronl is online now  
post #3667 of 3667 Old Today, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,976
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by techmattr View Post
This has Mfusick written all over it: http://www.amazon.com/HighPoint-Rock.../dp/B00C7JNPSQ
I think I might do something different.

I might install the IBM card into my desktop workstation and run 8 drives off it. I am trying to decide if I want to run hardware raid or something else. I'd like some type of drive failure support.

My thinking was move all my TV shows off my server and onto my workstation and just maintain and store those libraries on my PC since they get altered and moved around the most anyways. Movies are much more stagnant.

That would free up about 6TB+ of room for more movies on my server and I would have plenty of space for the rest of the year I think.

Thoughts?

My desktop has a 1000 watt PSU and holds 14HDD's in my case. Someone talk to me about what the IBM card can do ? hows to set it up? I guess I could run FLexraid on my desktop too- but faster hardware raid might be appreciated here. I'm ok with using 8 drives to get 50% space if it is 300% faster.

Thoughts?

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Flexraid , Intel Core I5 4670k 3 4ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Intel Core I3 4130 3 4 3 Fclga 1150 Processor Bx80646i34130 , Asrock , Asrock Z87m Extreme4 Lga1150 Intel Z87 Chipset Ddr3 Quad Crossfirex Quad Sli Sata3 Usb3 0 Microatx M , Asus , Asus Us , Asus Computer , Asus Components , Norco , Asus Computer International Direct , Flexraid Raid F , Seagate , Seagate Hard Drives , Seagate Freeagent Theater 1080p Hd Media Player Stcea201 Rk , Hitachi , Dell , Windows 7 Vista Xp Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver , Hp Oem Window Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver For Windows7 Vista Xp Home Pr , Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desk
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off