Mfusick's How to build an affordable 30TB Flexraid media server: Information Requested.! - Page 149 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4441 of 4450 Old 04-03-2015, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
mlah384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
Does that mobo have an onboard debug display?
yes, but it doesnt display anything... i cant get it to go into bios at all now... just a black screen with mouse cursor... mouse moves around fine, but screen is black background... can't see bios.
mlah384 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4442 of 4450 Old 04-03-2015, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,536
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 525
I've never had that happen to me. If you hooked up the mobo speaker are you getting any beep codes? If not I'm at a loss.
Ken.F is offline  
post #4443 of 4450 Old 04-04-2015, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Ok, after doing numerous file transfers and keeping an eye on event viewer, I seem not not have any errors using p20 firmware. Actually, I did get some error code 11 a few days ago, but I think that had to do with a cmd window I had not shut down while performing even more on top of it (snapraid sync).

Anyone have any ideas as to why I'm not getting errors? LSI 9211-8i on windows 8.1 installed via uefi if that matters. I'd really like to get this hashed out just in case.
DotJun is offline  
post #4444 of 4450 Old 04-04-2015, 10:51 AM
Member
 
Quaraxkad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Port Orange, FL
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 50
They will not show up in Event Viewer. Check your drives SMART values, attribute #199 UltraDMA CRC Error Count. If you were only looking in Event Viewer before you won't know what the values used to be... But typically this should be 0 on every drive, it's not a very common error and I suspect you will see errors on all (or nearly all) of your drives.
Quaraxkad is online now  
post #4445 of 4450 Old 04-05-2015, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 77
What are you using to view those errors? Both stablebit scanner and lifeguard are not reading that particular error. Actually, lifeguard tells me that smart is unavailable.
DotJun is offline  
post #4446 of 4450 Old 04-05-2015, 11:18 PM
Member
 
Quaraxkad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Port Orange, FL
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
What are you using to view those errors? Both stablebit scanner and lifeguard are not reading that particular error. Actually, lifeguard tells me that smart is unavailable.
It's a standard attribute, every drive has it, it's definitely there... Are you looking at the actual SMART data or waiting for Scanner to warn you? Scanner will not notify you of that attribute as an error or failure (maybe it would if it got really high), so if that's what you're waiting for it's not gonna happen! You have to click SMART details and scroll down.
Quaraxkad is online now  
post #4447 of 4450 Old 04-05-2015, 11:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,163
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Typically if it says smart is unavailable on your 9211-8i you need to adjust the mappings for the HBA (unless it's only saying smart isn't available on some of your 9211 drives and not others, in which case I'd wonder if smart was available on the particular drive model)
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #4448 of 4450 Old 04-06-2015, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Mfusick's How to build an affordable 30TB Flexraid media server: Information ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaraxkad View Post
It's a standard attribute, every drive has it, it's definitely there... Are you looking at the actual SMART data or waiting for Scanner to warn you? Scanner will not notify you of that attribute as an error or failure (maybe it would if it got really high), so if that's what you're waiting for it's not gonna happen! You have to click SMART details and scroll down.

I see it now. I was looking for the specific error code, but stablebit just informs you with a generic label of UltraDMA CRC Error Count.

Thanks for the info. I'll try and go down to p19 when I have time.

*Edit: reverted back to p19 successfully. Will monitor it to see if those errors are still happening.

Last edited by DotJun; 04-06-2015 at 08:39 AM.
DotJun is offline  
post #4449 of 4450 Old 04-07-2015, 07:47 AM
Member
 
WarmongerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Oregon City, Oregon
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry to interrupt, but I found this thread in my search to find a resolution to a multi PPU issue I've been having and was hoping some in this thread might be running that configuration and lend some advice.

I'm running tRAID with 5 DRU's and 2 PPU's. The DRU's are 1 WD Green 4TB and 4 - 4TB WD Red drives. The PPU's are 2 - 4TB Green drives.

I run a scheduled task every morning to check 600GB of the array so that in 7 days it's run a Verify + on the entire array. The issue that I keep running into is after about a week of running this config I begin to get parity errors starting on the 8th day.

I've tried a variety of configurations and the only thing that seems to work is running 1 PPU. I started out in January with just 1 PPU and ran that for about six weeks before trying a multi PPU config. I started that with 1 Green and 1 Red and that lasted less than a month before getting errors. Then I ran just 1 PPU again, the WD Red, and it ran fine for 10 days, so I tried 2 Greens and that lasted 7 days. On the 8th, yesterday, it started showing errors on the morning.

In my attempt to resolve it, the only thing I tried to do on Brahim's advice was increase the salt to 32 several weeks ago. I do not have any hardware errors, my logs are clean.

My question to those that run this type of config. What type of drives do you use? Do you keep them all the same make and model? Have you had any issues like this? If so, what was your resolve?

Samsung 65" UN65ES8000FXZA
Pioneer Elite VSX23-TXH
Def Tech StudioMonitor 65 L/R - Def Tech ProCenter 2000 - Def Tech ProMonitor 1000 x 4 Surround
SVS PB12+ Subwoofer

18TB Plex Media Server
WarmongerX is offline  
post #4450 of 4450 Old 04-12-2015, 12:52 PM
Member
 
TimoJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I use the latest P20 Windows drivers with a 9211-8i using P19 firmware or should I use matching P19 drivers?
TimoJ is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Flexraid , Intel Core I5 4670k 3 4ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Intel Core I3 4130 3 4 3 Fclga 1150 Processor Bx80646i34130 , Asrock , Asrock Z87m Extreme4 Lga1150 Intel Z87 Chipset Ddr3 Quad Crossfirex Quad Sli Sata3 Usb3 0 Microatx M , Asus , Asus Us , Asus Computer , Asus Components , Norco , Asus Computer International Direct , Flexraid Raid F , Seagate , Seagate Hard Drives , Seagate Freeagent Theater 1080p Hd Media Player Stcea201 Rk , Hitachi , Dell , Windows 7 Vista Xp Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver , Hp Oem Window Media Center Mce Pc Remote Control And Infrared Receiver For Windows7 Vista Xp Home Pr , Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desk
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off