Mfusick's How to build an affordable 30TB Flexraid media server: Information Requested.! - Page 130 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3871 of 3899 Old 10-16-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuzy View Post
IPMI makes it to the top of my list as being an absolute must. The ability to start/stop/make changes to my server from anywhere is invaluable to me.
Also having a working SMBus gives you enclosure management support with a correct chassis if you use one. Not some dodgy pin-taping solution with a desktop motherboard.

With LSI controllers flashed to their generic form, ECC RAM, the whole setup is practically enterprise certified for almost no increase in price. Why would you not want that???

[ADDED] There's a good reason I underlined "only".
Disclosure: I work as a SAN storage engineer during the day, experimenting with x86 storages at night
IPMI, ECC RAM, dual LAN etc. ... hardly come at the top of everybody's list (perhaps). Somehow server professionals gather in this type of threads and recommend products from professional viewpoint.

And any recommedations for an inexpensive 4 x SATA controller PCIe 2.0 x4 card that does not degrade the quality of your system?
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3872 of 3899 Old 10-16-2014, 11:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I had practically the same viewpoint as you did when I started as a PC enthusiast in my early teen years; dissing the stringent requirement by enterprise environment. These days I just don't have as much free time doing low level problem-solving. I expect hardware side of things to be fairly trouble-free, then just focus on the software stack. Not having to penny scrape with a good salary also helps I guess.
This is why the whole SM X10SL7-F, 2x M1015/H310/H200, 24-bay setup is so attractive. A rock-solid platform for almost no extra cost. You can leave home with peace of mind knowing whatever happens it probably won't be the hardware, then you troubleshoot it remotely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
And any recommendations for an inexpensive 4 x SATA controller PCIe 2.0 x4 card that does not degrade the quality of your system?
You meant 8x ports right? Still haven't found anything cheaper than H200/H310 after M1015 went up in price. The full conversion process for Dell cards is a fair bit longer in steps. I guess that's why ppl haven't purchased much of them, and thus keeping price low

Last edited by wuzy; 10-16-2014 at 11:54 PM.
wuzy is online now  
post #3873 of 3899 Old 10-17-2014, 06:01 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuzy View Post
I had practically the same viewpoint as you did when I started as a PC enthusiast in my early teen years; dissing the stringent requirement by enterprise environment. These days I just don't have as much free time doing low level problem-solving. I expect hardware side of things to be fairly trouble-free, then just focus on the software stack. Not having to penny scrape with a good salary also helps I guess.
This is why the whole SM X10SL7-F, 2x M1015/H310/H200, 24-bay setup is so attractive. A rock-solid platform for almost no extra cost. You can leave home with peace of mind knowing whatever happens it probably won't be the hardware, then you troubleshoot it remotely.



You meant 8x ports right? Still haven't found anything cheaper than H200/H310 after M1015 went up in price. The full conversion process for Dell cards is a fair bit longer in steps. I guess that's why ppl haven't purchased much of them, and thus keeping price low
For those who want 3 x LSI 8-port SAS controller + IPMI (and dual LAN, ECC), then X10SL7-F may come first among a bunch of LGA1150 server motherboards (because it's the cheapest). But that's it.

For me, the lack of expansion slots for other devices (mainly TV tuners) is a huge no-go. Requiring ECC RAM is pretty bad because I can't reuse non-ECC RAM from other systems. Your top priority is not necessarily other people's.

Last edited by renethx; 10-17-2014 at 05:56 PM.
renethx is offline  
post #3874 of 3899 Old 10-17-2014, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
shftup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys, I have a small problem, hopefully someone can help me out: I moved out gear into a new case...

I need to re create my Raid_F with Pooling after I moved the old gear into a new case, when I did this, I didnt delete Raid-F array , but for some dumb reason I uninstalled raid-f, etc...was a late night.

So, I have installed everything in the new case, I had 2 4 TB PPU HDDS and 6 DDru.....now the drives do show up disk manager, but not in windows explorer. I would like to install the latest Raid-F, put my original license back in and re-create my Raid-F array.

What do I need to do so that the HHD's shows up in window explorer?

thank you
S
shftup is offline  
post #3875 of 3899 Old 10-17-2014, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by shftup View Post
Hi guys, I have a small problem, hopefully someone can help me out: I moved out gear into a new case...

I need to re create my Raid_F with Pooling after I moved the old gear into a new case, when I did this, I didnt delete Raid-F array , but for some dumb reason I uninstalled raid-f, etc...was a late night.

So, I have installed everything in the new case, I had 2 4 TB PPU HDDS and 6 DDru.....now the drives do show up disk manager, but not in windows explorer. I would like to install the latest Raid-F, put my original license back in and re-create my Raid-F array.

What do I need to do so that the HHD's shows up in window explorer?

thank you
S
Click the start button, type Manage and hit enter. Go to Disk Management. For each of the HDDs that were in the pool, right click and select Change Drive Letter and Paths. Delete the path, then then go back in the same way and add a drive letter.
Ken.F is offline  
post #3876 of 3899 Old 10-17-2014, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
shftup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
Click the start button, type Manage and hit enter. Go to Disk Management. For each of the HDDs that were in the pool, right click and select Change Drive Letter and Paths. Delete the path, then then go back in the same way and add a drive letter.
Thank you, will try this after work tonight!
S
shftup is offline  
post #3877 of 3899 Old 10-18-2014, 05:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
For those who want 3 x LSI 8-port SAS controller + IPMI (and dual LAN, ECC), then X10SL7-F may come first among a bunch of LGA1150 server motherboards (because it's the cheapest). But that's it.

For me, the lack of expansion slots for other devices (mainly TV tuners) is a huge no-go. Requiring ECC RAM is pretty bad because I can't reuse non-ECC RAM from other systems. Your top priority is not necessarily other people's.
There's only 16x PCIe 3.0 lanes in LGA1150, and I don't think I've seen one that splits into 4/4/4/4 yet. Then there's the PCH leaving only 4x lanes for a PCIe card(s). While the other 4x are usually taken up by add-on controllers.

In the past I've experimented with a fun 'passthrough everything and the kitchen sink' with VMware ESXi and a MSI 890FXA-GD70. 5x PEG 16x slots plus one 1x slot. You could chuck just about any PCIe card, pass it through to it's own VM thanks to IOMMU (Vt-d equiv.), a real pipedream. Wasn't very stable of course. Eventually I moved on from my one-machine-rules-all pursuit to something I can leave alone.

I've learnt you can't have your cake and eat it too, but you can get pretty darn close to it with X10SL7-F. A pure storage monster.
wuzy is online now  
post #3878 of 3899 Old 10-21-2014, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Got my new expansion chassis in... it looks nice. Would recommend so far.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3879 of 3899 Old 10-21-2014, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
thefranklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

This seemed like the best place for getting advice before I purchase anything, so I'll shoot.

I am looking to build a server, build a nas, or purchase a nas that will allow me do to the following:

1. Automatically save files from several laptops to a central location as a back up (this central back up would be set up for regular backups with an external disk)
2. Print to a printer from those laptops
3. Back up Photos (raw, jpg, lightroom)
4. Serve media (Dvd rips, music, photos) I have it set up for direct play through MB3 right now, and Plex if I have to. It seems Plex has a lot better compatibility across different equipment. There will be 3 simultaneous streams to tvs, and I will be sure to set it up to not require transcoding.
5. I am going to aim for about 5-8 TB to start. Backup/Parity and ability for expansion would be nice. I don't plan on doing blu-ray, but it is a possibility in the future. I don't have wired access to all the TV areas, and running them would sure go against WAF.

I don't see buying a nas being a cost effective way to serve media, especially when the kids eventually get tablets/whatever. MB3 isn't supported on very many, and they charge a lot if you want to use plex for transcoding.

I looked into Freenas/unraid, but I don't think I want to learn Linux, which seems like it would be required for the inevitable problem or to set up a print server. I do like that you can run these off of a flash drive.

It looks like a lot of folks go for Flexraid, which seems like it would work fine for me. Hardware raid seems to not allow easy incremental expansion. I plan to start with 2-3 drives for data storage and to go from there. I think I would want a separate drive for backing up computer files / photos because they would have a tendency to change a lot. Or would setting them to back up once a week or something be sufficient? I don't add photos that often.

Thanks for all of your help, let me know if anything I am thinking is wrong/dumb or whatever.
thefranklin is online now  
post #3880 of 3899 Old 10-22-2014, 07:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 932
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822145941

Just bought 4.

Going to use for RAID0 scratch disk and move my 3TB over to storage.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3881 of 3899 Old 10-22-2014, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefranklin View Post
Hey guys,

This seemed like the best place for getting advice before I purchase anything, so I'll shoot.

I am looking to build a server, build a nas, or purchase a nas that will allow me do to the following:

1. Automatically save files from several laptops to a central location as a back up (this central back up would be set up for regular backups with an external disk)
2. Print to a printer from those laptops
3. Back up Photos (raw, jpg, lightroom)
4. Serve media (Dvd rips, music, photos) I have it set up for direct play through MB3 right now, and Plex if I have to. It seems Plex has a lot better compatibility across different equipment. There will be 3 simultaneous streams to tvs, and I will be sure to set it up to not require transcoding.
5. I am going to aim for about 5-8 TB to start. Backup/Parity and ability for expansion would be nice. I don't plan on doing blu-ray, but it is a possibility in the future. I don't have wired access to all the TV areas, and running them would sure go against WAF.

I don't see buying a nas being a cost effective way to serve media, especially when the kids eventually get tablets/whatever. MB3 isn't supported on very many, and they charge a lot if you want to use plex for transcoding.

I looked into Freenas/unraid, but I don't think I want to learn Linux, which seems like it would be required for the inevitable problem or to set up a print server. I do like that you can run these off of a flash drive.

It looks like a lot of folks go for Flexraid, which seems like it would work fine for me. Hardware raid seems to not allow easy incremental expansion. I plan to start with 2-3 drives for data storage and to go from there. I think I would want a separate drive for backing up computer files / photos because they would have a tendency to change a lot. Or would setting them to back up once a week or something be sufficient? I don't add photos that often.

Thanks for all of your help, let me know if anything I am thinking is wrong/dumb or whatever.
Everything you want to do is possible and affordable. Just need a build plan. Is that what you are asking for help with ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3882 of 3899 Old 10-22-2014, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
I'm not brave enough to buy refurbished HDDs.
wiley165 and DotJun like this.
Ken.F is offline  
post #3883 of 3899 Old 10-22-2014, 07:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 932
hitachi for $50 each?

Minimal risk. I have Hitachi refurbs that are 3+ years old in my server.. The risk is essentially the same as a brand new drive.

Figure I bought an 8TB drive for $200. That's a deal. Except it's 4x as fast.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3884 of 3899 Old 10-22-2014, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
hitachi for $50 each?

Minimal risk. I have Hitachi refurbs that are 3+ years old in my server.. The risk is essentially the same as a brand new drive.

Figure I bought an 8TB drive for $200. That's a deal. Except it's 4x as fast.
It's a great price but I couldn't stand the risk of a refurb. I'd always be suspect of the drives and wouldn't be able to sleep at night. I'd probably be worrying over nothing but that's how I am.
Ken.F is offline  
post #3885 of 3899 Old 10-22-2014, 06:29 PM
Newbie
 
thefranklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
Everything you want to do is possible and affordable. Just need a build plan. Is that what you are asking for help with ?
Pretty much. Just seeing if you guys think my needs and what I think I want to do are a match. And get familiar enough to where you guys aren't too annoyed at my questions (when I know I should probably be googling them).

Edit: Do you have some kind of way to know what movies are on a specific hdd if there is an unrecoverable failure?

Last edited by thefranklin; 10-22-2014 at 07:07 PM.
thefranklin is online now  
post #3886 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 05:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefranklin View Post
Pretty much. Just seeing if you guys think my needs and what I think I want to do are a match. And get familiar enough to where you guys aren't too annoyed at my questions (when I know I should probably be googling them).

Edit: Do you have some kind of way to know what movies are on a specific hdd if there is an unrecoverable failure?
In FlexRAID you can select a drive from your pool in the Drive Manager and view that drive's contents. Not sure what the "unrecoverable failure" would be, but if it is preventing you from accessing the working drives in the pool then you would need to do a search or browse on the working drives. The point of doing RAID is to make those failures recoverable. Having two or more parity drives would help when you start using more data drives.

bryansj is offline  
post #3887 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 05:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 932
http://www.anandtech.com/show/8609/a...u-like-storage
Ken.F likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3888 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 05:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
My Z87 Extreme6 has SATA envy.
Ken.F is offline  
post #3889 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
I wish these boards that use SAS chips would use SAS ports instead of the combo SATA ports already split out. Same with the Supermicro X10SL7-F. I got a Norco 4220 and not a 4020 with a bunch of SATA ports on the back plate.

bryansj is offline  
post #3890 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
I wish these boards that use SAS chips would use SAS ports instead of the combo SATA ports already split out. Same with the Supermicro X10SL7-F. I got a Norco 4220 and not a 4020 with a bunch of SATA ports on the back plate.
Totally agree. I would buy it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3891 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
NNate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
I wish these boards that use SAS chips would use SAS ports instead of the combo SATA ports already split out. Same with the Supermicro X10SL7-F. I got a Norco 4220 and not a 4020 with a bunch of SATA ports on the back plate.
I agree completely. However, at that price (Anandtech says they guess around $600), I'd sooner buy a cheaper board and throw in my own M1015 making it a non-issue.
NNate is offline  
post #3892 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 932
The LGA 2011 stuff has so much PCI express too.. you can just keep adding cards

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3893 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by NNate View Post
I agree completely. However, at that price (Anandtech says they guess around $600), I'd sooner buy a cheaper board and throw in my own M1015 making it a non-issue.
You would still need an SAS card to fill up some of these cases even with this board. The X10SL7-F mentioned earlier needs a reverse breakout cable as well.

I'm just restarting my storage server build after losing a drive right before my move to a new home. I haven't had internet for six weeks so my storage needs stalled. Went ahead and got the Norco 4220 and put it in my new rack and plan to exceed my current setup's ports soon. I have a single M1015 and need to get one more and then I'm looking at a new mobo.

bryansj is offline  
post #3894 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
thefranklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
In FlexRAID you can select a drive from your pool in the Drive Manager and view that drive's contents. Not sure what the "unrecoverable failure" would be, but if it is preventing you from accessing the working drives in the pool then you would need to do a search or browse on the working drives. The point of doing RAID is to make those failures recoverable. Having two or more parity drives would help when you start using more data drives.
I have been reading too many people's opinions concerning hdd failure on rebuilding from parity with large size drives. I guess if you read things enough you start to believe them. I don't plan on having more than one parity drive, and I almost bought those refurbished drives there were linked. Didn't seem like a bad deal for 6 TB with a parity drive for $200.
thefranklin is online now  
post #3895 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 932
I think 4TB is reasonable. But beyond that it's starting to get riskier for a snap shot product. 4TB is a lot of data to recover.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3896 of 3899 Old 10-23-2014, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 932
OK I cleaned up my basement I am about to play with this new server expansion add on.

Is it really as simple as plug in the third IBM card, run a SAS8087 to 8088 cable to this new unit and plug it in?

Jeez that seems too easy. I'm something will go wrong. Wish me luck.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3897 of 3899 Old Yesterday, 02:54 PM
Member
 
habe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Looking to add a 2 port SAS card to my server. I've been watching ebay for an IBM M1015. I also have seen Dell cards which seem cheaper. For example: Dell SAS/SATA 2.0 6Gb/s 8-Port 2x4 PCI-e HBA LSISAS2008-IT. As I understand it, it is already in IT mode and doesn't need flashed, correct? Also have seen the Dell UCS-71 / PERC H200 Adapter cards.

Is there any reason to not go with a cheaper Dell card? One better than the other?

habe
habe is offline  
post #3898 of 3899 Old Today, 12:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I'm using both. Two H310 in one and two M1015 in the other. Absolutely no difference once flashed to LSI in IT mode. Haven't tried H200 yet, but the procedure is mostly the same as H310 I've read in converting it to a LSI.

Reverse 4xSATA -> SFF8087 are like $4ea free postage from China. No biggie. Would've prefered straight 8087s for less cable clutter of course.
wuzy is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Flexraid , Intel Core I5 4670k 3 4ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Intel Core I3 4130 3 4 3 Fclga 1150 Processor Bx80646i34130 , Asrock , Asrock Z87m Extreme4 Lga1150 Intel Z87 Chipset Ddr3 Quad Crossfirex Quad Sli Sata3 Usb3 0 Microatx M , Asus , Asus Us , Asus Computer , Asus Components , Norco , Asus Computer International Direct , Flexraid Raid F , Seagate , Seagate Hard Drives , Seagate Freeagent Theater 1080p Hd Media Player Stcea201 Rk , Hitachi , Dell , Windows 7 Vista Xp Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver , Hp Oem Window Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver For Windows7 Vista Xp Home Pr , Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desk
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off