Mfusick's How to build an affordable 30TB Flexraid media server: Information Requested.! - Page 127 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3781 of 3800 Old 08-11-2014, 02:20 PM
Newbie
 
Wootable's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

How come one is cheaper ?
Two different sellers. It's not uncommon with sellers requesting different prices for products.
Wootable is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3782 of 3800 Old 08-13-2014, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,405
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wootable View Post
Two different sellers. It's not uncommon with sellers requesting different prices for products.
My concern was with one it said "blank" and I don't want to get a blank board that doesn't work. $20 seemed like a big difference in price for only a $30 item.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3783 of 3800 Old 08-14-2014, 10:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oconomowoc, WI
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I ordered the cheaper one back in May. It was fully functional. Works great.
SBiggens is offline  
post #3784 of 3800 Old 08-14-2014, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,405
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Thanks! I bought it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3785 of 3800 Old 08-14-2014, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oconomowoc, WI
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
cool, Never saw what you decided on...Did you go with another Norco?
SBiggens is offline  
post #3786 of 3800 Old 08-14-2014, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,405
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 772
I bought it the other day, figured I would pull the trigger for only $35. Amazon had good return policy. I have a case here I might try and use for a bit and experiment with, if I like this solution I'll grab another NORCO.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3787 of 3800 Old 08-25-2014, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I have not yet tried out Flexraid because I'm waiting until I can afford a parity drive. I currently have four, 3Tb drives in my server. My hope was to eventually buy a 4Tb for parity, so that in the future I could get more 4Tb drives for storage.

Last week, Cheapskate.com mentioned a 4Tb Samsung for $129 with coupon code. One of the reader comments said: " 3+ TB issue is related to a motherboard's UEFI being compatible (BIOS never is)"

Is this accurate? If so, I won't be getting any 4Tb drives anytime soon. My server's MB is around 6 years old I think, and I'm fairly certain it is not UEFI.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
leebo is offline  
post #3788 of 3800 Old 08-25-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 295
If your motherboard can do 3 then it can also do 4

Most of the problems with greater than 2TB drives (which was the actual size problem, not 3) was related to someone buying it for an all-in-one disk for their computer. Legacy boards couldn't boot from GPT disks, but a ton of them had zero issue loading it as a GPT data drive (like you'll be doing with flexraid). This is first hand experience as I had 3TB data drives running on my old LGA 775 dual core setup
leebo and |Tch0rT| like this.
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #3789 of 3800 Old 08-26-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
leebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Btw, I got my $20 rebate card on that Tiger Direct Seagate drive this week.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Mfusick likes this.
leebo is offline  
post #3790 of 3800 Old 08-26-2014, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,405
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post
If your motherboard can do 3 then it can also do 4

Most of the problems with greater than 2TB drives (which was the actual size problem, not 3) was related to someone buying it for an all-in-one disk for their computer. Legacy boards couldn't boot from GPT disks, but a ton of them had zero issue loading it as a GPT data drive (like you'll be doing with flexraid). This is first hand experience as I had 3TB data drives running on my old LGA 775 dual core setup
This.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3791 of 3800 Old Yesterday, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
marco6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Can anyone please provide the right drivers for windows server 2011. The device seems to be working but no driver is installing.
marco6 is offline  
post #3792 of 3800 Old Yesterday, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco6 View Post
Can anyone please provide the right drivers for windows server 2011. The device seems to be working but no driver is installing.
Driver for what?
Ken.F is offline  
post #3793 of 3800 Old Yesterday, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
marco6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Damn im sorry. For the ibm card.
marco6 is offline  
post #3794 of 3800 Old Yesterday, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco6 View Post
Damn im sorry. For the ibm card.
Which IBM card?
Ken.F is offline  
post #3795 of 3800 Old Yesterday, 04:17 PM
Newbie
 
marco6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The IBM sas9220-8i. I flashed it and its working on an old pc but when i put the card in my server nothing gets picked up.
marco6 is offline  
post #3796 of 3800 Old Yesterday, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco6 View Post
The IBM sas9220-8i. I flashed it and its working on an old pc but when i put the card in my server nothing gets picked up.
Do you recall which version of the firmware you flashed?

WHS2011 should work fine with the W7/WS2008 driver

http://www.lsi.com/support/pages/dow...SI+SAS+9211-8i
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #3797 of 3800 Old Yesterday, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco6 View Post
The IBM sas9220-8i. I flashed it and its working on an old pc but when i put the card in my server nothing gets picked up.
Also, I'm guessing you mean the IBM m1015? You flashed it to LSI firmware like recommended in this lengthy thread?

If so you probably flashed an m1015 to LSI 9211-8i

If not then ignore my above link
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #3798 of 3800 Old Yesterday, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco6 View Post
The IBM sas9220-8i. I flashed it and its working on an old pc but when i put the card in my server nothing gets picked up.
Does it show up in device manager at all?

What kind of motherboard do you have? Any other PCIe devices plugged in also?

Andy_Steb is online now  
post #3799 of 3800 Old Yesterday, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
marco6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I moved it to another port and now it shows up as LSI adapter, sas2008 falcon but whne i add drives to it nothing happens.
marco6 is offline  
post #3800 of 3800 Old Today, 06:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,405
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Initialize the drive in disk manager. Right click my computer, manage... Dsk mgmt.

You see the raw drive there ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Flexraid , Intel Core I5 4670k 3 4ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Intel Core I3 4130 3 4 3 Fclga 1150 Processor Bx80646i34130 , Asrock , Asrock Z87m Extreme4 Lga1150 Intel Z87 Chipset Ddr3 Quad Crossfirex Quad Sli Sata3 Usb3 0 Microatx M , Asus , Asus Us , Asus Computer , Asus Components , Norco , Asus Computer International Direct , Flexraid Raid F , Seagate , Seagate Hard Drives , Seagate Freeagent Theater 1080p Hd Media Player Stcea201 Rk , Hitachi , Dell , Windows 7 Vista Xp Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver , Hp Oem Window Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver For Windows7 Vista Xp Home Pr , Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desk
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off